We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, but quiet, Riverwalk hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #40 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Quiet hotel located 2 blocks from main Riverwalk boat stops, its back door opens to restful areas directly on the river. Each day's hot cooked breakfast was varied, and included with the daily stay. Complimentary self-parking, but if you're coming from the Airport, catch the Route 5 bus ($1.20 fare) and you're let off a block from hotel. Inside hotel, every employee was very courteous and helpful. Our room was a spacious suite (king bed, sofas, desk, kitchenette)overlooking the river. Only downside was that the bathroom door was a tight fit, but the vanity is decent size.

Room Tip: some 2nd floor rooms overlook the satellite dish. Odd numbered room overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location, four blocks from colorful Mercado with its shops and restaurants, six blocks to the Alamo. River walk extension, which you can take to the main Riverwalk, out your back door! Excellent rooms. Quiet, but convenient location. Complimentary breakfast is just OK, suffers from very limited lobby seating. But this is the case at each of the Hyatt Place hotels that I have stayed at.

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes, visit the Mercado and stroll the length of the Riverwalk. Viva la San Ant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel was in a great location for an easy walk to the Riverwalk. Upon checking in, the guy helping me was friendly and competent. However, the girl helping my friend check in didn't seem to really know what she was doing and the guy kept having to help her. I don't think she was a new employee either. The area was quiet and parking was free! The room was a great size, but a bit oddly laid out. The bathroom (toilet & shower) was tiny, the door had just enough room to clear the edge of the toilet when you opened it. The breakfast was average. I would stay here again if back in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Hyatt Place Riverwalk the weekend of the 26th of April for a GCVA Volleyball Tournament our daughter had. Everything was o.k. food, location, and room were o.k. too. Until I left my fine watch in the room on check out day. Now The housekeeper Mgr. after several messages and phone calls still have not had the courtesy to return my calls, every time I call she is out, not in, will be here on Wednesday, and so on and on. Asked for the manager and same thing "he is not in, but I will have him or the Housekeeper Manager call you back. Still nothing. I know I left my watch in the room. Very disappointing to see customer service of this type. Will not come back to this hotel not even for a sport event. I will go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Do not leave your valuables in your room as they have no courtesy with their guest in this regard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wolfdenTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband was here for a convention. Very disappointed with the hotel. The location was fantastic, but the hotel room needed to be upgraded. Our sink and tub kept backing up. A lamp didn't work and the door jam strip kept getting stuck and coming lose. We reported these items and some were fixed but others never were fixed. The furnishings were a bit shabby for a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great for families traveling to SA. Good breakfast and spacious rooms. Free parking was a plus especially considering it was close to the River Walk. My issue is that we should has stayed longer lol. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joneslikes2stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is on the Riverwalk but not where most of the hotels and restaurants are. It is on a quiet stretch of the Riverwalk about a ten minute walk to where most of the action is. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly and attentive. The room has a sitting area as well as the bedroom and bathroom. Be aware that the shower is very small which I believe was a function of the original design to add room elsewhere. There is a buffet breakfast included in your stay. I thought that for the price this was a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walter100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $145 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing