We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Riverside Suites
Ranked #182 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The location is unbeatable and our room (2 bedroom deluxe) was perfect for our family of 5. We had a great view of the River Walk and were only a 5 minute walk from The Alamo. The only drawback was that there is no pool so my kids were a bit disappointed (Splashtown was only a 5 min drive away :)). All in all a really cool old feeling property with nice up to date rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on top of resort. Ours was two floors, had a hot tub on the roof, and was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zivot39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Manager at Wyndham Riverside Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your comment about Riverside Suites. We love to hear the positive feedback from our guests about our historic resort. I do apologize that we don't have a pool and are looking into options for our guests to have while staying with us. Again, thank you for your comment as it helps us improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    42
    23
    26
    18
See reviews for
54
59
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

this resort is very nice with an ideal spot for downtown walking as well as we had a room with view of the river walk (that was simply breath taking). rooms were very clean as well as all public areas. staff was very accommodating to any request. but, there is no parking, we got a discount at the parking lot at the end of block which was not too bad except one day we drove around abt 40 min waiting for a spot entry person said nothing he could do abt that?? the resort is withi walking of Alamo, of course river walk, ripleys, and enough to keep a family occupied for a while. but you must have money everything with exception to the Alamo wants donation but free, cost money. wifi did not work the entire time, but it was suppose to...free

Room Tip: as for view of riverwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Manager at Wyndham Riverside Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback with your recent stay with us. We love to hear great stories about our wonderful historic resort and staff. I am sorry you had internet issues while staying with us. Again, thank you for the feedback as it helps us focus on what we can work on.

Thank you,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I am a Wyndham (timeshare) owner. As a Wyndham owner, my experience has been nothing but positive, that is, until my visit to Wyndham Riverside. Arrival/check-in was okay. Jeremy (concierge) is a very friendly, welcoming, articulate, extroverted young man. Great location, right on The Riverwalk, but the unit is small. The bedroom was extremely small and not the easiest to navigate. The switch to the lights next to the bed was on the wall. One has to get out of bed, walk to the bedroom entrance to turn the switch off/on. I had WiFi the first day. The next morning I couldn't get online. Called the front desk and was told they were aware of the problem. Staff actually seemed quite indifferent. Called again later that evening. Couldn't offer any details as to when the issue would be resolved and didn't seem at all concerned. Three days later, when we checked out, we still didn't have WiFi. Check-out was TERRIBLE and quite stressful. There was no one to assist with baggage, so we were left to get our luggage out of unit, use the ONE (only ONE elevator for entire resort) very busy elevator, store luggage in a very small ground floor entrance until we walked one block to retrieve our car from the city parking garage. By the way, the loading/unloading area (15 minutes) can be a real circus. There were any number of unhappy guests at check-out. Again, as a Wyndham Vacation owner, this experience (negative) was a first for me. I will definitely not be returning to Wyndham Riverside Suites, San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Calvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Manager at Wyndham Riverside Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Calvin,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback as it gives us the information on the areas of concern. I do apologize for the size of the unit. When staying in an Avenue Collection resort, the rooms do run smaller than a campus style resort. I understand that we had internet issues while staying with us and did contact AT&T to correct the issue. Parking can sometimes be difficult at a downtown location and apologize for that. Thank you again for your feed back as it will continue to improve our level of customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great place to stay on vacation, walking distance for all the great attractions, like the Alamo, restaurants, horse drawn carriage ride. Boat tours, please try the Rain Forest Cafe.Great balcony view, lots of beautiful trees along the river and ducks to see. Close to the Tower of the America's. Close to a hospital if needed. Clean place, excellent service. Only dislike was a washer/ dryer combination, meaning one appliance does both. didn't dry clothes. Great souvenir shops, night clubs for adults. Always something to do.40 minutes from Shlitterbahns.

Room Tip: 3 or 4th floor balcony facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carla b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Manager at Wyndham Riverside Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize that you had a bad experience with our washer extractor. With being an historic building, we cannot vent a true dryer to the outside of the building. I noticed in your review that you received excellent service while staying with us. We strive to provide that level of service to each of our guests at every stay. Again, thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The staff at Riverside Suites at San Antonio should be commended for the attention and help they offered. They made for such a nice vacation. Location was great and close to all. Great selection of restaurants at the Riverwalk too. Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiestaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Manager at Wyndham Riverside Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi Susiestaten!

Thank you for your response. It truly means a lot when we get great reviews. We strive to deliver exception customer service to all of our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed your vacation. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The location of Riverside Suites could not be better. That is where our satisfaction ends. Checking in is a hassle. You have to park in a no parking zone, get past a security desk on the first floor then go to the second floor to register. I stayed with the car to ensure I did not get ticketed, my wife went to check in. The clerk, Janice, would not let her check in as my name was on the reservation. Mind you we were using our Wyndham points at this Wyndham resort. The clerk was extremely rude to her. The parking is a half block away and you need a card to access the lot (no valet parking). The clerk would not give her the card without my ID. She came and got it but the clerk did not want to give it to her. David a bellman interceded and brought the card and I was able to park.

The two bedroom unit we had was small but adequate. A historical building with building restrictions. However, the entry door is made of metal and is not plumb. You have to push hard with your shoulder to open it. Parts of the room are unpainted, one bedroom door does not close properly, the is no shelf in the shower for toiletries. There is one light switch in each bedroom. Lights over the bed are controlled by the one switch. There is a flashlight next to the bed for your use.

Our cable was fuzzy. Called the first day and maintenance said the cable company would have to be called. Five days into the stay the picture started to scramble. I called the front desk, the girls response was "What do you want me to do?". I asked her to follow up with maintenance.

When we asked about maid service was told there would be a charge for room cleaning. They brought new towels twice and bedding once. Went two days without garbage being emptied.

We are seasoned travelers but have not encountered anything like this in years. If it was not for the location and our companion who has difficulty walking, we would have moved accommodations.

Green Features: There was only a garbage receptacle. No recycling in rooms.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eureka24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Manager at Wyndham Riverside Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Eureka24!

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with how the parking is at this property. We know you had cabling issues while you were here and we apologize for that. We also apologize for your garbage not being taken out for a couple of days. We will address these concerns so this is not an issue for future guests. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home while staying with us and your feedback will help us to do so. Again, thank you for taking the time to fill out a response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

hotel parking is in a city garage. Entrance is on a street used as an alley for delivery trucks so parking to unload your luggage is on a small space available 15 minute time allowance. There is no Bellhop, so you have to run in to get your own luggage cart if there is one available. They only have 5. Then after getting your luggage in the door you have to proceed to the 2nd floor to check in. Check in was extremely slow the Fri. eve we checked in as several owners did not give there guests who would use their condo a guest pass as is required by Wyndham. Then we found out that our room was not ready. Check in time was 4pm. we arrived at 4:15. We were finally able to get into our room at 5:10. We were unable to get a luggage cart when we arrived, so had to move our car to the garage with our luggage in it. When a luggage cart became available we had to push it to the garage to retrieve our luggage and push our luggage to the hotel. They have 3 sales gentlemen on the first floor. None of them offered us any assistance. This hotel is more concerned with selling Wyndham points for vacation timeshares then taking care of there guests. Very disappointing. Staff did listen to our complaints and tried to help us resolve our issues.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Manager at Wyndham Riverside Suites, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
I apologize for your delay at check-in. I know after a long day of traveling the last thing you want to do is wait to get into your room. We will be making some changes to ensure our guests are checked into their units on time. I also know that with our parking garage a half a block away it can be challenging getting your luggage into the property. With your feedback we can continue to enhance the guest experience. Thank you for guiding us on what needs improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Riverwalk Vista
Riverwalk Vista
#26 of 355 in San Antonio
504 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 355 in San Antonio
2,949 reviews
Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk
#53 of 355 in San Antonio
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Riverside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Riverside Suites

Property: Wyndham Riverside Suites
Address: 218 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Riverside Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Riverside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing