We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy with bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Antonio - Airport
Ranked #243 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dingy with bugs”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We just needed a place for a quick overnight stay near the airport before leaving on an early flight and thought this would fit the bill. I've had good luck with other Homestead locations, but this one was not up to par. We had a non-smoking room that still smelled of smoke, and I literally found 3 insects crawling around different places within the first 5 minutes of check-in. While I would normally ask for a room change, it was very late, so we decided to just settle in. Mistake number 2 on our part, as upon getting ready for bed, a roach crawled out from the sheets when we pulled back the comforter. Everything else looked a little dated, but clean for the most part. We did also speak to Homestead about our experience, and to their credit, we were provided a voucher for a free stay in the future at any property. I appreciate their customer service but would still go someplace else if I needed a place near the San Antonio airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mttx0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    12
    18
    35
See reviews for
17
13
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
san antonio texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Ok, first off, you have to realize you get what you pay for. I booked this hotel because I needed a cheap place to stay. Yes, it was very cheap, but it was very unsatisfactory. I realize I cannot expect luxury, when I'm paying very little, but you have to realize what this place is like - to see if you can put up with the inadequacies. First, I booked a non-smoking room, but when I checked in, they did not have any non-smoking rooms - so I had to get a smoking room. Yes, I realize it is a smoking room, and it would smell of smoke, but the stench was extremely overwhelming. I had to go back to the front desk and ask for deodorizer. I sprayed so much deodorizer in the air, in the carpet, in the furniture, but I could not get rid of the overwhelming stench. I opened the door, I turned on the vent, I burned candles to mask the odor to no avail. There were muddy footprints in the kitchen and bathroom floors, the telephone was grimey, and there were dust caked into all the crevices of the phone. The chair was caked with dust and dirt. The lampshades were stained. Lamp was broken. Sheets reaked of bleach. Luckily, I complained to the staff, and much later in the night, they were able to switch me over to another room. The other room was their "showroom" so of course they put the best of what they had in that room. So, needless to say, everything was much better - but don't be expecting to get the "showroom" if you book a room here...you'll most likely get the experience I got with the first room. The showroom was obviously much better, but still, at most, just met UP to expectations of a hotel room, does not exceed expectations. Overall, with caution, book this hotel if you are looking for something cheap, and if you can put up with all its inadequacies. Buyer beware!

Room Tip: Don't get a smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigglebutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I travel in my career and stay in motels ten months a year. The staff here is very rude and they will double run your credit card. I recommend paying cash and bring some spray bleach disinfectant. The house keeping lacks tremendously and there are insects. I stay here because of the value, and wouldn't recommend it for families traveling.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hili9er1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We have totally two rooms. First we forgot to ask for non-smoking rooms because we arrived in the midnight. Then when we found that the room is too smelly to sleep as we stepped in, we asked for an exchange. The guy told us to wait for half an hour and said they did not have any out of about 158 rooms. The refrigerator was so noisy that we had to unplug it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjcipher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We were with 4 families in town for a convention...Upon checking into our room I could see the floor had not been vacumned. The bathroom was horrible!!! Mold in the shower, we could night get another room til the next day, So I went and bought bathroom cleaner & cleaned our own bathroom. We were afraid to sleep in the sheets because they probably were not clean. All four families had trouble with there rooms not being cleaned...one family turned down a room because it was so filthy and when another family came they tried to give them the same room, without even touching it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kscatsmeowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The room that we got was worse than we could have imagined. The hotel staff already declared there was no other room available when we checked in. The hotel looks nice from the exterior but the room was too bad. The rooms had heavily stained toilets so as to puke at the look of it.
The coffee maker would make 3 cups of coffee for 2 hours or more. The utensils were not washed well enough and the pans would have residue from previous cooking. Housekeeping was so bad that they had not even removed old coffee pods or soaps of previous residents. The rooms would sometimes have smoke from outside because there is no proper designated smoking areas and everyone was smoking right in front of our room. The room was too cramped for the amount of furniture. Soap quality was bad. The AC thermostat had the Service needed sign on making us wonder if it really worked.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhumnaPhirna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was a great hotel. The rooms were spacious and it was a nice location. The staff was helpful and gave recommendations and directions for things to do on the riverwalk. They have complimentary happy hour and appetizers in the evening and complimentary breakfast during the week. We never made it up for breakfast but the happy hour was nice. My only complaint is the fee for parking but apparently most of the hotels charge for parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far North Central
Comfort Suites Airport North
Comfort Suites Airport North
#227 of 355 in San Antonio
73 reviews
Northeast San Antonio
Studio 6 San Antonio - Airport
Studio 6 San Antonio - Airport
#278 of 355 in San Antonio
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far North Central
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Airport North
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio ...
#167 of 355 in San Antonio
61 reviews
Far North Central
Days Inn Suites San Antonio North/Stone Oak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Antonio - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Antonio - Airport

Property: Extended Stay America - San Antonio - Airport
Address: 1015 Central Pkwy S, San Antonio, TX 78232-5022 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - San Antonio - Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Antonio - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Antonio - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing