We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #7 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have been going to this hotel every Thanksgiving holiday since I was about 18. I am now 25. We used to stay at the Marriott or Hilton but my mom decided to stay here to save money. We haven't been back to either of those hotel since. This place is never a disappointment. I always feel right at home when we get here. I love the breakfast, first because it's free, and secondly because I LOVE WAFFLES. You also get free sodas all day and they give free popcorn and nachos in the evening. You are also on the riverwalk and can walk down to watch the river boat parade. I love going to San Antonio for Thanksgiving. I have such good memories! We eat Thanksgiving brunch at either the Marriott or Hilton. I was also allowed to bring my dog Baxter when he was still a puppy. The beds are ALWAYS comfortable! Make sure to go to Fiesta Texas, Sea World, The Shops at La Cantera, North Star Mall, Quarry Market, and last but certainly not least Mi Tierra or La Margarita at Market Square. I have such fond memories of all these places. When I go without my parents I feel incomplete since we have been doing these things since i was just a kid! San Antonio and Drury Inn= happiness

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christina0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

This Hotel was exceptional. We were very impressed. Every single staff member was courteous, friendly and helpful. The hotel appearance was beautiful, and in a great location. The most impressive benefit was the hot breakfast and the afternoon hot snacks including drinks. and yes that includes 3 alcohol drinks. We sat around watching all the guests while enjoying the quite time. It seemed like the hotel was well booked but we never experienced any delays. The pool area was nice, hot tub and warm pool was very clean and we enjoyed it many times. If i could make one it would be the cost of parking. I was not accustomed to paying for hotel parking, but i am assuming it is the normal for the area. The hotel was on the quite side of the River walk and we had one of the best restaurants "Land and Cattle Steak house" right under the hotel. I have never been so impressed with a hotel. We walked down the river walk several times and never felt unsafe... To get into the Hotel, you had to use your key card, which made us feel very safe...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjessiew3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed three nights - had a suite. Large room with comfortable bed . Furnishings and decor is past it's prime. Staff is great. Breakfast was free and mediocre.

Parking is a hassle because garage is so small and tight. The location is good. A decent value but not great. Free popcorn and fountain drinks was a nice bonus...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffclow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We are glad to hear you found our location to be appealing. Downtown locations do create some parking challenges though, as the space available is at a minimum. We are very happy to say that our hotel will be seeing some changes to the decor beginning this fall. We would love for you to have a chance to see them! Thank you for staying with us, we will continue to listen to feedback in order to deliver one of the best hospitality experiences San Antonio has to offer!

Matthew Funk
Assistant General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Drury Inn & Suites was very... eh. If we hadn't used the discount rate (ESAVER), it would have been way overpriced. I really wasn't impressed.

- The rooftop pool was HOT. Like, the water was at hot tub temperatures.
- The 5:30 kickback sounded cool, but the drinks were weak and the food was not what was listed on the online menu. Every day, there were hot dogs and tortilla chips with cheese. Sometimes there was macaroni and cheese, sometimes soup. All very mediocre.
- Parking garage was TINY. There is basically room to park as long as you don't want to open your doors.
- Some of the staff was nice. The manager I met with (Matthew) was helpful, but a couple of the ladies at the front desk were not knowledgeable or very nice.
- They had NO idea about the deal with Enterprise car rental. They told us there was no special deal with Enterprise even though it was listed on their site. We had to find it ourselves online, and it was really frustrating to not have any help.
- Housecleaning staff threw some of our stuff away, including a bag of stuff I had just purchased. One of the managers was nice enough to reimburse us for the value of the items, but it was still frustrating.

If you don't have any other options, the Drury will work out. But honestly, there are plenty of other hotels in the area that are way better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

I am very sorry that we did not meet all of your expectations. Rest assured that we will take all of your feedback and create a learning experience for our staff so that we may be able to do a better job in the future. The pool temperature is a little more difficult to control though, given its rooftop location combined with our Texas sun. I can promise you that your experience was not typical and I would love to have you back at our property to show what we're capable of. We thank you and hope to see you in the future.

Matthew Funk
Assistant General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

What's right is breakfast, bedding, obliging & friendly front desk, 5:30 pm drinks & free kiddie food and parking cost considering it's on the Riverwalk. What's wrong is that the halls need cleaning, the living room half of the suite smelled musty, bathrooms need updating (they are REALLY small), needs coffee makers that make two cups at a time, our shoes stuck to the balcony tiled floor, housekeeping needs to do a better job of stocking (no washcloths, bath mat, sugar, creamer) and "5:30 kickback food should include adult fare. Our room was not ready at 3 pm nor was our request for a corner suite with city view honored. We were told there were only five floors when there were actually rooms on all seven floors. If I go to San Antonio Riverwalk again, especially for an occasion (this trip was for my birthday) I'd probably stay at Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

It pleases me that you found our staff and amenities met your standards. We are currently working on refreshing our property this fall. Many of the concerns that you listed here will be addressed, and we will be that much more capable of meeting your needs! We would love to have you back to see these changes and give us an opportunity to "wow" you. After all, it would be a shame to stay somewhere that didn't have our amazing location :)

Matthew Funk
Assistant General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

There are two Drury properties in downtown San Antonio. Drury Inn and Suites is "on" the Riverwalk; Drury Plaza Riverwalk is a very short half block from the Riverwalk and so close that the signage reads: Drury Plaza Riverwalk. Of the two, the Plaza is probably more "upscale" but that is solely an impression I gained from viewing its interesting lobby. Both appear a good choice for traveling with kids as the rate includes an ample breakfast and happy hour/afternoon snack. I gave the Drury Inn a "very good" rating simply because our room was clean, the bed comfortable and the location convenient.
The similarity in names is confusing when booking. We traveled to San Antonio for a mini family reunion and made the mistake of booking at the Inn & Suites property while everyone else was at the Plaza. Not a disaster as they are so close but still, disappointing.
The accomodations at the Drury Inn are clean and adequate for a room in which to sleep and return to at night to sleep after sightseeing: comfortable beds, small fridge and microwave in the room. Good AC. Quiet. Small but clean bathroom (although sink was not draining properly).
Both properties are located in re-purposed buildings. The Plaza is in an old bank building so the lobby is two story with very impressive gold leaf iron work. Very art deco. The Inn is in another old building of unknown beginnings.
Both properties include an afternoon happy hour and buffet as well as a full breakfast. (We ate at the Plaza and were pleased that the Plaza provided reciprocal benefits despite us being guests at the Inn.) Both the happy hour and breakfast at the Plaza are surprisingly generous with substantial food and drink offerings. We visited our friends at the Plaza in their room which was a "suite". The living area was functional but not attractive. They reported that the pool was "hot" and very unappealing.
The Inn is, likewise, functional. Significant at the Inn are the astonishingly old and dirty appearing carpeting and rugs. The lobby is drab & dreary: dirty glass front door, dirty windows, tired artificial flowers, brown/tan decor and dirty rugs. Front desk personnel were, however, friendly in what is otherwise a dreary atmosphere. Breakfast and "happy" hour occur in the front lobby area. Again, functional but not particularly attractive with steamer table, coffee maker, dining tables/chairs, left out in the area at all times. The hallways are brightly lit, however, and the walls clean & wallpapered but, again, the rug is very old and dirty looking. Same goes with the carpeting in our room which was tired and dirty looking (although the bed, bed covering, bath and room were otherwise clean and the very high 12-15? foot ceiling made us curious about its prior incarnation). (Note: Bring slippers to avoid having to walk barefoot on the rug!) The comfortable stuffed chair in our room was also noticeably stained. There was no view. Our rate was included in a package on Southwest Airlines. It was somewhere south of $200 for a double queen bed room. Our friends at the Plaza were in the @$120 a night range. The location was very convenient - access to the riverwalk is right outside the front door. The AC worked great and we slept comfortably.
In sum: If you go expecting quaint or romantic charm, you will be very, very disappointed. If you want a conveniently located bed that is clean with utilitarian and functional accomodations, this is a decent and practical choice. The breakfast and afternoon fare are a huge plus and are very good (hot breakfast - real scrambled eggs, sausage, bagels, yogurt, biscuits, hot gravy). Take care in noting the exact name of the Drury property to avoid any confusion. The Plaza has the more interesting lobby but both appear similar in the actual room "decor".

Room Tip: Our 4th floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Delaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

We are very pleased that you found our extras to be a huge plus! Our historic hotel was originally the City Public Service building and maintains many of the beautiful architectural features of the original design! We have noticed many of the same areas of the property that could use refreshing, and beginning this month many new upgrades and updates are coming to our hotel. We very much hope to have you back to experience our revitalized friendly property on the Riveralk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I recently stayed on a business trip to San Antonio. This hotel along the River Walk is conveniently located, with nice rooms at a great rate. The suites would make for a good family vacation bargain. The staff was nice, the evening managers reception was very nice with the three drinks and substantial snacks. Breakfast was wonderful and part of the room price.
So far my experiences with Drury Inns have been great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linnie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,156 reviews
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 201 N Saint Marys St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#51 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $162 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk features comfortable rooms, a rooftop pool and plenty of meeting space for business events. It is located on the San Antonio River with countless restaurants and shops within scenic walking distance. This historically renovated hotel is the perfect location for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Drury Inn And Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn Riverwalk
Drury San Antonio
Drury Inn San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing