We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #152 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay, dog friendly”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Red Roof Inn in San Antonio and found it to be updated and clean. It is convenient to the Riverwalk and Alamo, which is where we spent most of our time. I also enjoyed the fact that dogs are welcome, even given treats at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 713anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with our hotel here in the beautiful Alamo city. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and that the location was convenient for you. We are fortunate to be so close to all the wonderful attractions our city has to offer. Your four legged family member is always welcome at our brand at no extra cost. We have found that people tend enjoy their trip more when they are relieved of the stress of finding a doggie sitter for their trip. Thank you again and we look forward to you revisiting us should you return to the area.
Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    203
    130
    89
    79
See reviews for
222
170
56
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked the reservation expecting the miliary rate. When I arrived to check in the associate realized we had been given the government rate instead of miliary. He immediately fixed it for us, which saved us a good bit of money. I was very please with the service and the accomodations. The hotel is within reasonable walking distance to the riverwalk, mall, Alamo, and several other attractions and restaurants. We did not have to pay for parking (again, very nice associate), but they do normally charge $7 per day. My only disappointments were the wifi and the lack of breakfast options. They have a "grab and go" breakfast, which includes a muffin, piece of fruit, and coffee or juice. We had a standard room with two beds, a mini-fridge, microwave, a coffeepot and a safe. The room was clean and comfortable. We will definately consider staying there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgarcia121909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with our hotel here in the beautiful Alamo City. I am so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and had fun at all the wonderful attractions that are very close to our property. I will definitely reiterate with our front desk how important it is to make a connection with our guest so that they know we truly do care about their needs and comfort. I will be sure to share your post with our team and give the kudos to the team member that helped get you and your family a better rate. It is our goal to have All of our guest receive a great room for a great price. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you should your travels return you to our area.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

service was great, front desk assistance was extremely helpful, and the rooms were kept tidy at all times. I'd highly recommend this stay to anyone visiting the downtown San Antonio area- two thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this nice review about your experience with our brand during your visit here in the beautiful Alamo city. I am happy to hear that our team was helpful and that you were happy with our rooms. I will be sure to pass this on to our team. Thank you again. We look forward to serving you should your travels return you to the city.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA

General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Pros: Very clean, comfortable beds, friendly staff, great coffee (24/7)
Cons: They're version off breakfast is prepackaged bagels and Danishes. Kind of disappointed. And there is a 1" gap under the door, being a woman by myself I was concerned. I just put a towel down for the night. I was informed that its not like that for all doors. Also It's right next to I-37 the car noise had getting used too before I fell asleep.
Overall stay was pleasant enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your views about your experience with our brand here in the Alamo City. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and our team was friendly and welcoming. I do however apologize that you were disappointed with our breakfast and that your room had a gap under the door. If you could reach out to us so we may better address this room I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitneywh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel has pros and cons that must be weighed out. Here we go:

Pros:

Location so close to the interstate and the Riverwalk is very convenient.
Very decent price considering the location.
Newly renovated rooms are very spiffy and modern!
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Cons:

The interstate overpass is RIGHT NEXT TO this hotel; forget about relaxing by the pool because it's far too noisy.
The breakfast was pathetic—either an apple or banana or a pre-packaged muffin each morning. This would be fine if you stayed here a single night, but for consecutive nights this breakfast got old very fast.
The neighborhood is very ghetto—I wouldn't walk out of this hotel to go to downtown. Take a car or a cab if you care about your safety!

Also, this hotel no longer has phone books in each room; if you need a phone number or address you have to call the front desk and have them look this information up for you, which I think is privacy invasion and very awkward. Not to mention a waste of the front desk staff's time. They only have a single phone book in this hotel... at the front desk. = (

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitneywh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel here in San Antonio. I am very happy that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and that our team was friendly and helpful. I do however apologize that you were inconvenienced by the lack of phone books in the room. We discontinued putting them into rooms when cell phones became the primary source of information for our guest. Because of your review, we are placing the books back into the rooms. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here last year for two night whilst visiting San Antonio. The room was excellent and very modern with lots of space, but the outside pool was small and very noisy by a main road.
We had to get moved to another hotel room during our first night due to bugs being in our room. The hotel staff were very accommodating and moved us further up the hotel, but we had the same problem the following night but were too tired to complain so just killed the bugs - they were very noisy!
Lots of renovations were taking place whilst we were staying, the front doors had workmen by them constantly, but would always make way for you and apoligise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheepherder24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay here at our hotel in the beautiful Alamo City. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your accommodation aside from the crickets that plagued our city last year. We were all perplexed with the amount of crickets that inundated our city after the fall rain and truly apologize that we were not able to better control the nuisance. I am happy to hear that we did what we could to better the situation and that our construction crew was polite and accommodating. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again should your travels return you to our area.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I thought I was saving a couple of dollars by booking here vs. some other hotels in the area and found no value to the hotel. The A/C unit was having trouble with the thermostat and engaging sporadically. It also had some mechanical issues making clicking sounds and ran at a high noise level. The wall to this hotel are VERY thin and even light walkers outside the hallway can be very noisy. In the bathroom there is a pedestal sink (a very cheap renovation) and no place lay your toiletries (toothbrush, toothpaste, comb, ect). Breakfast basically offered only coffee, bagels, and packaged sweet rolls.

Parking for this location is also 7 per day, and is a difficult walk to Riverwalk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrin714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with our hotel here in San Antonio. I apologize for your disappointment with your accommodation as this is not a normal experience. I am very sorry that your room was not cooling properly and would greatly appreciate you contacting us with your information so that we may address this for our next guest. The AC does turn off and on when the compressor engages to maintain temperature, but if it is loud we apologize for that inconvenience. When we did our renovations we also installed a shelf under the sink just for toiletries and apologize that this was not sufficient for your needs. We do have the cheapest overnight parking in the city and only 3 blocks from both the Alamo and the Riverwalk; I am sorry that you had a difficult time with that distance. Thank you again for your comments and would like to extend an invitation for you to return so that you may have a better experience with our brand.
Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#123 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
East Side
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#18 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing