We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Big Room, Good Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #39 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great for families traveling to SA. Good breakfast and spacious rooms. Free parking was a plus especially considering it was close to the River Walk. My issue is that we should has stayed longer lol. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joneslikes2stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is on the Riverwalk but not where most of the hotels and restaurants are. It is on a quiet stretch of the Riverwalk about a ten minute walk to where most of the action is. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly and attentive. The room has a sitting area as well as the bedroom and bathroom. Be aware that the shower is very small which I believe was a function of the original design to add room elsewhere. There is a buffet breakfast included in your stay. I thought that for the price this was a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walter100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

As the second part of a trip to San Antonio we were happy to not stay on the Riverwalk as long as it was still within walking distance. This hotel appealed as it was just over a 5 minute walk to the main area of the Riverwalk but also included free parking (having paid $21 per night plus tax at Drury this makes a difference) and free breakfast and still good value.

The rooms were very big with a large sitting area and huge tv. The breakfast was a disappointment not because of the standard of food but because the breakfast area is too small, there were families barging their way in and there was no where near enough seating with some people having to go into the conference rooms.

The pool is next to a construction site, as we were there at the weekend this wasnt a problem but far from ideal I would imagine when work is ongoing. On the day of check out we were not due to leave San Antonio until late afternoon but the hotel were happy for us to leave our car in the park for the full day which was appreciated.

Overall, if you are looking for somewhere to stay which is walking distance to the Riverwalk but not be directly on it then this is an ideal hotel at a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jubbsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Good size bedroom and seating area but very small bathroom. Great location with free parking and close enough to walk to the River walk and all attractions yet nit have any noise issues. Staff very friendly and helpful, small pool with construction work currently taking place next to it. It didn't bother us. Breakfast was average and not enough seating at the weekend but overall excellent value for money and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlondon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here - the location allowed us to walk to most of what we wanted to see/do. The hotel was nice enough and included a good breakfast. We do have a few suggestions for management to consider that would improve the quality of stay at this hotel. One is the lighting needs to be improved over the bathroom sink. Very dim - hard to apply makeup, etc. Secondly, the pool area needs a good cleaning up. Lot's of cobwebs on chairs, and they were dirty. Area had not been swept down and a good cleaning. Pool is nice enough. If you go there over the next few months, beware of the big construction project right next to the pool. Lot's of noise - making it hard to relax poolside, although we gave it our best!

Room Tip: Get a room on the north end to avoid construction noise on the south end. Also, a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandma0352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel was perfect for travel with children. I took two of my grandsons, both 10 years old on the train to San Antonio for their spring break. This hotel is about a half mile from the train station, so even though we arrived at midnight, a quick cab ride got us to our hotel. The room was large enough to be very comfortable for three people. It is not a new construction, so the room had a slight musty smell, but that went away quickly. The staff at this hotel is wonderful, and Tim, the night manager went out of his way to get directions for me to a car rental company and slipped a note under my door with a map to the Natural Bridge Caverns. We slipped out the back door every day to walk down to the busiest sections of the river walk. Took about 10 minutes to walk to most places, even with the boys in tow. The breakfast was free every day with lots of options for food. Oatmeal, cold cereal, breakfast sandwiches of various kinds, fresh fruit, you name it. They also have a 24 hour Gallery service with a menu that includes caloric content and pricing. The front desk has drinks and snacks for sale at all times. No vending machines on the property. The pool area was nice and clean with fresh towels available pool side every day. Yes, the bathrooms are tiny, but how much time do you spend in there anyway? I felt safe walking to and from this hotel no matter the time of day. Also, because it was a couple of blocks from the main part of the river walk, it was much quieter and about a third the price of the other hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We sincerely thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave this valued feedback. Your feedback is very important to us and we continuously used these to train our staff and upgrade our facilities.

We are thrilled that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Thank you again!
Suzie P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was the perfect base for our city break. I booked it based on the fact that it backed right on to the river, only 5 mins walk from the main tourist part of the Riverwalk. As it was also offering free parking and free buffet breakfast in the foyer clinched it for me. Rome and service tie in perfectly with other Hyatt Places, they have got the model down perfectly. What I didn't bargain on was that you also on the doorstep of the stunning King William district. So many 'local' bars and eateries we did not eat downtown once during our visit. Would definitely recommend this place for a city break.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We sincerely thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave this valued feedback. Your feedback is very important to us and we continuously used these to train our staff and upgrade our facilities.

Thank you so much for choosing us at the Hyatt Place San Antonio Riverwalk to be your host hotel. We are thrilled that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Suzie P
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,156 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,535 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $127 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splitty, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing