We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #35 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great for travelling with children. The rooms are big and have a separate sitting area with fridges and sinks. Two short blocks to riverwalk's villita and the river. The staff was very helpful. Since we were a group of 17, including 7 children, the buffet free breakfast was perfect and also the free parking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rocio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

The location is great, rooms need a little maintenance but other than that, building is ok. They do need improvement on the breakfast. It was plain, and cold and i did not like it at all. Price was great for the location!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pepe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We agree with other reviews about the location and comfort of the hotel. Several couples in our party stayed at the other Hyatt Riverwalk and had some issues with parking and rooms. The free parking and breakfast here was top notch. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Room was a good size and had nice amenities.

The only improvements I'd suggest would be in-room safes (I pad size) and a shuttle service to the main part of the Riverwalk (although a ten minute walk or $5 to $7 cab ride aren't all that bad).

Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Riverwalk rooms are perhaps quieter but don't spend extra as the view is somewhat less than spec...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Location. Location. Location.

Not on the busy, somewhat frenzied Riverwalk where the people-barges go until all hours of the night, the Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk is two blocks south of the busy part of town. A quick walk north and east takes you to the famed Riverwalk loop, La Villita, Hemisfair Park, the Alamodome and other attractions. But a quick walk south down the Riverwalk takes you to the King William historic district, Guenther House Restaurant and Madhatters (check my reviews on these, too.) What a great exploration!

At this point in the Riverwalk, the river is more of a canal with a well-gardened walkway. The river is not as old-world charm as the loop, but because of its access to all sorts of things, I think it is a better place to stay.

Get a room on the River side if you can--you're close enough to La Villita to hear any bands that may perform in the evening.

This hotel is a great place to launch an exploration of the south of downtown portion of San Antonio--a big surprise even for those of us who have visited San Antonio more than twenty times!

The hotel is a typical Hyatt Place/Marriott Courtyard/Hilton Garden Inn/Marriott Springhill suites. The rooms are well laid out. Decorating is reasonable, but a smidge beyond its prime. It is well-positioned for families, couples and business.

Would I stay here again? You bet!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river (the back of the hotel) are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you sincerely for taking time out of your busy schedule to leave this response. We are indeed very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it enables us to monitor our performance in both our service and facilities so our guests needs are met.

Thank you again so much and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Suzie P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Clean, spacious room. Most of the staff were friendly. Rate is lower than other hotels in the Riverwalk and Henry Gonzalez Convention Center Area. The location is a little further away than the more expensive hotels in the Riverwalk area, but save money on your room. They have free parking of guests if you are driving.
They serve an excellent, free breakfast in the morning, and their hotel restaurant have some good offerings for a late night meal or snack. Prices are very reasonable. Their prices are very reasonable for the Riverwalk area, so don't expect a fancy bar or 5 star hotel restaurant. I would recommend the place for a price conscious friend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Guest

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to leave us your valued feedback. We use this forum as one of tools to continuously upgrade our service and facilities.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Suzie P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had a room on the 5th floor and asked for an outside room that is not close to the bar area. I had read a review that said an inside room that is close to the bar downstairs could be noisy. We did not have a river view, I thought I asked for one, but my husband didn't care so I did not bring it up. My only negative would be that there was a musty smell when you first walked in the room, but that went away quickly & you didn't notice it after a minute. I really like the way the rooms are configured. They are large with a separate area for a desk, sink, mini-fridge, & couch. There is a short wall in between that & the bed/bathroom area. It's almost like a tiny apartment. I had already read several reviews that the bathroom is small & the door barely clears the commode, so I was prepared to not be annoyed bythat. Some mentioned that the vanity counter space is very small, but that did not bother me because there is a counter right next to it that is about 3 ft. long. The bed was comfortable & the TV was large. The TV swiveled so you could watch it from the couch or bed. Our room was very quiet, we never heard anyone, but we purposely went during the week when kids are in school. Breakfast is included & it was pretty good. They always have toast, bagels, cereal, breakfast sandwiches, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. The only thing that changes is French toast, pancakes, or waffles. Didn't like the French toast too much but the pancakes & waffles were pretty good. Each time we went down, all the chairs & couches were taken but we found seats at the bar. Again, we were there during the week, not the weekend. The girls/women at the front desk were all pleasant & helpful. Laurie on the afternoon shift was outstanding .. she has the most outgoing & bubbly personality. Veronica & Cynthia on the morning shift were also friendly & helpful. The hotel is right on the river, it's right out the back door, but it is quite a walk to the river walk restaurants. If you are fit it won't be a problem at all. Maybe not great for an elderly person. We lucked out and got to see Harry Connick, Jr. in concert - the Majestic Theater is awesome! Never seen anything quite like it. We did the SA Western Shooting one day and really enjoyed that. We walked down to Rosario's one night & enjoyed the food there. We also went to Biga on the Banks, which is EXPENSIVE, but the food was excellent. All in all we had a really nice trip to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Since we traveled during the week, I can't speak to how weekends are. We were in room 504 and n...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us your valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate this as feedbacks are being used to constantly monitor our services and facilities.

We are thrilled that you had a great time and do look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Thank you again for being our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a convention in San Antonio. I was very happy with the stay, the room was very clean and well appointed, the staff was fabulous. We encountered front desk, night auditor and housekeepers and all were very friendly and helpful.
The walk to the convention center each day was easy and enjoyable. The area was beautiful and the quiet area of the Riverwalk was directly behind the hotel. It was so nice to sit outside and enjoy the view. I would recommend this hotel for everyone. I will certainly stay here again when I am in the area.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room that has windows to the Riverwalk, its a great view. The hotel as a whole was...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciasparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us this feedback. We continuously monitor our feedback as it helps us tremendously in training our staff and upgrading our facilities. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you again soon as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,114 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,133 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,095 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $127 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing