We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge San Antonio
Ranked #307 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel was clean and very friendly staff. I'm so glad we got to stay here. We would stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 44 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

As I finished checking in, the staff person tried to give me a key to a room that had already been checked in. "Why is it giving me a key to a room that has already checked in" the staff member said. I knew I was in a treat at this point ...

A short while later the front desk person rechecked me in, this time to an unoccupied room on the second floor. Upon walking to the room you are greeted by what looks to be chipped paint and a general musty smell. I open the door to the room and the fire detector was placed on the drawers, next to the TV. Some sort of wire was placed on top of the closet. A pacifier lay there innocently right next to the bed. Determined not to let these minor details ruin my trip, I try to make the best of it.

Because there wasn't a "privacy" sign in my room, I went to bed without putting one outside. I was woken at 8am from a housekeeper. I told her that since I was just staying two nights, I didn't need anything, not even towels. She seemed satisfied with this and went on her way. When I arrived back at the hotel I found that the housekeeper and indeed entered the room and did not clean, however thought it would be good to just take all of our towels.

I went to the desk and found a queue of folks looking for towels or expressing frustration at having people try to get in their rooms in the middle of the night (probably from their key system).

Overall, the Quality Inn 10815 N I-35 is terrible. I would happily pay more money to stay at a nicer place to feel more safe and clean. If you don't mind finding clumps of hair in the shower and dirty towels, perhaps this place is for you. The AC was very noisy. The breakfast was non-existant, juice machine broken, long line just for english muffins and a few scraps of sausage. I was able to squeeze out half a cup of coffee of the dispenser. This experience was not what I would expect from a Quality Inn.

Room Tip: Don't look under the bed or down drain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed just one night 12/15. 1st Complaint-there is no elevator except stairs.
2nd complaint-She gave me the room that didn't finish remodeling.
3rd complaint-As soon as I walked in, the room smell like a wet carpet
It was cheap & close to the location I wanted to be but... I wish I paid little more & stayed little better place. I had to ask shampoo, soap & conditioner in the morning.
I understand we shouldn't expect so much from a cheap hotel but I learned my lesson from staying at this place.
By the way, when I used the toilet the first time, I thought it was clogged.

Room size was good & the bed was okay but honestly.... it was what I paid for....

Room Tip: If you have many luggages, stay away from this hotel or just ask for the ground level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiggerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This hotel is filthy... we stayed here 12/3-12/7. Bathroom was so gross, I cleaned the tub. The shower curtain had a stain. The tiles are all chipped and different. The room was ok at best. The cover on the bed also had a stain. Although the room was a "non-smoking" there was a prevalent smell of stale cigarettes. The noise from the A/C & heat was very loud. We had to get new room keys 3 times, the magnetic strip was compromised.
Breakfast was included, however, we had to ask for hot coffee. While I realize this is a small thing, there was only apple jam for muffins or bagels, even after repeated requests. Our family will be going back to San Antonio in a few months. NO ONE will be staying at this pig sty.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmv908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Due to work being done on our home in San Antonio, my wife and I spent a night at the Quality Inn on IH-35 North in San Antonio. We were very impressed by the cleanliness and competence of the employees and the manager. We were told by the desk clerk that the hotel was just remodeled throughout and it looked it. Everything was nice, new and clean. The manager was in the breakfast area the next morning talking to guests and that was impressive. All in all, we'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublduce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityNorth, Owner at Econo Lodge San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Thank you so much for your feed back and we hope to continue and maintain our service to your expectation. Hope you will consider our hotel for your future stay in San Antonio Texas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

I stayed here for several nights. The management and staff were very good and went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable. I really appreciated the staff's attention to me and my stay.

The rooms were clean and it was safe. But this hotel had that old hotel smell. I thought the prices were fair and the breakfast was better than many places. I would stay here again because it was inexpensive and a better value than most lower-end hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kansastraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityNorth, Owner at Econo Lodge San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

We have taken your request in consideration in regards to the smell and have resolved the matter. We appreciate you giving us your feed back in regards to your stay and our hotel. Yes we had this hotel in full renovation in 2010 thus it may have caused some inconvenience to you, however, we have completed the work and we assure you for a clean, comfortable and quality stay on your future visit. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014
Thank Raul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northeast San Antonio
Comfort Suites North IH 35
Comfort Suites North IH 35
#191 of 358 in San Antonio
151 reviews
WoodSpring Suites San Antonio So...
#207 of 358 in San Antonio
58 reviews
WoodSpring Suites San Antonio Fo...
#189 of 358 in San Antonio
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn-AT&T Cen...
#231 of 358 in San Antonio
57 reviews
Northwest Side
M-Star San Antonio SeaWorld
M-Star San Antonio SeaWorld
#206 of 358 in San Antonio
36 reviews
East Side
Days Inn San Antonio Near at&T Center
Days Inn San Antonio Near at&T C...
#244 of 358 in San Antonio
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge San Antonio

Address: 10815 I-35 N, San Antonio, TX 78233 (Formerly Quality Inn North San Antonio, Hotel La Palmera)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $42 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge San Antonio 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
minutes away from the San Antonio River Walk. This expansive park is lined with an array of businesses and attractions, museums, art galleries, numerous entertainment venues, retailers, specialty stores, restaurants and more. Local attractions close to this San Antonio, TX hotel include: STAR Soccer Complex •AT&T Center arena •San Antonio Botanical Garden *Brooks Military/Army Medical Center •San Antonio Zoo and Aquarium * Randolph Airforce base •Splashtown San Antonio water park. As one of Texas' most thriving regions, San Antonio boast a number of historic sites, unique landmarks and a catalog of cultural attractions. History buffs can spend the day touring the Alamo and outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy the multitude of parks and golf courses that can be found in the surrounding area. More than a dozen restaurants are within five miles of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing