We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not As Good As A Year Ago” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #147 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
361 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Not As Good As A Year Ago”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

For $62.99 a night (AAA Rate) it wasn't as good as a year ago. Had problems with the ironing board and shower; got a new ironing board but the shower wasn't fixed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrockDaBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at our property here in San Antonio. Out team would like to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We would like to assure you that our staff was made aware that a valued guest did not have their issues addressed during their stay. We are undergoing a full remodel of our property, new furniture, beds, flat screen TV’s, tubs, and sinks included. We do hope that you will return so that you may see the improvements have made to the property since your departure. Thank you again for your comments and we truly look forward to serving you again in the future.
Max Janow
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    202
    129
    87
    78
See reviews for
222
167
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

If you're just looking for a cheap place to rest your head while you visit the Alamo and Riverwalk, the Red Roof is fine, but there are other cheap hotels really nearby which might be better than this particular Red Roof. On the plus side, the room was large and the location is great - a few minutes walk to both the Alamo and the Riverwalk, and it's really easy to get to from the interstate (we were travelling from Dallas). The cons include its proximity to the freeway (which was right outside our window - although the noise didn't really bother us. If you're a light sleeper, though, it might be wise to look elsewhere), the breakfast which is pretty minimal (it's a 'grab and go' which basically consists of coffee with powdered milk, small bagels, muffins or fruit), and the fact that it is definitely in need of the refurbishment that it is currently undergoing.

Our main issue while we were there was that the safe in our room was not working when we arrived and despite at least four complaints, was still not working when we left 3 days later. We were given several different excuses about why it couldn't be fixed (we'd put the code in too many times, the batteries had gone and the person on reception needed to go and buy more, the maintenance man was the only person with the screwdriver to install the new batteries but he wasn't in yet, etc, etc), but we were only offered an alternative room on our final night. Add to that the fact that the security lock on the door was not securely fixed to the door (although the bolt did work), and we were unable to leave any valuables in our room at all during the stay.

Generally the hotel gave the impression that it was a bit run-down and not massively well cared for although this may change once the refurbishment is complete. In the meantime I'd look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has already been refurbished and is on the side that doesn't face the freewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown-Riverwalk. We are happy to hear that our location suited you during your vacation and that your accommodations were spacious. However we did notice that you had encountered some issues and we apologize for not getting your safe open promptly. That is not a normal encounter and we have brought this to the attention to our front desk and maintenance team. We take all comments and concerns seriously and would like to reassure you that we have taken the opportunity to use your feedback for coaching our team so that our future guests do not experience the same issues. I would also like to let you know that our building is undergoing a remodel to include new beds, Flat screen TV’s, art ,paint and drywall in all of our rooms and common areas. We are all looking forward to providing our guest with our new and updated look and agree that this was a much needed remodel; and doing so with-out a drastic increase in our prices allowing us to remain an economy brand. We want to thank you again for your feedback and would like to extend and invitation to return so that you may see the improvements made since your departure.
Max Janow
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

The hotel is what you would expect for a budget motel chain, however the staff were very helpful as we were travelling with an infant. Special mention to Jonathon (Reception) that did quite a bit to help us out.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are better as the lights shine directly into your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience with our hotel in the beautiful Alamo City. We are glad that you and your family found our staff to be helpful during your trip and have passed your compliment on to Jonathan. We do however notice that you had an issue with the pool lights shining into your room. We do have black out curtains installed into all of our guest rooms and apologize that you still experienced an issue with our lighting. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the future should your travels return to you and your family to the area.
Max Janow
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78205
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

VERY limited channels on the tv - no MSNBC for you progressives! $7/day parking so add that up as part of your budget. Only a limited continental breakfast - no waffles here. Does have fridge & microwave in the room. The best thing & the worst thing is the location. It is right next to the interstate, very easy off & on, & a half mile from the Alamo & Riverwalk. You can walk to all of the touristy things downtown with ease. But with that location it also means you HEAR all that traffic from the interstate as well. If you're a light sleeper, this is not the place for you. And if you want to use the outdoor pool, it is in the front of the building & all you will hear while trying to relax at the pool is the traffic noise from the interstate. Pretty awful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noise of the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudia7gerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you choosing to stay with us during your trip to the Alamo City. We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We do offer CNN & Fox News on our cable line up for keeping updated with world news; unfortunately we do not offer MSNBC at this time. We do take into consideration the requests of our guests and will address expanding the networks that we do provide. Parking fees are required and we apologize that this was not part of your budget. Our property, as you mentioned, is in such close proximity to the downtown area that this fee ensures that our lot is used by hotel guest only. Our breakfast selection includes bagels, muffins, and fresh fruit with juice and coffee which is truly a Grab N Go as most of our guests want to grab something on their way out to enjoy the Alamo City. While we are situated downtown and by a major exit into the city the amount of traffic reduces after 8pm so the traffic noise is minimal during the night hours as well we offer rooms on the opposite side of the building for those light sleepers and are more than happy to accommodate these requests. Our pool area, while located in front of the building, is wired with Muzak and the music playing is during the same time as the operation of the pool. Again thank you for your comments and our team would like to invite you to return so that we may provide you with a more memorable experience with our brand.
Max Janow
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78216
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had a great stay and thought the location was fantastic and they accepted our pet. the staff were all very helpful especially Calvin who is in the lobby area at breakfast and Lisa who went out of her way to call us in the lobby when our room was finished one morning. Breakfast was basic but fresh and tasty. Our bed was comfortable and everything clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review your stay with us. We are very thankful that you shared your experience with other travelers. We will pass along your comments to our two team members that you mentioned and we very happy that they went above and betond.

Max Janow
General Manager
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown-Riverwalk
210-229-9973
i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinconning, Michigan
Level Contributor
358 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

The Red Roof Inn in downtown San Antonio was a nice place to stay. As people have mentioned, it is a good place to park and stay and then visit downtown San Antonio. We were able to walk to the Alamo and the Riverwalk from the Inn. The front-desk staff was helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was there was construction work being done on the same floor we were staying on. Luckily, the saws were not being used after a certain time. It's great to see renovations being done, but it might be good to inform guests that construction is being done in case that person is bothered by the sound of the workl.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience with our brand during your family trip to the Alamo City. Our team is very pleased to hear that you were happy with your accommodations and that we were able to make you feel comfortable during your stay. We did however notice that you had issues with the renovation work that is currently occurring presently. We do have hours in which noise cannot be made by the construction crew as you mentioned and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We are truly looking forward to completion so our guest can enjoy the new rooms with new beds, flat screen TV’s new hard wood flooring and sleep package without experiencing the work needed to accomplish this remodel. Again we thank you for your comments and look forward to serving you again in the future should your travels return you to the area.
Max Janow
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78216
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here one night on a long road trip. We chose it because it was near the Riverwalk, and would accept pets. Also, it had a locked parking garage, which was important since we had a lot of luggage in the car. It is a large, older building, right on the boundary between the tourist area and a somewhat sketchy neighborhood (run-down buildings, etc.). I felt comfortable walking around in the day, especially on the Riverwalk side, but did not attempt to stroll around at night. Our room was very comfortable, though not completely clean, and we got a good night's sleep. Not a fancy place, but convenient (close to the Alamo), and good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneT013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay. We are very pleased that you thought highly about your stay to review our property. Bieng only 3 blocks form the Alamo doesn't mean yuo have to pay a higher price for location. We are currently under renovation and look forward to the WOW factor our guest are going to see in the next couple of months. Thank you again for our review of our location.

Max Janow
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Downtown-Riverwalk
210-229-9973
i0248@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
East Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#128 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing