We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, but not ideal location for us.”
Review of Wyndham La Cascada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham La Cascada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely room, but not ideal location for us.”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed in one of the 4 bedroom Presidential units on the top floor for 3 nights. The unit itself was beautiful and roomy for the 7 of us staying there and the 2 staying in a 2 bedroom deluxe elsewhere in the hotel. The kitchen/dining/living area was all very upscale and great for socializing. We had a balcony as well.

It was a Ladies Weekend, so we spent a ton of time in the salt water pool and hot tub - we could see it from our balcony. However, while the hotel was close to the Riverwalk, it was actually located around the court house area where a lot of businesses/food establishments did not remain open on the weekend or later in the evening. Having a car would have been helpful, but was something we were trying to avoid. I think we would have appreciated some more amenities close by as one would expect of a resort type property.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YankeeDaneFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    93
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
92
102
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Don't stay here unless you enjoy dumpsters being emptied at 4:30 am for about 10 minutes. Otherwise a great place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank haymaker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Reading many reviews before our 1 week stay made us worry...but reality was far better then expected. My family of 4 stayed 4 days in a 2 room Presidential Suites and 2 nights in a 2 room DELUXE. We arrived around midnight and the staff was quick and helpful. We did doublecheck everything before getting to bed following many readers advices! Everything worked out OK...
NEGATIVES: You need a car to make a real grocery. Train does noise all night...don't know what it is with train in San Antonio...but the railroad is a few miles away but you can still hear it! If your unit faces the alley side, YES, we did hear the garbage truck at 4:44 AM one out of 2 nights. PRESIDENTIAL SUITE was about the size of a DELUXE we had in ORLANDO last year so don't expect TOO MUCH !
POSITIVES: We found location to be well located, 1.5 miles from the real and "busy" boardwalk...you can walk 15 minutes, take the Shuttle offered by the hotel or take a cab from any restaurant for about 6$. We rented a car for 2 days and I was able to park FREE in front of the Hotel, on DWYER, between 20:00 and 6:00 AM...many parking areas in the neighbourhood for less than 15$. POOL and SPA on the 6th floor was a must every day around 5:00! INTERNET area (2) was available most of the time I had to go. FREE coffee in the hallway every morning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The staff has ben exceptional, we were driving in from the airport and felt like we were not going in the correct direction, so we called the resort and the desk clerk talked us to the resort entrance. We had groceries and our luggage, the valet were there to load and unload for us. The room is large, full kitchen and laundry, jacuzzi, all clean and in order. If I had too "search" for simething that needed improving, it would be the couch! One other item that would make the living room "homey" would be re recliners! We would highly recommend this rresort and the staff.

Jack & Sharon

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

There are a few things here! Staff, not so friendly! The only ones you can get any service from is the account managers, and you really can do without that! They make it sound great, and really force you into seeing them, and never get back with you when you asked them to! Location is kinda on river walk, but gotta go through alot of rubbage areas to get to the actuall frontage! Pool closes at 11:00, not for safty, not sure why, there is no life guard! There was quite a hard time getting hot water in the shower, let the water run for 20 min, then all good! Parking, get ready to pay $15 a day, plus a tip, after your car shows up 15-20 min later! The front desk, better off talking to a wall, will get more and better answers! Fans really were not functional in the rooms, tub did not drain, I can go on and on! Do not plan on any type of grocery store close, but the store down stairs was sooooo over priced, and the guy there was sooo pleasent (he was so rude)! San Antonio was a great time, but the hotel was a little iffie!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1budweiser4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The staff was not friendly. The only thing they new how to say was "Welcome Back". You ask for hints on getting around, well my advise to you is...RENT A CAR. Parking cost is outragous and I don't think you should tip the guys who get your car. You're being forced to pay for parking and the guys are rude!!! Getting answers from any of them is like pulling teeth! Oh and they floors in the rooms are flithy!!!! After your shower, wear shoes!!! You're feet will be black if you dont. The staff needs to take a customer service class or five!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Budlightgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, TX
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My wife and I were given three days by a friend that owns Wydham Time Share properties. We arrived earlier than the posted check-in so the front desk went ahead and did the paperwork, took down my cell phone and said they would call as soon as our room was ready. We decided to go ahead and go down to the Riverwalk for a refreshing beverage while we waited. At 4:00, we got our call and headed back to the resort.

Our room was ready and there were no problems with cleanliness, repairs, etc. Everything was as it should be.

Over the next couple of days we took advantage of the pool mostly - when we weren't out and about. It's very nice with plenty of chairs and loungers. It's nice that it's up on the 6th floor - there's always a nice breeze.

We also stopped into the small grocery/deli that is attached to the resort. Small selection, but just the things we needed - chips, drinks, salsa, and wine.

We walked down the street a couple of blocks towards downtown two mornings for breakfast. There are a couple of good Mexican food restaurants that are open for breakfast - simple menu and the prices are very reasonable. There was also a food stand in the park that was open one morning - didn't eat there, but noticed others that were. The park is beautiful and the old Catholic church is nice to tour.

We really liked the La Cascada - the staff was always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingAggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,179 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,057 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 357 in San Antonio
3,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 357 in San Antonio
3,017 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham La Cascada

Property: Wyndham La Cascada
Address: 226 Dwyer Ave, San Antonio, TX 78204-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham La Cascada 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham La Cascada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham La Cascada Hotel San Antonio
Wyndham San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing