We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location with free parking and good breakfast each morning” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #34 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great location with free parking and good breakfast each morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on a recent weekday trip shortly after Easter 2013. It was clean and the staff welcoming, helpful and friendly.

With our preference to stay on the 1st floor of the hotel,no "regular" king size rooms were available and we elected to take a handicapped accessible room when it was offered. While this meets the criteria for accommodating a bathroom for a wheelchair, we must've been ignorant in attempting to not have water from our shower run all over the bathroom floor with no hook or nearby toilet seat to place our towels on after we were finished. When my husband's pajamas got all wet from being on the bathroom floor, the hotel staff were very helpful in drying them for us at no charge.

The location is superb with an easy 1/4 - 1/2 mile walk to all the local sights; the Alamo, the Riverwalk, shopping, and an assortment of restaurants including the Station Cafe next door (a great place for unique sandwiches).

The breakfast is more than the typical cereal, juice, coffee offerings and they offered 2 different hot breakfast sandwiches each morning. Have the one that's an open-faced ham with smoked gouda cheese on a crossiant. It was delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quinnfuzzymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie P, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post this review. Through this forum, we are able to view our guests feedback to effectively improve on our service and amenities to better serve you.

We are sorry for your experience in the handicapped room that you occupied and hope that you give us a chance to better serve on your next visit to San Antonio.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    348
    135
    40
    26
See reviews for
344
292
30
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We recently stayed here at the Hyatt Place which is only a ten minute walk to all the excitement of the riverwalk! The hotel is very nicely decorated, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was very good. Both hot and cold foods are available and different selections everyday. We stayed on the riverwalk side of the hotel which gave us a nice view. The staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was great too. I would definitely recommend this hotel and location which is not only on the Riverwalk but close to the Alamo, The Hemisfair, shopping, and more.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor on the riverwalk side to enjoy a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel we were happily greeted by staff, they checked us in and informed us our room was not ready; which was fine as we were quite early. They gave us a short tour of the hotel and the different areas and told us we could walk around the river walk until our room was available which we readily did.

We left out of the back door and it opened directly onto the river walk. We were not directly in the "middle" of the busy part of the river walk but I was quite fine with that as it was just a short beautiful and leisurely walk to get there. Close to the Alamo, a Huge Mall, Restaurants and many other attractions but out of the way and super quiet.

After returning our room was ready and again the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we entered our room and were not disappointed it was exactly as the pictures showed it... beautiful. The beds were comfortable, the room was neat and clean and the mini fridge came it quite handy with cooling our drinks for the upcoming days at local parks.

My kids wanted to go swimming in the pool which I was happy to learn was open (as it was just the beginning of spring) and was especially happy when the staff informed me it was a HEATED pool outside.... wow!

Also the free breakfast every morning was AWESOME!!! The area is set up just like a kitchen with plates, glasses, etc. There were several choices each morning with fresh fruit, cereal, toast, bagels, eggs and several juices, milk or coffee. It was great knowing we would always have a nice breakfast to start our day.

The ONLY thing that I have to say that was not pleasing was every day that we came back to the room someone had changed the air conditioning setting to 60 degrees. Now maybe in the hot summer times this would be awesome but this was just the beginning of spring and it was still in the 40's and 50's at night so it was QUITE chilly when we got into the room. Having to turn it down and wait awhile before it warmed up. But this was very small and not that big of a deal really.

Room Tip: Request a higher room and if you can get a river view it was quite nice in the evening to look out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapestrys30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This property is an easy 10-15 minute walk to wherever you might want to go on the Riverwalk. It is right on the San Antonio River, just down a bit from the main part of the Riverwalk--which is actually nice if you enjoy being away from the noise and general hub-bub. You can go out the back door and right down to the river for a nice (and safe) stroll to the main part of the Riverwalk.

It is far more economical than the hotels in the heart of the Riverwalk, especially when you take into account that it offers free parking, free breakfast, and free WiFi.

The staff is friendly and well-trained. There was a discrepancy in the room rate and the "gallery hostess" (as the front desk worker is called at Hyatt Place) credited $10 to my stay even though it turned out that the mistake was mine. I appreciated the gesture.

The only reason this property did not receive 5 stars is the A/C unit. Instead of a thermostat being on the wall--like other Hyatt Place properties where I've stayed--you control the A/C on the unit itself. You have 3 A/C options to choose from: High Cool, Low Cool, and Off (like a motel A/C unit). That is, you can't specify the ideal room temperature; you have the A/C on all the time or off all time. It doesn't automatically turn on/off once the desired room temp has been reached.

We were way too stuffy and hot with the A/C off, but I had to sleep in my jeans with the A/C on because the room simply became too cold with it on (I did not bring pajama pants, as I usually sleep in shorts).

In any event, while the A/C issue made it difficult to sleep comfortably, the property is overall more than adequate for business travelers and families who want to stay in the Riverwalk area but don't want to break the bank doing so. FYI, there is an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank braziliansoccerstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
308 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We picked the Hyatt Place for a "get-away" stay, based on very good reviews here, and also because it was at least $100 per night less -- then counting free parking (convenient lot out front), and the free buffet breakfast... that's another $35 in savings. We liked that it was on the "edge" of downtown, but that it still had the scenic San Antonio River right beyond the back doors. That's a nice place to sit and unwind.
We wished we had asked for a room with a river view... we'll do so next time, because we would definitely stay here again. We walked to the Riverwalk in about 10 minutes, just by heading N. on St Mary's, and felt very safe. The staff was very friendly and seemed to enjoy working there (I talked to one lady who had been there 14 years, including previous years when it was owned by another hotel). The Hyatt Place had all the "nice touches" we experienced at the Hyatt Place in Honolulu, which included very comfortable bed, a large shower, and a quiet a/c unit. The bathroom was a little "tight" for space, but the living/bed room was larger than we expected and very nicely decorated.
We enjoyed a light breakfast there; they had half bagels with poached egg & tomato, and thin ham as the "main" hot dish, cereals, cottage cheese, yogurt, fruit, and other standard items -- great coffee, too. Hyatt Place has become one of our favorite hotel properties since we like saving money but still being in a more "upscale" hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
887 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The setting: this hotel is on the river, so it is true to its name, the Riverwalk, but this isn't the lively beautiful part. You are fifteen minutes by foot from the actual Riverwalk that you see in the ubiquitous photos of San Antonio, and also fifteen minutes by foot from the convention center. The short walk is worth the hundred plus dollars per night you will be saving by not staying on the ritzy part of the Riverwalk. I recall reading that this is a property that the Hyatt chain took over from a previous owner; you'd never guess that from the appearance of the lobby and public areas, they are to a tee as every original Hyatt Place. You get good value here, free breakfast, sizable rooms, a gym. What you also get is a very serene part of the Riverwalk; the back if this property faces the river and has benches where you can sit for a while and relax.

The rooms: The rooms are typical of Hyatt Place, a living area and a bedroom, although divided by a partial wall, so it's still one larger sized space. My room was handicap accessible, although I didn't need it to be. The bathroom in my room was larger because of the accessibility, this made the living space smaller. The space between the couch and the television was too narrow for the ubiquitous Hyatt Place ottoman/coffee table. The two features that did make me realize that this is not an original Hyatt Place property were the lack of a desk in the room and that the room opened onto the bedroom space, instead of the living space, making the room feel very awkward. Usually, the rooms open to the living space and the bed is by the window. There was a large flat screen television in the room, placed opposite the couch, not the bed, and its rotation radius was limited, making watching television from the bed uncomfortable, as the screen was partially obstructed. Also,in case you haven't stayed at this chain before, Hyatt Place hotels do not offer safes in the room, which is a major flaw that I hope the Hyatt chain will remedy. Lastly, the shower head in my room was hung too low and at a very acute angle, coupled with the low water pressure/water saving shower head, making showering frustrating. This is usually not the case at original Hyatt Places.

The food: I tried the 24/7 menu the night I arrived as it was late and I was hungry. Although the menu looks appetizing, the food tasted like microwaveable frozen food, although the dessert was tasty. The breakfast buffet at Hyatt Places is decent in terms of variety of options, but just like their 24/7 menu, the food is edible but not tasty. Although, a free breakfast is always a welcome perk.

All in all, this property is a good option for a brief stay near the Riverwalk. The hotel honors GSA rates, if you are bound by GSA travel guidelines. I thought this was a major plus, as GSA rates are significantly lower than even the advance purchase (non-refundable) rates at this property. The hotel staff is friendly and very accommodating, and unlike some other Hyatt Places I have stayed at, the staff here wears uniforms and name tags, which, for me, was a welcome sense of professionalism. I find that Hyatt Place hotels offer incredible value for my travel dollar and this property was no different. The one regret I have is not having booked a river view room, which comes with a balcony and a much nicer view than the sprawling parking lot which fronts the hotel. Other than that, I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palacios, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My family and I just returned from San Antonio and we stayed two nights at the Hyatt Place Riverwalk in San Antonio. The staff was very courteous and friendly and made us feel welcome. Check in was quick, granted we were there during the week, but it was a busy place regardless. About the bird poop, no offense to "Gerald" but there are many places to park your vehicle to avoid being a target. But while on the subject of birds, my one complaint is that every bird must make its home in the trees located at this Hyatt. Our room was not a riverwalk view, but one with a beautiful view of the city. All was fine until evening came and the damn birds talked amongst each other through the night. I was grateful to not own a bb gun or else I would have shot them all. Everyone is correct in the walking distance from the Hyatt to the main Riverwalk. Only if you have little children, this can be a problem. Not only are our daughters too little to make this venture, at night in this part of town would not be the safest. The breakfast buffet was outstanding as was the area provided to eat in. Our room was very spacious, which is why the tiny bathroom seems so out of place. People are not exaggerating about the size. Overall, a great hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Riverwalk to avoid the bird chatter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#18 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,787 reviews
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Property: Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing