We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #41 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not worth the money!”
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Stayed at the Hyatt for two weeks. My room was only surfaced cleaned the two weeks I was there. My room was street side and the buses woke me every morning at 5:00 AM, The continental breakfast was average at best. The staff acted as if we were more an imposition then guests. The only good thing about the hotel was it is close the renowned River Walk.

  • Liked — Proximity to tourist attractions
  • Disliked — Very impersonal
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nschurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    374
    152
    47
    31
See reviews for
389
313
31
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

This hotel is an excellent choice if you're attending a convention and don't mind a ten-minute walk to save a few dollars.

The hotel is on the Riverwalk, but it's more direct to walk a few blocks to the Convention Center. It's a quick, easy and pleasant walk.

The hotel is great -- rooms are fairly new and very clean, and it's always nice to have the extra room of a suite, and the convenience of a refrigerator.

The staff is very nice, but there is not enough of them. Often a call to the front desk went unanswered, and sometimes you couldn't find a person at the front desk for help.

Nevertheless, this hotel offers a pleasant experience and a good value relative to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel4FunAndBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

I stayed at the Hyatt Place for a week due to a work conference. The staff was great and always 100% friendly and willing to help. The rooms are very nice and big and I loved having the large 42 inch plasma screen to watch TV. The beds were also great and comfortable. The bathroom is a little smaller then I usually like. The WIFI is a little slow at peak times at night but you can’t really help that. The free breakfast they do each morning is mostly fruit, cereal, breads and yogurt nothing to amazing. I would have loved to have some eggs but was not about to pay 7 dollars for some from their kitchen.

Next time I go to San Antonio I think I would rather stay directly on the river walk, you’re near the river walk with this hotel not directly on it. The hotel also had several other groups there for business and we all would go to lunch around the same time you would think they would be a little more ready but we often had to wait in line. If I had to go back for a business trip I would not mind staying there but if it was for vacation I think I would pick somewhere else.

  • Liked — The large bed
  • Disliked — SMALL Bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chadlerbing25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

I stayed at this hotel with 7 other people having a total of three rooms for four days. Everyone of us had problems at this hotel. It is a very nice hotel, with comfortable beds and huge televisions, but if you want service you won't get it. Your room will not be restocked of coffee, toilet paper or fresh sheets unless you ask for them specifically. There are NO vending machines in or anywhere around this hotel, so if you would like something to drink you better bring it with you. Well they have a little bar in the lobby where you can buy bottled water for around $4.00 a bottle if you prefer, but I'd rather get a whole case for that price! They also have sandwiches and other things like cinnamon rolls, but again, overpriced. My friend and I decided to have a cup of coffee there and two cups cost us $7.00! We also ordered a sandwich tray for a meeting we had and it was supposed to be like 3 different kinds of sandwiches with different sauces and be ready by 3:00 p.m. We finally got the sandwiches after calling twice and there were no sauces for the sandwiches and they were almost frozen at around 4:30 p.m.! So if your into just looks this hotel will do it for you; but if your into service, go somewhere else! I will give them this bonus; the pool was pretty nice and there were always nice clean towels right down by the pool and the Riverwalk view was nice.

  • Liked — Huge television
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pineknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

The Hyatt Place San Antonio Riverwalk is technically on the Riverwalk, however it's quite a way from where most of the dining and shopping is located. If dining at night, you'll probably want to drive, as the hotel is in a shady neighborhood.

If you're not familiar with Hyatt Place, the basic concept is a 4 star quality room, 2.5 star quality service at a 2.5-3 star price. My favorite part is the 42" plasma TV in every room, coast to coast, with HD programming.

  • Liked — 42" TV in every room, with some HD programming
  • Disliked — A long walk from shopping and dining -- be prepared to drive
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jpetralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

The name says riverwalk but in reality it has part of the river behind the hotel. This hotel offers spacious rooms and a very friendly staff. If you like to walk it is with in walking distance of most of the attractions.

Small breakfast buffet but will fill you up. Staff was very friendly. If anything could be improved it was some of the prices for the food in the hotel. Only ate the free buffet.

Worth a shot.

  • Liked — staff very friendly and location
  • Disliked — some of the hotel prices and no safe
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Christmas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

The lobby staff at this hotel was fantastic. Check-in was fast and friendly, and there were always multiple employees available to assist with questions or grab-and-go snacks from the cold case.

The rooms are very large and comfortably furnished. Make no mistake- this is an older hotel with a nice makeover, but its age still shows.

As others have mentioned- the beds are fantastic and the TVs are gigantic with HD programming. Many 4- and 5-star properties (including Hyatt's own) should take note.

The room had a balcony on the quiet stretch of the river where this hotel is located. The balconies, however, are shared with adjacent rooms (there is an metal fence dividing). The shopping/dining portions of the Riverwalk are just a few minutes' walk.

The hotel is well suited for business travelers but, at least during our stay, seemed to be primarily filled with families running around the lobby in bathing suits. Definitely a family-friendly place.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank imaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 355 in San Antonio
3,000 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 355 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Property: Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing