We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South
Ranked #47 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
na
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great value and friendly staff”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We just spent one night before an early flight. The hotel is brand new. The rooms are very well laid out. There's privacy between the sitting area and the bedroom. There are 2 tvs and a microwave and small fridge. The decor is modern and the furniture is comfortable.
The staff was excellent. They offered to pick us up after we dropped off our rental car and were waiting for us when we got there.
The pool is indoor and very small- my stepdaughter gave that a thumbs down but she loved everything else. They have a nice lobby bar with $4 highballs and the house liquors were Absolut and Jack Daniels.
I cant comment on breakfast as we left at 430-am .
This is an airport property so the view is crappy but they've done a pretty good job with sound proofing as we didn't hear a thing all night.

Room Tip: We had a corner room. It was very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nisajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    149
    52
    24
    25
See reviews for
241
97
31
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Great Room-----seriously, two flat screens( one at the bed, one in the office...which is in the room). All hook ups for computer, printer, etc.for the geeks. Fridge, coffee maker with ceramic coffee cups, as well as to-gos...Just a serious room for like a buckfifteen(?)---oh , theres more....indoor pool, gym, espresso bar and ....Bar. I considered stayin another night cause of the breakup the night before.......I will return----

Room Tip: 12 noon checkout was a bonus--- They were noisy cleaning the room nextdoor(TV, Radio) but as soon as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaufman, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This has been the best trip ever. The hotel staff was excellent went the extra mile. We went to Sea World on Monday got back late that night and we were so tired and sun burnt. We had asked the lady (Alice B.) if they had any aloe vera for sale. Which they didn't but she did have some sunburn cream and a spray. We were able to take the spray upstairs with us so we could take a shower and then but some on. We were very impressed with how far she had went out of her way she went to accomadate us. She had went out of her way on other several occasions to help us. Such as directions and more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whytegurl1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

With the exception of a longer than usual wait time to check in, this hotel was great! Staff and front desk were very polite and helpful. They were very crowded with two large groups when we arrived, so I understand the wait. The room was spacious and up to date contemporary. Clean room and comfortable beds! I booked online and made a special request and the staff actually read my request and placed us accordingly. I appreciated that very much! The breakfast was well stocked and very good! The only negative thing I would say about our stay was the parking lot - a lot of holes and kinda hard to tell how to get to the hotel. Other than that, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

- Gorgeous architecture that combines old and new elements.
- I chose a room in the lowest price category, still it was as spacious and elegant as a real suite.
- Staff were friendly, especially the hotel manager.
If you just come to San Antonio to explore the city, this hotel may be slightly too far from down town.
But I'm very happy that I picked this hotel... truly the best value for your money.
I'll be back there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This Country Inns is not the typical architecture and is very sleek and modern. The rooms and furnishings are excellent and the hotel is very comfortable. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX / Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I'm just going to break it down piece by piece...

Arriving at the hotel: The hotel entrance is kinda weird. You can only enter from the side street. There is a huge empty parking lot on Broadway. I pulled into this parking lot because it looks like it goes right up to the front doors of the hotel. Wrong. You have to turn onto Gulfmart Street then take a left into the actual hotel parking. You can park in the huge parking lot since it's just a few steps from the entrance, but it's not the hotel's, so there were some construction vehicles parked in there. Either way, your preference.

Check-In: This was great (at first). A gentleman welcomed me and asked my name, etc.. I handed him the hotel's paperwork to verify that the card to be charged was not mine personally, but a corporate company card. He took it, all was good, and I got my key. 5 minutes into walking into my room, the room phone rang and it was the front desk telling me that my corporate card declined and I needed to come back to the front desk. I'm not sure how other company cards are, but usually the limits are high enough to charge a room to. I went back downstairs and a female at the front desk informed that it was declined and they needed another card. (Did I mention she was too busy to help me at first because she was talking to her son standing at her desk?) Especially with the way she said it as if I was someone off the street trying to scam the hotel. I was so embarrassed, especially since there were other guests standing there watching. Extremely annoyed and embarrassed, I told her I was going to go back to my room and get another card. While I was going to my room, one of my co-workers were trying to order from the bar and the bartender informed them that the credit card machines are working properly so he needed to pay cash. Really?!?! Your credit card machine wasn't working?!?! So basically the female on duty that embarrassed me in front of other people regarding my "declined" credit card, was wrong! How the hell does a bartender know the credit card machine isn't working but the front desk clerk doesn't?? Normally they would know before anyone else. At the end the room was charged. So all this unnecessary drama left me aggravated, embarrassed, and a sour taste towards the hotel service.

Room: The room was great! The bathroom has the designer sinks, amenities, hair dryer, etc.. There is a mini living room area with a love seat, ottoman, chair, and a flat screen on the wall. Next to the tv is a nice sized desk with a hard-wire internet access (although they give you a wifi password as well). (If you have an iphone, after you go to general settings to choose the hotel's wifi, you have to go to "safari" and log-in there with the hotel's username & password in order to get wifi on your phone.) There was a full length framed mirror, which was a nice addition. In front of the desk was a frosted window-type opening that you can open and close. I'm assuming that is for when someone is sleeping while another person is at the desk working??? On the other side of the window is the bed, small closet with a safe (in the wall), dresser with a flat screen tv, night stands, and a bench. There was also a console with a mini-fridge and microwave. Make sure you turn the fridge's settings when you put your stuff in there. I thought it was already on, so later when I go to get a drink, it was all warm. On top is a mini coffee maker with coffee, tea, etc..

Continental Breakfast: A great addition to staying here is the free breakfast. There were eggs, bacon, potatoes, bagels, mini-muffins, oatmeal, cold cereal, canned fruit, toast, and a belgian waffle maker. Plus apple, cranberry, and orange juice.

Bar: Bar drinks were good. Little pricey, but you expect that with a hotel bar.

So all and all I liked the hotel. I give it 4 stars only because of the drama during check-in.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SinCityJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn_78217, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies if in any way we made you feel uncomfortable. Although there are policies and procedures we must follow, there is no excuse for making you feel inadequate. Once again we apololgize and thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northeast San Antonio
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio Airport
Uptown Broadway
Pear Tree Inn San Antonio Airport
Uptown Broadway
Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Broadway
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South
Address: 8505 Broadway St, San Antonio, TX 78217 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#89 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#96 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South, located less than half a mile from SAT Airport. We are pleased to provide such convenient amenities as onsite dining, meeting space, free WiFi, an indoor heated pool and complimentary shuttle service to San Antonio International Airport. Hotel guests enjoy easy access to nearby golf courses, shopping destinations and local attractions like The Alamo, San Antonio Riverwalk, Morgan's Wonderland and SeaWorld San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Antonio
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson
Cambria Suites San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing