We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my Candlewood” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center
Ranked #234 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not my Candlewood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Location hard to find. Staff acted like extra from "Night of the living dead". No smile no friendly "hello". Just check you in. I've been to several Candle wood Suites but this one leaves a lot to be desired. Though just remodeled in Feb, room was nicely completed complete with free dust on the tables and lamps. Room came with a recliner that was just placed at the foot of the bed. It didn't fit in size or with the decor.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Your comments regarding the poor service you received at our hotel are very important to us. We want customers to enjoy staying at Candlewood Suites NW Medical Center, so your report of a less than delightful experience with one of our staff members is a serious concern for us. You deserve only the best service, especially when you visit Candlewood Suites. Thank you for reporting this incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    12
    10
    16
See reviews for
17
13
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our family really enjoyed this hotel during our Summer vacation in San Antonio! The rooms are really nice, modern and clean. The full kitchens were so convenient to cook meals instead of spending lots of money on dinning out. All the employees were extremely friendly and always had a smile on their face. We will definetly be back next year and will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa T, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Billy, Thank you so much for your kind compliments! We are already looking forward to welcoming you back next summer.

Management of Candlewood Suites NW Medical Center San Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for our Worldwide Discipleship Summit! 4-8(WDS 2012)The hotel staff was very friendly, Hope and SJ, really make our kids happy!!! All they wanted to do was go back to the hotel.
The pictures speak for themselves. I will recommend this hotel to all. By the way I am a ihg employee PC Lounge associate.

Room Tip: A room over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa T, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dinah,

Your personalized letter to our staff that we received in the mail, was indeed one of the kindest items we have received to date. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to visit us.

Candlewood Suites NW Medical Center San Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I couldn't believe the look of my car the next morning some of my luggage was missing and hotel didn't show any concern. Will never stay here again!!!!

P.S we'll miss u max

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan77751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Juan77751,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Thank you,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We reserved 3 rooms for 2 nights for a family trip to Fiesta Texas. The rooms were clean, and the kitchen facilities were convenient for having snacks and a quick breakfast for the kids. Pool was well maintained. Michael at the front desk was very helpful. Only one elevator was working during the time we were there, and the ice maker in the refrigerator was not operating. I would stay here again if I needed this location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna_J2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa T, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Donna,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We have received a lot of compliments on our amenities and we love being able to let our future guests be aware of what we have to offer!

Management of Candlewood Suites NW Medical Center San Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Well, I've been here for over a month now. I think the reviews that are bad are for a DIFFERENT Candlewood at a different location. This place is awesome. Bed bugs?? Gimmie a break. Some perks hee include free laundry with front loaders, a 24 hour pantry full of snacks and stuff, free coffee, fitness center and even a propane grill outside. They have different room styles. I've been booking off of Travelocity for a great price. The kitchenette has all the stuff you need including decent pots and pans, toaster, bowls, etc. Even a dishwasher. The bed is super comfy - This is an extended stay so housekeeping doesn't come every single day unless you ask. If you need anything from garbage bags, to dish soap, to fresh towels, the people at the desk will give it to you and are quite nice. If you want to get a really good price for this, let me know and I'll be happy to tell you how I'm doing it. Oh, in February, they are doing a giant renovation. I won't be here for it but according to their signs, it's pretty awesome. Last thing: Cable. They use Dish Network here and so it has cut out once or twice during big storms. No big deal and the internet has never gone out. You get a lot of HBO channels, News Networks but no Comedy Central. This place has been great!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa T, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your honest feedback. We hope to you have you back now that our Renovations are complete so that you can enjoy the beautiful Suites first hand!

Candlewood Suites NW Medical Center San Antonio Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Hotels r nice n clean...but 2nd night our car was broken into and can't file claim with insurance cus signs r posted saying they're not responsible for damages done to cars. How ur car get broken into when they have security driven around???? Its probably them who did it
Owell had nothn important in there! I will nevr stay there again

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Medical Center, TX
Northwest Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center
Northwest Side
Courtyard San Antonio Medical Center
Northwest Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center

Property: Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center
Address: 9350 IH 10 West, San Antonio, TX 78230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Antonio Come and see how we celebrate spring with Fiesta, Fiesta, Fiesta! , a citywide cultural celebration. Aside from being home to the Alamo and the San Antonio Riverwalk, we are also home to the San Antonio Spurs, the Majestic and IMAX Theater, Sea World, Fiesta Texas as well as many institutions of higher education including UTSA and Trinity University. From the moment you enter the Candlewood Suites hotel you will feel right at home. Whether your visit brings you to us for business or pleasure, one night or an extended stay, the Candlewood Suites is ready to serve you. Our rooms are cozy and convenient because we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. It's the ultimate suite for every traveler. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your executive desk with two phone lines and surf the net with our free high speed internet access. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and DVD/VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and book library or work off some stress in our fitness center or our outdoor pool. Our Candlewood Cupboard offers meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices and our complimentary washers and dryers will keep you looking your best. The Candlewood Suites hotel is located on the Northwest side of town near USAA, Lackland Air Force Base, and the Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites - San Antonio NW Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
Candlewood San Antonio
San Antonio Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing