We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #163 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed April 21, 2010

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn Downtown location for a convention. The location was within walking distance of the convention center and the Riverwalk, as well as the Alamo. The Red Roof Inn provided free parking, a plus in this city. The staff was helpful and when I told them I needed a room with a minifridge (for my insulin) they set me up in one of their King bed rooms with a fridge, a microwave, and free wireless access, without charging me extra. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivingstonLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 712 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2010

I felt this hotel exactly met our needs for this trip. It is a good choice for those with an eye on their pocketbook. The room did not have a hairdryer, which I have come to expect in hotel rooms, but other than that all expected amenities were present. Free wireless internet was available, and very fast/hassle-free. This is something I see more often at hotels in this price range, than in higher priced hotels. There is no good reason for that. If you are not planning to spend a lot of time in the room, just need a place to crash at night, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We recently stayed at your hotel from 3/24 thru 3/28. and with weighing the negitives and possitives, without Jesse there at the front counter i dont know that our stay would of been worth mentioning. (not in a possitive light anyway) 1st, we stayed in room 127 during our stay, and the water pressure in the shower was absolutley terrible! and breakfast was only between 6-8am and twice was put up early. i guess maybe they ran out of food, not sure. Also the sink glogged up on our second day, but that was taken care of right away and very curtiously. And then there's the hi-light of our stay, The young man at the front counter who's name is Jesse was the most gracious, helpful and patient hotel employee ive ever encountered! He was an amazing help from the first moment we arrived, with answering my questions and giving directions to suggesting a very good place to eat on our 1st night there. And all of this with an outstanding , possitive, friendly attitude. His knowledge of the area and ability to give us directions made our stay and visit with my son, who had graduated frob B M T and Lackland AFB, so much less stressful and enjoyable that i cant help but to make sure to let all of you know what a HUGE asset this young man is to your hotel and company for that matter. I could go on and on about what an important part Jesse played in the enjoyment of our stay, but ill just put like this, if i ever return to san antonio, ill be staying at the Red Roof inn downtown! ( as long as Jesse' there anyway!) And if he gets too see this, I'd just like to say again, Thank you young man, it was a true pleasure meeting you and stayng at your hotel. God Bless, Daryl Sable and family.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdsable61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I had a perfectly nice stay at this Red Roof Inn in San Antonio. The room was clean and had a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, and FREE wi-fi. Bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. When I needed a cab they had one there in about 5 minutes. Only minor criticism is that you need to request a hair blower at the desk (they are not in the room). You need to pick up a new password for the wi-fi at the desk each 24 hours. Free breakfast is passable, but I preferred grabbing something at local places. Fresh fruit put out at breakfast could be taken to your room; free coffee and tea 24/7 in lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

first time to San Antonio, did not have reservations, this was the best hotel, we could have asked for. The price was excellent, Rooms were extremely clean, large and the beds very comfortable. Great sound proof also. This hotel is also within walking distance to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. We will definately stay at other Red Roof Inns in other states

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Booboo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

The front desk attendants are very good with directions and information on attractions. My room was very comfortable. I especially appreciated the location of the hotel. Its away from all the traffic and congestion. And the rates were terrific.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Great service, great location, can walk thru the mall to get to the riverwalk. Use your Gps

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEBTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
BEST WESTERN Plus Downtown North
#97 of 358 in San Antonio
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $71 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing