We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good selection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #162 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Booked directly through corp customer service and immediately got a reduced rate compared to travel web sites. Very efficient service on the phone and very quality service at the facility. Excellent Value! Very accommodating rooms and short walking distance to the riverwalk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMtortugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience not only with our hotel but the process in which you had booked it. This is truly an insight to not only the easy process, but the savings achieved by booking directly with the hotel. Our goal is to provide great rooms for a great price and glad you enjoyed both! Thank you again and we all look forward to serving you should your travels return you to our area.
Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 695 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

The room was clean the view of the city was amazing love the walking distance from river walk love. The staff was friendly Good prices. Pool. Free WiFi. By a bus stop. Close to RiverCenter.Nice close walk to downtown. Safe. Nice parking. Will come back..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariefagundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for posting your review full of kudos to our property. First and foremost, congratulations on your graduation and thank you for your service to our country. By you mentioning our great location and amenities, you have allowed our future guest an inside picture to our property and all that we have to offer. Thank you again. We look forward to your return.
Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went on a vacation with a group of 6 people, two of which were toddlers. We rented two rooms with two adults and one toddler in each. Even with the toddlers beds set up in each room, we still had room to move around. Both rooms were nice and clean when we walked in, plus our beds were comfortable. We were on the 4th floor and I have seen other reviews where people had issues with the air conditioning not cooling the rooms, but neither rooms had that issue. We would always go back to the room around lunch time and stay there for about an hour or two to try and avoid walking around downtown in the heat. Both rooms stayed cold during the hot hours. Downtown was a few blocks away, we did walk once to get to it, but took the SUV always after that because we felt it was safer with two toddlers. We also liked how the zoo and Witte museum were close. We had plenty of towels in the rooms. The breakfast is simple and good for something quick so don't expect a big breakfast. We loved the parking and its all covered unless you go park way at the top. You do need a room key to get in the parking garage area and we never anything wrong. I did see security guards a few times walking through the floors and the parking garage. The staff was helpful and answered any questions about the area and had no problem showing me the downtown map when we needed help. The only one issue, was that when someone would let the door slam shut, we could hear it sometimes, but that depended on how close it was. Other then that, we had a great experience here and are def. going to be staying here again whenever we go to San Antonio.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your experience with our hotel here in the beautiful Alamo city. I am so happy to hear that you and your family were comfortable during your stay. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our wonderful city and all the neat attractions that are close to our hotel. I was very pleased to hear that our team was able to help you with directions and made you feel welcome to not only our city, but our hotel. We are all so happy that you and your family had a great experience and we all look forward to serving you again should your travels return you to our area.
Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

When I go to San Antonio, I generally stay in Boerne, TX, but this time I was going to spend most of my time downtown and in San Marcos, TX. San Marcos hotels were cheaper than this Red Roof Inn, but factor in drive time, gas, and paying to park downtown, I figure I came out a little bit ahead by staying in San Antonio at the Red Roof Inn.

The staff was very nice throughout our stay. Our first room had a soaked towel trying to absorb water from the air conditioner, and water was streaming along the floor, so we were switched to another room. I have to concur with a previous reviewer that the air conditioning was not that good. I turned the thermostat down, but that didn't seem to make a difference. It wasn't hot, but it wasn't really cool per se. (I am usually cold in hotel rooms, but not here.) There was no refrigerator in the room, nor was there a microwave. There is a communal microwave where breakfast is served.

The location is good. I think the description is "three blocks to the Alamo" or something like that. Well, it's true--but that is the back corner of the wall surrounding the Alamo property. You have another block or so to get to the front entrance. Not a big deal, except in 100 degree heat, it is a little disheartening.

Other than the A/C, the sink was the only other thing that had problems. The whole faucet spun around and around every time you turned on the water. Had trouble keeping the stopper open in the sink. Not a big enough deal to make a fuss about. Nice TV. Breakfast is packaged sweet rolls and coffee. I'd stay again. We were pleased overall with the price and convenience--especially not having to pay by the hour to park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieP6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad that you decided to stay with us in our great downtown location! I am excited to hear that you found the staff to be very nice. I will be sure to post your review as encouragement to keep up the good work! I am sorry for the issue that you had with your A/C unit. With record temperatures in San Antonio, a working A/C is extremely important and we are constantly working to keep our units running efficiently. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next stay in San Antonio.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice and welcoming friendly staff. Clean. Close to the Zoo and Witti. Nice close walk to downtown. Safe. Nice parking. Will come back. Good prices. Pool. Free WiFi. By a bus stop. Close to RiverCenter.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about our property here in San Antonio. I am very pleased to hear that our team had made you feel welcome and comfortable while you were on vacation. I truly appreciate your information about our location as this helps our future guest choose their hotel especially those with limited transportation. We are very close to all of the attractions in the downtown area, and for those that need to use our public transportation the bus stop is at the end of our driveway. Thank you again and we all look forward to serving you should you be traveling through our city in the future.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Red Roof Inn near the Riverwalk during our recent trip to San Antonio because of other good reviews of the property and a claim that it had "new" rooms. However, we found out that this claim was somewhat relative. I don't know exactly when the rooms were renovated, but it appeared as if it was more like about 2 years or more ago than sometime more recent. We weren't impressed with the cleanliness of the room. There were bugs in the light fixtures, blood stains on the comforters, and leftover clothes in the drawers in the first room. We talked to the manager, and he moved us to a new room, but it wasn't much better. There was a spilled coke can under the bed and a pink ring around the drain of the tub. We did stay in the second room however. We encountered other problems in the course of our stay. One of the elevators stopped working, but thankfully they did get it fixed. The general temperature in the hotel seemed to be about 80 degrees and was noticeably hot. Finally, the air conditioners in the rooms must not have been replaced when the rooms were renovated because they had difficulty in keeping the room cool until late into the night. It should be noted that the the temps during the day in San Antonio were in the upper 90s and lower 100s, but the AC still could keep the temp in the room down even with it left on 60. Avoid the continental breakfast. The best features of the hotel were the location and parking. You could walk to the Riverwalk in about 5 minutes. There was also free parking which was not available at hotels closer to the Riverwalk. All in all, we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a view of downtown
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with our hotel here in San Antonio. I apologize for your disappointment with your accommodation as this is not a normal experience. I will be utilizing your review in our next housekeeping meeting as a coaching tool; I would be very disappointed if this were to occur again. I am very sorry that your room was not cooling properly and would greatly appreciate you contacting us with your information so that we may address this for our next guest. Thank you again for your comments and would like to invite you to return so that you may see the improvements made since your departure.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great option! Good price, good location you can walk to the rivercenter if the sun let you! The only thing thats not so great is that if some slap his room door u hear the noise and you feel the vibration. Good thing the free wifi and the continental breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2nd30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel here in the beautiful Alamo City. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with the location as we are within walking distance to all the fun attractions in our city. I do apologize that you were disturbed you by slamming doors and will have our rooms looked at to be sure our doors are balanced properly. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again should your travels return you to our area
Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,133 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $79 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing