We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price & great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #166 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I came for a few days on vacation on a budget. We stayed here bc it was one of the best deals and in walking distance to the river walk. It's about a 5-10 min walk and saved us from parking ( there is a $7 parking fee per day) but worth it. It was
Clean and remodeled. Not a bad place for the price!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mercmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel! I am so happy that you found our hotel to be a great value. Within walking distance of the Riverwalk, many guests enjoy our great location! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Alamo city!

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 695 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were in for Lackland AFB graduation (4 night stay). All hotel staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable and reasonably clean. I say reasonably because laminate floor was gritty and kind of nasty. Walking on floor in socks left visible dirt / hair on feet...ewe!...... I would have expected a deeper cleaning of the room between customers. Faucet in sink was ajar. I told maintenance but no response while we were there. I'm surprised housekeeping has not reported issue as it was difficult to turn water on / off. Breakfast offerings were very basic, prepackaged pastries and bagels, fruit. On a 4 day stay, I would have liked to see a little variation and real milk or cream instead of powdered for coffee. 5th floor vending machine ripped us off for drinks a couple of times. Location was great. All in all, I would stay here again.... I appreciate the fact that the manager is commenting personally on most of the feedback posts. While some of my comments (and others) may seem 'nit picky' to some, the take away here is attention to detail. Attention to detail is the difference between a so-so average hotel (or business) and a great one!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayrock65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. It is feedback like yours which helps us in re-training our housekeeping staff to provide better service and more attention to detail. We are working hard to improve in this area and I am confident that on your next stay with us, you will have a much better experience. We appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn and look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay here in about 4 years. We like the price and simplicity. The location requires a 3 block walk to the Alamo, river center mall or Riverwalk (hence the price). The rooms have been updated and all staff we encountered (especially Maribel) were helpful and friendly. Our room's wood laminate floors were pet friendly as advertised but not so nice for two kids under 3 walking around. We requested that it be cleaned and they did sweep the hair that was everywhere but we couldn't tell any mopping took place. Maribel comped our parking fees for the trouble. Probably won't stay here again.

1  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. For all of our guests who stay more than one night, we offer a Go Green Service option, which limits the usage of chemicals and water into our ecosystem. With this service, we make your bed, replace your towels and empty your trash during each day of your stay. If you decide that you would like your room to be fully serviced each day, you simply let the front desk know or leave your Go Green card on your bed to notify housekeeping. I apologize if this was not communicated clearly.

On your next stay, please let the front desk know that you would like full service each day of your stay and we would be more than happy to accommodate that request for you.

We appreciate your feedback and sincerely hope that you give us another chance to better serve you in the future.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

the staff where all so friendly ,helpful , and so polite ,plus the rooms where cleaned daily ,I would definitely stay there again if I ever get the chance to return,my elder brother & myself enjoyed the hotel & friendliness of the stff ,fantastic.

Room Tip: no restaurant but a buffet in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEITHDUNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! I will be sure to share your experience with our staff. I know that they will be happy to see that we gave you a great stay. We appreciate your business and hope to see you next time you are in San Antonio!

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went to San Antonio on a weekday and stayed Mon. thru Friday. The hotel had a lot of business people going to conventions during the week and was very busy. My room was newly remodeled and very clean. It did have a musty odor from the A/C that you noticed every time you left and then came back. The room was very comfaortable. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. The continental breakfast was like a free for all in the mornings with all the business people getting breakfast. One morning the trash cans in the breakfast area was overflowing. The trash can in the parking garage needed dumping for 2 days. Overall the stay was a good one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MackDaddyYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you visiting our hotel and hope that you enjoyed your time on your vacation. I am so happy to hear that you found the room to be comfortable. Our NextGen rooms feature flat screen TV's, laminate flooring and vessel sinks along with new comfortable bedding. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio!

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I am surprised at how picky people are! Get out and enjoy life and don't nitpick!

We booked this on our way back from the Gulf and we had to be at the airport the following morning at 3 a.m. so this was booked within two hours of check in. we chose it because of location, we had an afternoon/evening in San Antonio and wanted to be close to the riverwalk AND it was really cheap for a last minute booking on a Saturday. Now, yes its close to the freeway and yes there were some homeless people under it...during the day. We walked back under the bridge after dinner around midnight and the bridge was all lit up in different colors and not a homeless person in sight.

We checked in and got to our room within 5 minutes of stepping through the door. The staff was super friendly and we found our room to be pretty gorgeous, not what we were expecting at all. Of course we didn't spend much time in it but it was beautiful. The parking garage was very conveniently located and was $7 for our visit, not bad for downtown in a big city.

I thought this was a great place to stay. I usually shy away from the places that are the cheapest, etc but we really weren't looking for a long term stay and we were very pleasantly surprised. I don't think I will pass on Red Roof Inn after this visit the next time I am looking for a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate the kind words you gave regarding your experience at our hotel. We strive to be the best value in the Alamo City by providing a nice room at a nice price with friendly service. I am glad that we made you a Red Roof fan. We are currently undergoing a nationwide renovation to update our hotels to the modern NextGen design. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio.

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

booked and had confirmation for a King room,check in at 7:30pm on 6/10/13.front desk said room not clean and housekeeping gone for the day.Put us in another room with a promise to give us King room next day.Reminded front desk twice and they said don't worry when coming back we will get the king room.Come back at 9:30pm Tue,there is a new person(Roger) at front desk said he did not know nothing and he just came from vacation,request to speak to a Manager was denied and threaten to call cops .Had to Cancel my reservation and move to a different hotel late night and pay higher rate.Red Roof Inn got me good and spoiled the entire vacation. They had my sold my Room to someone else for a higher rate.Be aware they will get you and you can't move because it is in downtown area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjohn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

I am deeply sorry to hear about your experience with our hotel. It is unacceptable for a room to not be available for a reserved guest and I assure you that it is not our policy to cancel reservations to sell for a higher rate as you alluded to in your comments.

Your situation is unique and unfortunate and I would like the ability to address this to ensure that this situation is not repeated in the future. Please reach out to me at the phone number or email below so that we can come up with a resolution for you and improve going forward.

Once again, I apologize for your experience and hope that you give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $78 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing