We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all around experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #146 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Cleburne, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent all around experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was thoroughly impressed with every aspect of this hotel. The staff was EXTREMELY courteous, the room was wonderful, I had NO complaints at all about anything that was within the hotels control. The nice lady who checked me in offered me use of their computers to get internet specials for Sea World, she treated my 9 year old as if she was an adult guest as well, she even gave my dog a treat!!! We were just a few short blocks from the Riverwalk and all it has to offer. I will most certainly be staying here again when I come back to San Antonio!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txrecruiter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review about your experience with our brand here in the beautiful Alamo city. I am so happy to hear that you were impressed with the hotel and that our staff welcomed you and made you feel at home. It is our goal to give our guest a great stay for a great price this includes our four legged family members. We look forward to serving you and your family again when you return to the area.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown
i0248@redroof.com
210-229-9973
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    202
    129
    87
    78
See reviews for
222
167
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I don't normally write bad reviews as I believe in "if you dont have anything nice to say" however I feel I have to warn other people from the fantasy of staying off the "riverwalk with a view for the deluxe room" - NOT my "deluxe room view of the riverwalk" was more like a view of a run down mechanic shop. Once in my room I rec'd a charge for a safe that I couldn't use. It was broken and when the front desk came to "fix" it they said that they had to come back I just told them to forget it as I was not going to wait around until someone came and waste my trip. The hair dryer in the room did not work and the AC unit in the room kept coming and going sometimes it worked sometimes it didnt. This hotel does not appear to have central AC even in the lobby and hallways). They offered to call me when they could move me to another room and never got a call back. The "breakfast bar" was over croweded with lack of seating. When i pressed to get orange juice it was just water. This is within walking distance of the river walk however you have to go underneath a freeway overpass and around a shady corner to get to the Riverwalk area. I could understand these issues if I had paid the same as a Motel 6 but I shelled out almost $200.00 for one night to be honest it just was not worth it - if you want fancy for $200.00 do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, Assistant General Manger at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with our hotel. I am truly sorry that you had this experience and would like to reassure you that your concerns will be addressed with the team. It is our goal to give our guest’s a great stay for a great price and apologize that you do not feel this way. If you would like to contact me at the hotel I would love to tell you in person and see what I can do to help rectify the issues you had with your accommodations. Thank you again for making us aware and hope to hear from you
Darlene Silva
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Even though they have remodeled rooms, I found a sink that had no working stopper and a water wasting toilet with a bad flapper. However, the room was clean, the breakfast good, and within easy walking distance to the Gonzalous Convention Center and River Walk. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowbirds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We thank you for letting us know about the few minor maintenance areas of opportunity and allowing us to correct it for our future guests. We are so glad that you stayed with us and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and our great location within easy walking distance to the Alamo and Riverwalk. We look forward to your future stays!

Sincerely,

Darlene
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked a room here for my daughter & I on one of the busiest weekends of the year in S.A. through Booking.com about a month before my arrival. First, Booking did NOT forward my reservation so when I got here the hotel had no reservatipossible. r me & was sold out for one of the nights I booked.

But thank God for staff that really go above and beyond. Ivan, Zack (dark glasses & all), Maribel, Roger & their fearless leader/manager Darlene pulled out all the stops, got me a room for that night plus the all other nights I had booked so that I didn't have to stay at a friend's for one night & then come back, & made sure I got to someplace I NEEDED to go without having to walk.

The location may be seedy to the left but the walking distance to Riverwalk & other downtown activities (to the right) is just perfect...enough to walk down the food eaten on the Riverwalk LOL.

Thanks for making my stay as seamless as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nrsratchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review about your stay in the beautiful Alamo city. We were very pleased to have been able to accommodate you and your daughter. We will be sure to pass on the wonderful comments to our team! Please come back and see us again soon!

Darlene
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in April 2013 at the Red Roof-San Antonio Downtown location. Like you, I was looking for a hotel within ease of walking distance to The Alamo and other downtown attractions, but was looking to avoid the frilly prices of paying $150, $200 or more at the more premier hotels right on the RiverWalk. I thought when I picked this Red Roof, I did the right thing...I couldnt have been more wrong. First off, the hotel looks new,..but is old..maybe at least 20 years or more. They did a recent renovation, but that isnt saying much...but all said, its ok. The major problem with their "next-gen" renovation, which is them going from the traditional look of a budget motel to the next-gen concept which features wood floors and flat screen tvs seems like heavenly bliss at first...but its horror in disguise. Removing the carpet and replacing it with faux wood in all the rooms and hallways amplifies noise from other rooms and the indoor hallways...so everytime someone leaves you hear it...boy, do you hear it!...elevators, stairwells,..just more to add to your headache...and that nice big screen tv you have in your room, is the same nice big flat screen tv your neighbor has in their room...and unlike old traditional tube tvs which sit about a foot away from the wall and have smaller speakers....these flat screens are mounted RIGHT AGAINST THE WALLS...so when your neighbor watches late nite semi-pro wrestling...youre gonna hear every announcement mixed in with the audio of whatever youre TRYING to watch. ....also, the bathtubs have bathtub stops that are PURPOSELY TOO HIGH to allow closure...which means if youre wanting to close the stop to fill the tub with water to take a bath (instead of a shower), youre gonna have to stop up the bathtub drainage with the hotel's towels (just like I had to) in order for the bathtub to fill up with water. ...and lastly, this hotel (like so many other hotel chains out there is adopting the popular concept of these new digitally preset air conditioning/heating units that can not be adjusted too high or too low to your desired liking. ....sort of like a speed governor on a car's speedometer. ..you cant adjust the cool lower than like 50F,..or the heat higher than like 70F...because the hotel is a cheapskate and doesnt care about the comfort of your stay and wants to keep their electric bill as low as possible. ..they would yank the ac unit out altogether, if they thought they could still book guests without it. ....and lastly...this hotel is on the fringe outskirts of a bad,..bad, crime ridden area just to the immediate east of where the hotel sits....how close you ask? ...look on a map, and you'll see train tracks,..dont go east of the train tracks unless you'd like to die via a gang-related drive by shooting. ...Im not being superficial either...cause there was 2 that occured,..one the night before I arrived, and the other occured on my 3rd night stay. If youre taking Amtrak to or from this hotel, its within walking distance, and a taxicab fare is just $5.00....the local San Antonio VIA bus doesnt take you to Amtrak. ....It will get you close, but not close enough...and youll have to ride it for about 30 minutes just to get to that spot thats close, but still requires you to walk a few blocks. ....and lastly, If you still insist on staying at this hotel, despite my warnings...make sure to address your concerns to Darlene [--]-the manager...she's the only staff member who acts with genuine concern of any issues the guests bring up. The night staff doesnt care, and one young man on the night shift wears dark sunglasses as if he could care less about making direct eye contact with any of the guests. ....This is easily one of the worst hotels Ive stayed at in some time...dont let the nice facades fool you...its just lipstick on a pig.

Room Tip: you will want to request a high level floor, away from stairwells and elevators as this hotel emits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are sorry for the experiences that you had during your stay. Please accept our apologies and we are addressing your concerns as a team.

Sincerely,
Darlene
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

At first, I thought I had made an error because it seemed so far out of downtown. But after one day, no problem. In fact, wwe looked at it as good excersise. And we were able to do all that we had set out to do. The rooms are adequate--clean, functional. And I loved being able to get coffee any time of the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Ivan, who learned my name the very first day.

Room Tip: Overall, g good inexpensive, clean place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at our hotel. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found that our location was able to still suit your needs. I am very glad that you enjoyed our wonderful city and that you were able to enjoy all the things you set out to do. I will be sure to share your comments with the team especially Ivan, he will be tickled with your comments as he works so hard to ensure our guest’s satisfaction. Thank you again and we all look forward to serving you again should you return to our wonderful city.
Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

With newly renovated rooms and new bedding, this was a great place to stay. We stayed on the upper floor. Quiet air-conditioning unit and very comfortable beds made for a good sleep. With just a short walk to Riverwalk, we were able to not worry bout finding parking (i.e. using the secured hotel lot at $7.00 pkg fee was worth it). Friendly staff. I would return here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My2senseHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your experience with our hotel here in beautiful San Antonio. I am very happy to hear that you and your family had a great time in our city and that you were pleased with your accommodations. It was a pleasure to our team to have served you and we all look forward to your return should your travels return you to our area.
Darlene Silva AGM
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
East Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#125 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing