We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location for Riverwalk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #34 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 694 helpful votes
“Good Location for Riverwalk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived after dark, but decided to walk along the riverwalk to the market place to eat. It was an easy walk and felt very safe. The hotel is clean, rooms are spacious - like every other Hyatt Place I've stayed. Bathroom is very small, but there is a lot of counter space and closet space. There is a L-sofa with a TV that swivels to either the bed area or living area. There is a wet bar with coffee maker, small refrigerator, and sink. There is a work space with lighting and a nice desk. I like Hyatt Place, and like that they have a nice breakfast with fruit, open faced bagel sandwiches with eggs that are served hot, cereals, toast, pastries. There is more than enough food for a variety of appetites. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: You can request a room with river view and the main floor rooms had little decks with chairs to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lotus2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave your feedback; we sincerely appareciate this. We read each and every feedback as it enables us to continuously improve on our service and hotel.

We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon!!

From all of us at the Hyatt Place San Antonio Riverwalk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    348
    135
    40
    26
See reviews for
344
292
30
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights...
Pros: FREE PARKING which is very difficult to find here. FRIENDLY STAFF and very helpful GOOD BREAKFAST. RIGHT ON THE WATER, but not the noisy part. Easy to walk down to the section where all the action is.

Cons: ITY, BITY, TINY BATHROOM. I kid you not, there was just enough room for the door to clear the toilet. You have to stand in the shower or the tiny strip between the toilet and shower to open the door. NO COUNTERSPACE for toiletries. NO DRESSER SPACE, TWO TINY DRAWERS, had to live out of the suitcase for five days. NO MICROWAVE IN ROOM, very inconvenient for snacks.

Probably would not stay there again as the cons outweighed the pros for us.

Room Tip: I'm assuming the handicap rooms would have larger bathrooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightowlinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a one week stay at this hotel in celebration of his 70th birthday. It was a dream come true for both of us. When I emailed the Hyatt asking if it would be possible for us to have a room facing the river as a surprise for my husband's birthday, Sonia replied saying that we would have a room facing the river with a balcony at "no upgrade charge to celebrate 70 wonderful years".. It was a perfect room to watch the sunset each evening. The breakfasts were great and varied each day. Although the entire staff was very accommodating, our vacation was made extra special because of two extraordinary employees, Sonia and Ronnie. Sonia, a very personable and efficient young woman, personally made sure that our week long stay was everything that a special birthday celebration should be. She gave us a tour of the hotel upon our arrival and greeted us each morning by name and assisted us in planning our days. She was excited that my husband was celebrating his birthday at the Hyatt Place and wanted our stay to be a memorable one. And then there was Ronnie, who went out of his way to accommodate the request of my sister to surprise my husband with a special birthday dinner. He communicated with my sister back home and personally had printed a special invitation she emailed to him to surprise my husband. In addition he bought two birthday cards for my husband and delivered them to our room upon our arrival. He worked evenings and upon our return back to the hotel, he would inquire about our evening and ask if we needed any assistance for the next day. One evening, he gave my husband a complimentary muffin as a mini birthday cake. I cannot say enough about these two staff members. We have gone on many vacations over the years, but never have we been treated so special. They both are assets to the Hyatt Place Riverwalk and should be commended. We thank you Sonia and Ronnie and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone contemplating visiting San Antonio.

Room Tip: Choose a rooms with a balcony facing the river. Awesome sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us your valued feedback. We continuously monitor these as this enable us to improve our service and facilities to better serve you.

Thank you for allowing us to share your special day...it was indeed a pleasure! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you again soon!

All the best!
From all of us at the Hyatt Place San Antonio Riverwalk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Without being to redundant, the staff and hotel are second to none! Everyone we met on the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are large and comfortable, and the breakfast is a nice mix of fruit, warm pancakes/babels, eggs, cereal and coffee/juices. The location is an easy walk to the riverfront (the back door walks onto the river and a short distance to the loop). We enjoyed Rosarios for lunch (two blocks south), the Alamo Trolley tour, many eats along the river. This property provides an excellent value and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kucu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us your valued feedback. We continuously monitor these as this enable us to improve our service and facilities to better serve you.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again soon!

All the best!
From all of us at the Hyatt Place San Antonio Riverwalk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were treated wonderfully. They truly seemed to be happy we were there. It is located on the river and within walking distance to downtown. Hot breakfast and parking is included in your price, which is very rare in downtown San Antonio hotels. The rooms were so comfortable and we were called moments after we checked in to make sure everything was ok in the room. The hot breakfast was fresh with a great variety and you had real dishes. They have a 24/7 Grab n' Go that you can purchase foods from anytime. The Mushroom and Brie soup was a special treat. They were so helpful with directions. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My company, Glenna Tabor Resources, held an training institute at this hotel. From the moment we spoke with the event manager, Barbara, we knew we had chosen the best hotel for our event. The entire booking process was quite professional, we were greeted by all staff with such hospitality and our every need was met. The room was set up exactly as we asked, the food was delicious, hot, and served on time. Literally every single person who helped us, waited on us, and served us were some of the friendliest we have ever experienced! Our participants felt special and it was one of the best meetings we have ever held, with the most positive response, because the Hyatt Place Riverwalk treated us with such class and dignity. If we hold a meeting in San Antonio again, it will definitely be here! Thank you, Barbara and staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzie65, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to leave this feedback. We closely monitor all feedback from our guests as this allows us to continuously improve our service and facilities.

We are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations and we sincerely look forward to having you as our guest again.

Thank you again so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

this hotel is on the river just minutes away from the famous downtown riverwalk. we arrived and asked if we could get a room on the river side, they did better than that! we got a room on the river side, top floor with a balcony!!! usually thirty dollars for upgrade, we got for free. breakfast was good but not great due to the powdered eggs instead of real eggs. they offered sausage,fruit, cereal, toast/english muffins, juices and milk. the beds and pillows are great, very comfortable.

Room Tip: pretty good place to stay, not too close to riverwalk area so there is not alot of noise, pretty qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MystikalRiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#18 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Property: Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing