We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and ideal location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #34 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and ideal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

I just returned from a great visit to SA .After reading some of the reviews I was a little concerned about the location of the hotel,however it turned out to be perfect for us.The hotel is in the quiet part of the riverwalk only one short block north of the historic King William District which is amazingly beautiful.Gorgeous homes,beautiful yards,flowers,restaurants,scenery and a nice walk beside the river with numerous ducks,birds and other wildlife..If you prefer bigger crowds just walk three blocks north along the river and you will be in the major busier part of the riverwalk.
The hotel has a great management team.and superb staff.The management works from early morning to late at night to insure everything is running smoothly.The continental breakfest is good and they have a complete menu if you desire something additional.The rooms are suites with a 42" plasma HD TV.Very nice heated pool,free parking ,free WiFi,nice views.Also a very safe area.I found the hotel to be better than most 4 star hotels.The big difference is that 4 star hotels would have an additional charge for many of the amenities provided by Hyatt Place.If you enjoy great scenery,walking,and a nice hotel experience this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    348
    135
    40
    26
See reviews for
344
292
30
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

Hyatt Place is to be commended for re-branding the AmeriSuites. The rooms have the same floor plan and same small bathrooms as before - but all new furniture, carpeting, bedding, etc. I loved the comfortable bed, the living room "pit" furniture, the 42" flat-screen TV and the free WiFi. FREE PARKING!

However, I REALLY needed more drawer space. There are only two drawers to use - both in a small cabinet that makes up part of the bathroom vanity. I would remove the decorative shelves under the TV and add a shallow dresser for those of us who want to unpack for trips of 4+ nights.

If you plan to travel to San Antonio and want to be "on the Riverwalk" - please call ahead and talk to a member of the front-desk staff where you want to stay. There are many definitions of "Riverwalk" when booking a hotel in San Antonio. I'd stayed at this property in its' past life (AmeriSuites) and knew it's not on the main portion of the Riverwalk. But - it is VERY close to La Villita (street side) - a short two block walk. Pack your walking shoes and you'll be fine.

This hotel is also extremely accessible to the AlamoDome / IH 37 / IH 35 - something to keep in mind if you plan to attend any events there.

The staff were all very friendly and were easy to spot in their Burnt Orange knit-wear tops. Someone was always available to help.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lassie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

This was a very nice hotel, one of the best I've ever stayed in. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are beautifully decorated in a modern style that also carries over into the lobby. The breakfast was excellent as well as the bar service, the paid food items, and the business center. The assistant manager Terry helped us secure reservations at a popular Riverwalk restaurant so that we could help a friend celebrate his birthday. The staff was knowledgeable about the town and attractions, and they were friendly and professional. The hotel smells very clean and fresh.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0ve_h0rses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed in a king riverview - nice view of the quiet part of the riverwalk. We found the room very spacious, but the bathroom was so small the door practically scraped the toilet everytime you opened and closed it! Loved the 42" flat screen and fridge in the room. Biggest complaint is there is absolutely no drawers to put clothes in--just a closet. We basically lived out of our suitcases all week.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed here for a weekend get away and needless to say I was slightly disappointed when I arrived because there was no "Riverwalk" view that I expected. More like a walkway adjacent to a riverbank. I requested this type of room because I thought it would be a view of the exciting area with a balcony. It was but saw trees and other non-beautiful buildings. The hotel was nice please don't get me wrong, rooms beautiful, can easily walk to the riverwalk in 10-20 min depending on how fast you are; but the name is misleading and the price per night was a bit steep but I didn't have to pay for parking. Free buffet mediocre didn't care for fruit not good. Would I stay here again depends on who is all going, the event, and can't beat the price for the location though. Take your Wii we did and loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msjaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comanche, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

The Hyatt Place Riverwalk is a recently renovated former AmeriSuites all-suite hotel. The building was not old and Hyatt’s rebranding and refurbishment has given the property an up-scale feel with quiet décor, high quality electronics and thoughtful features. It is a spacious, clean, well run, conveniently located and something that is almost unique in downtown San Antonio – FREE parking.

Although there is no valet to park your car or schlep your luggage to the room they do have an adequate number of sturdy carts, night-time parking lot security and a nice lobby meeting space where simple food and beverages are served. The hotel has twenty-four hour room service for breakfast items, snacks, sandwiches, salads, soups/chili and pizza. The food quality is OK, the coffee is Starbucks and the beer, wine and mixed drinks are cold -- something you’ll appreciate ten months out of the year in San Antonio! For these months there is pool and lounge area adjacent to the hotel.

The beds are very comfortable and the dressing room is attractive and roomy. Each room has a large and well furnished sitting room, an adequate work area (with free wireless internet), wet bar, refrigerator and coffeemaker. A 42” Plasma TV with an A/V jack-pack is located on the wall and viewable from the bedroom and sitting room. A wide selection of free TV channels and pay video options are available.

Though “Riverwalk” is prominent in the hotel’s name it is located on a less trafficked portion of the San Antonio River not commonly referred to as “the Riverwalk”. However, that is not a bad thing. The hotel is located across a weir which prevents access to the motor barges that ply the more trafficked portion of the Riverwalk and is bordered by broad concrete sidewalks. Here joggers and pet walkers far outnumber tourists and there are no crowds. The view from the back of the property overlooks the tranquil river and is relaxing. The hotel’s balconies and pool provide the ambiance of a nice condo rather than a business or tourist hotel. The more trafficked portion of the Riverwalk is a short two block walk along the canal or through a relatively safe-feeling neighborhood and the quaint La Villita.

There are less expensive hotels on and near the Riverwalk. They are reviewed on this site. Many are nice but you will see most all of them have compromises. I do recommend the Hotel Obrien and the Comfort Inn Alamo Riverwalk but they both have parking issues. We have visited San Antonio many times and stayed at some of the more expensive hotels. We like La Mansion del Rio, Hyatt Regency, Hilton Palacio del Rio and Marriott Rivercenter. The Contessa, Valencia and Watermark look luxurious and interesting but are pricy and outside our requirements for this stay. The two Drury Hotels reviewed on this site look good on a walk-through and we are eager to try them on other trips.

Two nits to pick, the bath tub in our third floor end room drained painfully slow and the bath, at only 5’4” x 5’ 4”, is a bit tight.

All things considered we think the Hyatt Place Riverwalk is a perfect lodging in these tough times if you don’t require the luxuries of the grand names and you are staying on your dime. Try it, I think you will be satisfied.

  • Liked — Value; location
  • Disliked — There is nothing not to like about this property
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank derPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

We went with some friend to spend xmas at San Antonio we drove from Veracruz mexico 18 hrs.
we had a great time, the hotel was great and the price very accesible everything was clean and its place, the big screen is great specilly with HD tv .
the only "complain" is the bathroom is little , but the room is soooo spacious.
beds are incredible comfortable and the location of the hotel is great a few minutes from riverwalk .
We Had the best vacations with friends

  • Liked — beds
  • Disliked — the buffett zone
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank medtronics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#18 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Property: Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing