We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have any standards at all, DON'T stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square
Ranked #271 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Hastings, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you have any standards at all, DON'T stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

My girlfriend and i stayed here for one night, it was supposed to be two. If we could have gotten out of the one we would have, however, because we went in the room for more than ten minutes, we could not get a refund. Horrible doesn't begin to describe it. The room they gave us initially was on the back side of the motel- scary. We discovered it is a block away from a large homeless shelter and the jail. Lots of scary people walking around. Desk clerk said it wasn't safe to walk around in the evening. Room was sterile and questionable on cleanliness. Worst, most depressing stay i have ever had in a motel. Never again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    20
    19
    21
See reviews for
29
18
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Yes, we know..it's Motel6 and you shouldn't expect much. A hospital bedroom has more charm than the room we had in this motel 2 ( king size bed, 2nd floor, no - smoking) . One of the new rooms motel 6 is advertising and it was big...with no furniture in it and the bed tucked in the corner. A ball room dance floor is small in comparison. The neighborhood was somewhat ok, a MacD next door attracting some interesting characters...many Mexicans looking for illegal day work in the morning.
Honestly Motel6 made a bad choice with the new room design they are now promoting...never again !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

First of all the service from the clerks was good, but please the room had an bad odor... like hot monkey, if you want to save money fair enough, but in my opinion put some extra bucks on the budget and move one to another place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el paso
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

It started off with us driving up to our motel with bums all over the place. Our motel door wouldn't open would get jammed. After we unpacked we were getting ready then our power shut off took 20 min to turn back on. No iron or dresser in room or fridge. No privacy door to restroom door is not a door it is a closet. Our shower head felt like needles on my body. THEN tried to sleep at night people arguing outside and being loud lady shouting to let her in annoying. You were also able to hear our neighbors tv on the whole night then the otherside of our room scratching on the walls. When we woke up in the morning we open our door first thing that happens is a bum asking for money. Was so bad we checked out a day early. Would never stay again Motel 6 shouldn't leave the light on for no-one

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teggy2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

People partying in the parking lot all night. Homeless panhandlers asking for money right outside the room. Drunks hanging off the upstairs rails. Prpstutes working on the property. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riprincejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear riprincejr,

We apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience they caused you. Please contact our Guest Relations department so we will have a record of your experience to better address these issues and improve your experience with us in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipley, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I paid $100 for this room, and was pleasantly surprised. I thought I was just paying for location (as it is only 5-6 blocks away from the Riverwalk), but the room was actually very nice. I booked the double queen, and the bed was very comfortable. The room was decorated in a modern fashion, and was light years ahead of the Super 8 I stayed in last time I was in San Antonio. If you are looking for luxury, this is not your place. If you are looking for a nicely decorated place to rest your head and save money for going out on the Riverwalk, then look no further.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

What can I say - would I stay here again - Maybe if there was NOTHING else available in the downtown area. I did take pictures but I noticed that the same pictures were already posted. We only stayed one night and I am glad it was not any longer. The room is large but it basically has nothing in it- we had a king bed on round metal legs (maybe 8" high) that sat on a not so attractive vinyl floor. There was a large area next to the bed by the window that could have fit another king bed in there but there was nothing there not even a chair a table a couch - absolutely nothing but a big bare floor. In the other corner of the room was a chair with a very small table connected to a one seat booth where you would have to sit to watch tv. The tv was attached to the wall in a black box across from the bed. There was not a picture on the wall nothing at all inviting. There were no amenities not even kleenex. The towels were rolled up in a holder on the vanity. Bath towels were very small and did not even absorb the water after showering. I noticed that the bed sheets were very wrinkled hopefully they were replaced before we came in. I felt like I was in an institution of some sort. Not a very comfortable experience to stay in this room. There is no lobby just a desk when you walk in with not even a water, coffee or mint for the guests. Very basic - very plain - but ok for one night I guess. I just remembered on the bathroom vanity they did have two small plastic cups each wrapped in cellophane. In most hotels when you pull the cellophane out of the cup it is sealed and you rip it open to use it. In this case when I pulled the cellophane out of the cups it was already opened and just stuck in there. Really!! I did not use I had my own.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Vegasgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Owner at Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Vegasgram,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square

Property: Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square
Address: 211 N Pecos La Trinidad, San Antonio, TX 78207-3170
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square is within 2 miles of the famous Riverwalk, the Alamo, U.T. San Antonio, Alamo Dome, and much more. All rooms have a modern new look. Wi-Fi available for $2.99 per 24 hours. Outdoor pool open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 San Antonio Downtown - Market Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing