We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Ranked #38 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from Friday night to Sunday morning. We arrived very late, and since parking was free, which was a huge plus in the Riverwalk area, it was a little difficult to get a space. We checked in and got our parking passes. There was a security guard checking the cars to see if they had passes which was good because there really was not enough space for all the cars since the hotel was fully booked. We got to our room, and it was a handicapped accesible room, meaning lower closet bars, special showers, and it was even a smaller space than your usual Hyatt Place room. The main drawback was there was no refrigerator. We needed one because of the milk for the kids so we asked for one at the front desk, and they immediately brought one and set it up in our room. The room was comfortable, but we really were not satisfied with the space so the next morning we asked for another room. Like I said earlier, the hotel was fully booked that Friday night, but they did have some checkouts on Saturday, so they asked us to pack our things so that we can move to another room when it's ready. We were going out that day so we packed all of things on the bellhop cart, and when we returned they brought all of our things to our new room which was bigger and more comfortable. The staff really tried to make our stay pleasant. The breakfast was delicious and free. It did rain really hard that weekend, and there were some leaks on the lobby's ceilings, but the staff handled it well. Location was great with an access to the Riverwalk right behind the hotel. Price was awesome compared to other hotels in the same area. I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmbperdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

New hotel, very nice, good breakfast, just a ten minute walk to the popular part of the riverwalk. Bathroom is very small but there is a seperate dressing area. We will stay here again and I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlbydb1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've stayed at many hotels on the Riverwalk over the years and gave the Hyatt Place a first-time chance on a last minute whim to take a 3 day trip to San Antonio. Dollar-for-dollar, this is the best choice we've ever made for downtown San Antonio accommodations. On the river and just 3 blocks from the Riverwalk, the balconied rooms on the river side are fantastic and the combination park-like and downtown views are fabulous. We had a King Suite reserved, but when we realized that King Suites with a river view did not have the balcony, the front desk were more than happy to move us us to a two-double with a balcony. We has a corner 03 unit, but even larger river view balconies can be had in the 09 and 15 rooms. The rooms are quite large, well appointed and the sofa in the sitting room is great, but it comes in part at the expense of a very small bathroom.

Every time we passed through the lobby or I was standing around looking confused as my wife often says I am, a Hyatt Place staff member would ask how our stay was going or how they can help. Everyone, from the breakfast folks to the housekeeping staff was very friendly, and attentive, and genuinely eager to help.

And the breakfasts were far from the cookie cutter variety you'll find at similarly classed hotels. Each day there was a healthy diversity of choices, including a delicious rotation of hot selections and items were always quickly restocked when depleted. Pool is relatively small, but functional. Free parking being so close to the Riverwalk is a huge plus (saving you up to $20+ a night), and you can easily walk to the Riverwalk, Tower of The Americas, El Mercado, and the Alamo (we walked to the Alamo with our six and nine year old).

A great stay and we'll definitely return!

Room Tip: Get the two doubles with the river view. 09 and 15 rooms have larger balconies, though corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeRSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

It's a clean, comfortable, safe and a friendly place to stay. Nice pool. Beds are top standards in comfort, great for when you have been walking all day in the heat!!! Rooms are fresh and clean and have everything you need. No complaints at all. Breakfast was a big hit with our kids. Well worth it, we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanEdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Great room with free breakfast and free parking. Just 1 block from a trolley stop. I had no problem getting to the city with my kids. The breakfast was excellent as well. I thought it was a great value for the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

John at the front desk was so nice ! Made eye contact, smiled and his first response to a request or question was always yes. I got a deal for $142 a night in a suite. It was large and well arranged and very clean. Any repairs had been done professionally and nothing was rigged to work like some hotels I've stayed in. The back of the hotel is on the riverwalk. Out the front door you take a left and you are one block from the restaurants. This hotel was in a perfect location. We parked the car and only got back in after checking out. A bike rental kiosk was on the same block. I've never enjoyed a trip so much or been so happy with the service and my stay as I was at this hotel. Highly recommended. Will stay here again for sure. Watch other hotels parking fees. This one has free parking and a great breakfast selection !

Room Tip: I checked every hotel in San Antonio before going and this was the best value. Free parking and brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honestreview1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed here for business in mid-July. It was not the hotel I had originally chosen--that would be the Hyatt Regency on the Riverwalk. But for some reason I was put here.Although it is a bit of walk to the touristy part of the Riverwalk (I'd say about 10 minutes), parking is free here and breakfast is also included.

Overall, no complaints. Check-in was a breeze--they even held our bags while went out for lunch (we had arrived prior to the 3pm check-in time). The room was clean and relatively quiet--although the air conditioning unit was a bit loud when it came on). The bed was truly a Hyatt bed---very comfortable and I slept well both nights.

The breakfast was pretty good; I would even say unique because they had good sandwiches but lacked eggs, bacon, etc, which I would have liked as well.

Upon check-out, there was a bit of an attitude from the clerk due to something that we had forgotten to do, but it was still handled quickly and efficiently.

All in all, this was a decent enough place at a good price.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the river side--otherwise trucks and busses will keep you up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamAndPhoebsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,232 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 357 in San Antonio
1,165 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
2,057 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk

Address: 601 South St. Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3432 (Formerly "AmeriSuites San Antonio Riverwalk")
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#76 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $126 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking fee $15.00 per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Amerisuites San Antonio
Amerisuites Riverwalk San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing