We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better of the 2 Wyndham's available?”
Review of Wyndham La Cascada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham La Cascada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Better of the 2 Wyndham's available?”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed in a 1 Bedroom deluxe for 2 nights. This is the smallest unit available but it had plenty of room for 2 people. The units are well equipped with full kitchen appliances, pots, pans, cookware, plates.... There is a small basket with a welcome packet of popcorn, and some coffee for you to enjoy.

The location is not bad. It is along the river and the river walk is just outside the hotel,but not the entertainment part of the river walk. That is just a few blocks away (8-10 minute walk). The other Wyndham (riverside suites) is adjacent to the river walk in the heart of the entertainment part. You can save the walk and take the shuttle offered which runs about twice an hour up to 4:45 pm. After that, plan on walking. The shuttle will take you to the other wyndham, the mercado (mexican market), and the river city pointe (mall).

The units are roomy as stated by other reviews. Large bathtub, king size bed, sofa and chairs in the living room with a flat screen TV, DVD player, stereo. The washer and dryer were small but we used them for 2 loads (which is how much soap they gave you). The dryers were OK. They did not take that long to dry a load and were quiet enough to run while watching TV or sleeping.

Our unit was an odd numbered unit which meant we faced north. I think this is the preferred side of the building, unless you get the end units which face the river. You get a view of downtown but if you are on the lower floors, there is a building next door which might pose a problem. We too did hear the trash being picked up around 4:00 am but were able to go back to sleep. We did spend some time out on the balcony of the unit. The balconies are small! You can fit 2 people on them with the table and chairs furnished. But your knees are up against the railings of the balcony. Wish they had been a bit larger.

The parking is another problem with this hotel. There is some street side parking which is metered until 6:00 pm. The valet at the hotel costs $15 day with in and out privileges. They responded fairly quickly unless you get there or leave when several other couples are checking in or out. The most you would have to wait is 10 minutes. You can always jump on the computer in the lobby while waiting. There are 2 public computers to use and WIFI throughout the hotel.

The store/deli outside the hotel will allow you to pick up items to cook and eat or just enjoy a deli sandwich. They charge for the convienence but what did you expect? They are open until 8:00 pm you this is handy. So grab some beer or wine, head up to the 6th floor, and relax on the pool deck. You can use the hot tub or pool, see the river and downtown, and relax. Heck, you are on vacation... right?

Overall, as timeshare owners we expect them to try and arrange ownership reviews. We did not take any tours and were only asked once if we wanted a review. Take it or leave it. We did not feel hassled one way or the other.

I would recommend this hotel. A good staff which is responsive to your needs, rooms which are large and like being at home, and fun stuff like pools, hot tubs, pool tables and a small fitness room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank one_lucky_guy-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    92
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
91
102
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kempner, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We loved the rooms, two 2 BR suites, and the location could not have been better. It's about two blocks from the hussle & bussle of the Riverwalk shopping area and well worth the walk for the quiet at night. They have a shuttle that has five stops, I believe, and runs all day or get out those walkin' shoes and see the city. The two BR suites are HUGE and plenty of room for everyone. On the sixth floor there is a large pool, two kiddos pools, a cool off pool and a hotttub...all with a fantastic city view. Also on this floor is an open area for relaxing away from the pool area and an excellent dining area in the evening hours. Easy parking with the valet ($15 a day) and very limited on-street parking. The Wyndham crew is great and they'll help you guide the city like a pro. Just outside the front doors there is a deli, "Hippos", and offers a few items to fill your fridge the first night...little spendy. The Market is a great place to shop and get a great meal with a street vendor. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We had a 2BR, 2BA condo with a king bed in the master, two doubles in the guest room and sofa bed in the living room.

Front desk staff was friendly. After I requested a room with a view they offered # 601 if we could wait about an hour for it to be cleaned. If you are in rooms x01, x03, or x05 on floors 2-5 you will not have a view but will face the wall of the adjacent building. The other (south) side of the building faces the driveway/garden area and the condos next door.

They did try to set up a timeshare presentation, which they tried to disguise as a 15 minute meeting “to fill out a survey” offering a “free gift packet” of discounts plus $25 dining coupon. We declined, kept our phone unplugged and the Do Not Disturb sign on the door so we were not bothered by salespeople.

The master bathroom was en suite with a private toilet room, large 2-person bathtub with bubble jets and a separate shower stall. Guest bath off the kitchen was standard small bathroom with tub/shower combo.

The kitchen had granite counters, full size appliances including dishwasher and a granite bar area with two stools. They provided dish soap, dishwasher soap, a couple of packs of coffee, filters, etc. In a closet off the kitchen area was a stacked washer/dryer with two packs of soap.

Both bedrooms had flat screen TVs. Master closet had a small wall safe, fine for cameras or small items but not for a laptop. The decorating scheme was nice with a Texas/Southwestern flair. We found the bed too soft but other furniture was comfortable. Living room also had a flat screen TV and DVD & CD players. The dining table seated six.

A small balcony with two chairs was off the living room. Our side of the building faced north with great views of downtown but below our balcony was the roof of the building next door with loud AC fans making it unpleasant most of the time to sit outside. Also weekdays at 4 a.m. a garbage truck comes by to empty dumpsters making loud banging noises. After two nights we thought to leave our AC unit fan running all night to provide “white noise” to muffle the disturbance.

The complex had a small workout room, pool table, game tables, free coffee in the lobby all day and 2 public computers. There is free wifi in all units. Swimming pool, 2 hot tubs and sundeck were on the 6th floor rooftop with great views of downtown.

Parking is in an underground garage, valet only, $15 per day (in/out privileges). The front desk readily offered directions to cheaper self-park lots but we didn’t want that hassle. Since this was a timeshare exchange we did not have maid service.

La Cascada has a great location on a quiet part of the River Walk. It is about a 10-minute walk along the river to the King William historic district, or in the other direction to the main part of the River Walk with many restaurants. Also about a 10-minute walk on the street level past the courthouse to Market Square with Tex-Mex restaurants and Mexican souvenir shops. The resort offers a free shuttle around downtown if you don’t want to walk.

There is a small Hippos Grocery on the ground floor of La Cascada for basics but if you have a car I recommend Central Market just north of downtown on Broadway.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank babygoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

Simply put, DO NOT accept the "Welcome" meeting when you arrive. Do not make yourself available for that 30+++ minute appointment. Politely decline and save yourself time and frustration. Some tacky tourist coupons found in any San Antonio visitor's guide and a bag of M&Ms is not worth the rude and highly pressured sales pitches of a GROUP of salesmen fronting as "Account Management Specialists" only meeting with you to discuss your current ownership. Their behavior was poor, considering this was the second day of our FIRST EVER stay as vacation property owners. They certainly didn't waste any time trying to get us to buy more for an additional $25,000! True quote: "90% of our nationwide owners have done it, except for our old and elderly owners that do not like change." Ouch...we are in our mid 20's!

The resort itself is beautiful and in a great location, well maintained, and with helpful and polite staff. Learn from our mistake and just don't give any "Account Specialists" the time of day. Ask for literature on the information instead :-)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SueC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed at the Wyndham La Cascada in August. It's a nice timeshare property located in an area convenient to the Riverwalk. The unit we stayed in was a 1 bedroom with a separate living area and a kitchen. Parking is expensive and is not included in the price of the room. San Antonio is a great city for sightseeing and amusement/ water parks. I would highly recommend this vacation to anyone with small children. Just DON"T go in August. We nearly melted and are used to the heat living in Mississippi.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebelScots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield mo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

When first arriving, the landscape and the overall apearance looked nice. Even the room looked to be nice and clean. But with in 1 hr of our kids playing, their feet were black, not brown, but very black. the floors were discusting. the baseboard were dirty and old looking. the shower head in the bathroom looked to be garage sale material, and surprised did not work well. The toilets did not flush in one of the bathrooms and in one of the other bathrooms the sink did not drain. The dryer did not work properly. The valet made up damages on my ticket to cover themselves if they were to have an accident. When i asked about the made up damages, they said they thought it was damaged. What!! when checking out another guest was complaining about not having A/C and being dirty. Do Not Go!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hubert_jah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We stayed at La Cascada 10/4/07- 10/7/07. We had been camping in National Parks in CA, AZ, NM & TX for 7 days and were ready for civilization, again. This is our last resort stay or our extended 2007 Western Trip. See our last review.

The resort had opened in June 2007 which was both good & bad. Everything was new and sparkling, but some of the staff needed more training. Our 1 BR unit was lovely - a slightly smaller version of most of the Wyndham Resorts - with a Texas Mission theme.

The amenities included a full kitchen; washer/dryer; dining area; living room with TV/DVD/stereo, sofa bed and a balcony; a BR with king bed & TV; a spacious vanity room w/jacuzzi opened off the BR; + a bathroom w/walk-in shower, etc. Unfortunately, the balcony overlooked the mechanical equipment on the roof of the adjacent bldg - VERY NOISY. We did not use the balcony because of the noise. However, we did enjoy the view of the skyline of San Antonio and the lights of the Riverwalk area in the evening from our LR window.

There was no WIFI or internet connection in the condo. We went to the lobby area to use the WIFI to catch up on our email. Wyndham should have better internet service at all of their resorts in this day of the internet. Some of the Wyndham Resorts do have good WIFI service.

The common areas were nice. There is a large game area (w/ pool tables) near the lobby, and an area of sofas & chairs for sitting to use your laptop. There was a small, well-stocked grocery store (Hippo's) on the first floor, adjacent to the lobby. The pool/hot tub area is located on the roof and offers a spectacular view of San Antonio. We went up there several times to visit with other guests and enjoy the view, but we did not use the pool. We spent most of our time exploring San Antonio.

Parking is an issue. The valet parks your vehicle in the adjoining garage - you are required to use the valet service - cannot park yourself (security). There is a parking fee and of course tips. Wyndham addresses the parking rules in their info packs. This is normal in urban areas due to space and security. We just figure the fees into our travel budget.

We did not move our vehicle the entire time we were at La Cascada. La Cascada is located on the far side of the Riverwalk, and there are no other hotels, restaurants, water taxis, etc. nearby. However, the riverwalk path begins at the bottom of the resort patio and continues into the developed Riverwalk area. It is a nice stroll along the river (about 15 minutes) to the action. Wyndham also has a convenient shuttle bus to the attractions.

We took the 30 minute narrated river cruise the first day. It was entertaining and quite informative. It gave us a feel of the Riverwalk area and helped us to get our bearings. Riverwalk has many art shops, souvenir vendors, boutiques, restaurants, and much more - plus the Alamo (emotional & educational) is nearby. Restaurants serve outside on the riverwalk, and there is music and color everywhere. We saw several couples getting married. One young man proposed to his girlfriend and she accepted in front of an old church. Sweet & Fun!!! We enjoyed several delicious meals in the Riverwalk area.

Everyone at La Cascada was friendly and helpful. The check-in/check-out process was fast and friendly. The valet was friendly and eager to help. We did not need maid service or maintenance but they were all very friendly when we met them in the common areas. Our only real complaints with our stay was with the concierge and Member Services (sales). The concierge did not seem to know what her job was or why she was there. The sales people were somewhat aggressive - not as bad as some, but we did leave their meeting, after 3 hours, with a negative feeling.

The resort was brand new when we were there and we felt that the person at the concierge desk had not, yet, been trained. She did not, once, offer any advise or info when we approached her desk. We only discovered the shuttle when we saw it dropping people off in the Riverwalk area the second day.

The 'owners update' is a sales pitch. This is a normal practice at most timeshare resorts, not just Wyndham. We have been timeshare owners for 20+ years and Wyndham owners for 5 years - we know what to expect. We say "no", respectfully, and expect the sales person to respect us - most do, some don't. The La Cascada sales people fell somewhere in the middle.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at La Cascada. It is new, comfortable, friendly and located within easy walking distance or shuttle ride from the attractions of San Antonio and the Riverwalk area. This was a nice "home base" to return to after a long day of sightseeing. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A Couple of Traveling Seniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,010 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,143 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,458 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham La Cascada

Property: Wyndham La Cascada
Address: 226 Dwyer Ave, San Antonio, TX 78204-1005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham La Cascada 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham La Cascada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham La Cascada Hotel San Antonio
Wyndham San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing