We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price and great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #166 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value for the price and great location.”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My best friend and I stayed here in early June 2011 and we had a good experience at the hotel. The daily rate was very affordable for the location of the hotel. Our room was very basic but had everything that we needed for our stay and it was clean. If your on a budget I do recommend this hotel, however you must remember its an ecomony hotel. There was plenty of parking since they also have a parking garage which was right there on site. The hotel is a very short walk from the Alamo and Riverwalk Center and it only took a few minutes by foot to get there. I felt safe in the area too, even walking back to the hotel from the center at night, however I was not walking by myself. Most of the places to eat are right near the River Center or inside the mall so be prepared to have to walk a little to go eat, or take the car. The hotel has a simple breakfast of juice, coffee, bagels or muffins and fruit. Thats it, but its nice thats its offered considering the price of the room. The hotel was very busy while we were there, lots of kids, but no issues. I stayed 4 nights and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz8412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGM, Front Office Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay and for choosing us to host you and your best friend while visiting the Alamo City. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations and found our location a good value and convenient for you and your friend. Our property is located only blocks from the Alamo and Riverwalk and happy to hear that you were enjoying our great city as well. We are an economy brand and find that most people are pleasantly surprised by the extra amenities we offer like the complimentary grab and go breakfast. Our team thanks you for the wonderful recommendation and we all look forward to serving you again in the future.
David Vanderhoof Front Office Manager
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78216
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    206
    133
    94
    84
See reviews for
230
174
56
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

hotel was great, staff were very helpful especially when we had a problem with the toilet,it was sorted by the time we got back with no fuss.thanks for making our time in san antonio so great we will be back,

Room Tip: use public transport to get about quick and cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinksnanausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGM, Front Office Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay and for choosing us to host you and your family while visiting Alamo City. We are pleased to hear that you still had a great time despite issues you had encountered. Our team will do anything to make sure your stay is comfortable and immediate attention to issues that may occur are our priority. Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
David Vanderhoof Front Office Manager
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78216
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Pros: Cheapest hotel within walking distance of Riverwalk that allows pets for no extra charge. The room has just the bare minimum that most hotels get by with, but it was clean. The staff was friendly, though they very busy.

Cons: Very busy on the weekend, lots of kids and large families going to Sea World and lot of rowdy kids running and screaming in the hallway. You can hear everything going on in the hallway. I woke up every time someone slammed their door. My biggest problem with this hotel was the bed and pillows. We had the king suite, and the mattress was so old and hard, and it sloped towards the center of the bed. My husband and I were sliding towards the center all night. At one point I made a pallet on the floor and tried to sleep that way. The pillows were rock hard and overstuffed, so our necks were killing us for 2 days.

Overall, it's a mediocre hotel that is plenty sufficient for those who want to be close to riverwalk or who have a dog as long as you are just planning to stay for a night or 2 (max). It's economy over comfort. Just bring your own pillows, and you'll probably be fine.

Room Tip: The view from the side opposite the pool is ugly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Writetaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGM, Front Office Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown-Riverwalk. Our entire team is happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Alamo City! Our brand is one of the few that allow pets and happy that we were able to accomodate you and your pet during your travels. The only difference from the other brands is that we dont charge any extra fees for our four legged friends. We also noticed that you encountered some issues that we truly apologize for and appreciate you bringing to our attention so we can ensure that future guests do not encounter these items. Again we thank you for your comments and invite you to return so that you may see the improvements made since your departure.
David Vanderhoof Front Office Manager
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78216
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel June 18-21 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff was knowledgeable about the area and activities going on. They told me the best times to get on the interstate and when I might want to avoid them. I asked for directions to a restaurant and they gave me a special coupon for a free item there. My check-in was quick and efficient and I was greeted by the staff and asked how my stay was going every time they saw me.The room was very clean and had no faults that I noticed and I took pictures to prove it. I read a review that said not to walk at night but I did and felt completely safe at all times. There is a charge for parking, but it is half of what it costs to park elsewhere downtown. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and especially family's looking for a place to explore downtown San Antonio.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amarillotravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGM, Front Office Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay and for choosing us to host you and your family while visiting Alamo City. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your accommodations impressed you enough to take pictures. Our team is always delighted to help our guests navigate their way through our great city, and any time we can accompany directions with a discount or coupon we gladly do so. We truly want our guest to feel welcome and comfortable and asking about your stay is a way to help ensure your satisfaction with our brand. We are glad that you ventured out during the evening hours as our city is beautifully light and patrolled by a friendly and helpful city and park officers. Our parking is one of the few that allow overnight parking for a nominal fee unlike other brand properties that will charge double to triple the amount. Thank you for the recommendation and we truly look forward to serving you again in the future.
David Vanderhoof Front Office Manager
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78216
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. The location of the hotel to downtown attractions is great. A very short walk down Houston St. to the Alamo. The staff was very friendly and resourceful. Jesse answered all of my questions. And the young lady (forgot her name) that checked us out was very helpful as well. The only problem we had was accessing the internet. But it wasn't a big must for us. The price was great; especially when traveling on a budget with 3 children. We will definately stay at this location again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDennis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We are just finishing a five-night stay here and have found this hotel a great value compared to other hotels in San Antonio. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well-maintained. The staff at the front desk are very friendly and willing to do whatever to help make your stay comfortable. The location is not right on the RiverWalk - which would make the price MUCH higher - but it is an easy 10 minute walk to the nearest entrance to the Riverwalk and other attractions such as the Alamo and many fine San Antonio restaurants. The overall value is excellent with only a $5/night charge for parking compared to as much as $20/night in other hotels

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomoUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGM, Front Office Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thank you so much for allowing us to host you during your stay in the great city of San Antonio, and for taking the time to post a review about your experience with our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you were happy with your accommodations and that we were able to make you feel welcome and comfortable during your stay. As you mentioned we are a short walk to the Riverwalk, Alamo and numerous restaurants allowing our visitors easy access to our wonderful city. As an economy brand we are able to pass the saving on to our guest which does include inexpensive parking for the area. Our team would like to thank you again and we all look forward to serving you again in the future.
David Vanderhoof Front Office Manager
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78216
(210)229-9973 i0248[--]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candia, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is located within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and Riverwalk. It is well staffed with helpful people who make you feel welcomed. The pool is clean albeit a bit small. The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast area was in need of upgrade but there were choice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZAPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIGM, Front Office Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for allowing us to host you during your visit to our area and for taking the time to post a review about your experience with our brand. We are very pleased to hear that you felt welcomed by our team and that you were satisfied with your accommodations. Our property is conveniently located within blocks to the Alamo and Riverwalk along with numerous restaurants and sincerely happy that you were able to enjoy our wonderful city. We a currently in the process of updating our rooms and common areas the breakfast area included and hope on your next visit to the area you will get to see the improvements since your departure. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
David Vanderhoof Front Office Manager
1011 E Houston ST.
San Antonio TX 78216
(210)229-9973 i0248redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,123 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
1,943 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing