We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and very comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #35 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed in a room with double beds and received so much included for free such as parking, breakfast, a pull-out sofa bed in a generous sitting area, a big tv, and great customer service that helped even with directions. The bathroom was just a little small, but it was clean. I chose a riverview room with a balcony, and the view was beautiful. The first floor has easy access to the walkway along the riverwalk. The shops and restaurants are farther up though, but I liked the quiet after spending all day sightseeing. It was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    348
    135
    40
    26
See reviews for
344
292
30
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel. A huge perk is the free parking (there's nothing more annoying than paying a lot of money for a hotel on the riverwalk, and then having to pay extra for parking). The hotel is about a 10 minute walk along the river (the backdoor opens right out to the river) to the main touristy section of the riverwalk, or I think you can walk the streets to get there a little faster. We don't mind walking at all, so this was a perfect location to be close to the action but far enough away to have quiet time and free parking. The breakfast was free, and actually good. The staff was very courteous. The reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is that my room smelled funny (not intolerable...) from the a/c. Also, the bathroom was tiny...I'm pretty sure the door hit against the toilet a little bit every time I closed it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I liked this Hyatt in the way that I usually like Hyatts, they are very consistently pleasant, but I have to comment on how friendly Tim was at reception. I came in at 2:30 am due to a delayed flight, and there was Tim, ready and willing to do anything he could in order to help me get settled in, and greeting me by name. I was only there a few hours, but that really impressed me. Also, the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leylacheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We made a last minute trip to San Antonio and in wanting to get some Hyatt points, booked this hotel. Having stayed at Hyatt Places recently, we knew of the upgrades the chain has done. the room was just as expected and comfortable. The misnomer is that you are "Close" to the riverwalk (about 2 blocks) but it is a safe walk to get there.

Room Tip: If you get an upper floor (5,6,7) you have some great views. the rooms on the back side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aggieguy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from Friday night to Sunday morning. We arrived very late, and since parking was free, which was a huge plus in the Riverwalk area, it was a little difficult to get a space. We checked in and got our parking passes. There was a security guard checking the cars to see if they had passes which was good because there really was not enough space for all the cars since the hotel was fully booked. We got to our room, and it was a handicapped accesible room, meaning lower closet bars, special showers, and it was even a smaller space than your usual Hyatt Place room. The main drawback was there was no refrigerator. We needed one because of the milk for the kids so we asked for one at the front desk, and they immediately brought one and set it up in our room. The room was comfortable, but we really were not satisfied with the space so the next morning we asked for another room. Like I said earlier, the hotel was fully booked that Friday night, but they did have some checkouts on Saturday, so they asked us to pack our things so that we can move to another room when it's ready. We were going out that day so we packed all of things on the bellhop cart, and when we returned they brought all of our things to our new room which was bigger and more comfortable. The staff really tried to make our stay pleasant. The breakfast was delicious and free. It did rain really hard that weekend, and there were some leaks on the lobby's ceilings, but the staff handled it well. Location was great with an access to the Riverwalk right behind the hotel. Price was awesome compared to other hotels in the same area. I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmbperdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

New hotel, very nice, good breakfast, just a ten minute walk to the popular part of the riverwalk. Bathroom is very small but there is a seperate dressing area. We will stay here again and I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlbydb1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've stayed at many hotels on the Riverwalk over the years and gave the Hyatt Place a first-time chance on a last minute whim to take a 3 day trip to San Antonio. Dollar-for-dollar, this is the best choice we've ever made for downtown San Antonio accommodations. On the river and just 3 blocks from the Riverwalk, the balconied rooms on the river side are fantastic and the combination park-like and downtown views are fabulous. We had a King Suite reserved, but when we realized that King Suites with a river view did not have the balcony, the front desk were more than happy to move us us to a two-double with a balcony. We has a corner 03 unit, but even larger river view balconies can be had in the 09 and 15 rooms. The rooms are quite large, well appointed and the sofa in the sitting room is great, but it comes in part at the expense of a very small bathroom.

Every time we passed through the lobby or I was standing around looking confused as my wife often says I am, a Hyatt Place staff member would ask how our stay was going or how they can help. Everyone, from the breakfast folks to the housekeeping staff was very friendly, and attentive, and genuinely eager to help.

And the breakfasts were far from the cookie cutter variety you'll find at similarly classed hotels. Each day there was a healthy diversity of choices, including a delicious rotation of hot selections and items were always quickly restocked when depleted. Pool is relatively small, but functional. Free parking being so close to the Riverwalk is a huge plus (saving you up to $20+ a night), and you can easily walk to the Riverwalk, Tower of The Americas, El Mercado, and the Alamo (we walked to the Alamo with our six and nine year old).

A great stay and we'll definitely return!

Room Tip: Get the two doubles with the river view. 09 and 15 rooms have larger balconies, though corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeRSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#18 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Property: Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing