We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio
Ranked #156 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
1 review
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We have family near this hotel, and have stayed there on many occasions. We have always found it clean, well managed, with friendly staff, a good free hot breakfast, and in the evenings many times free cookies that taste homemade. The manager is very friendly and helpful. To top all this the hotel has very reasonable rates, when compared to other hotels of similar quality.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSanAntonio, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mike M,
Thank you for being a loyal customer for quite some time now. We are happy to know that you are continuously pleased with the services offered by our Hotel. It is always a great pleasure to serve you during your stay. Rest assured that we will continuously seek for better ways to create an even more satisfying stay for dear guests like you. We value your business and feedback. Once again, we look forward to another delightful experience at our Hotel with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
12
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel and were given the disabled room. Staying in the disabled room (though we had not asked for it) would not have been a problem, if not for the fact that it is the very first room next to the lobby, and therefore very noisy with people coming and going all night.
Aside from the poor choice of location of our room, we found the free breakfast to be alright, with quite a variety of choice, from salty food to pancakes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Isabelle F,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry about the noise during your stay. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luling, LA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed at this Holiday Inn express for one night while family was in hospital, as the other one we were staying inn near sea world no longer had room for us (also reviewed). I wish we had come here first this HIE was much decorated nicer in the rooms and the rooms seemed to be a little larger. Had a much better smell than the other HIE we stayed in as well. The breakfast was standard hotel breakfast rolls, biscuits, pancakes and eggs. The lady working the buffet was very nice as there was a problem with the pancake machine she worked on it for several minutes so we could have pancakes (and the buffet was closing in just 10-15 min). She could have just blew us off and said that it was not working. The only complaint that my wife had was that we were in rooms facing the interstate and she could hear traffic (i didn't), so if you are a light sleeper ask for something away from the highway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luling_Buzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed here with a 5& 7yr old and one family member in a wheelchair. This Hotel was very nice and clean. It felt really luxurious.The staff was VERY friendly. We requested a handicap accessible room and it was one of the biggest nicest handicap rooms I've ever stayed in. The roll in shower had a fold down padded bench which was perfect. The bathroom was large enough for a wheel chair to do a full circle inside. The sheets in the room felt very crisp and clean and they even had different pillows to choose from, they were marked on the pillow cases firm or soft. The bed was very comfortable a good balance, just firm enough but still a little soft. I highly recommend this hotel. The Continental breakfast was good and had a lot of variety. There were hot and cold food options and plenty of different baked goods. They also had many different juices to choose from and the coffee was good too. It was winter time so we didn't use the pool but it looked a little small so if you’re a pool person that might be the only disappointment. I saw no sign of bed bugs as mentioned in other posts. I am very paranoid about bed begs though so I kept everything off the floor just in case because that just comes with the territory when staying in hotels. This hotel was located on the access road of the highway so it's a great location, easy to get to anywhere in San Antoinio quickly.

Room Tip: There are a few different types of handicap accesible rooms so ask questions and be specific about y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank born4worship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
224 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Our initial impression of this hotel was excellent but what transpired during our stay means we will think twice next time we visit San Antonio. We had a ground floor bedroom with 2 queen beds the room was lovely but the BED BUGS were not. My husband was covered in bites from these creatures he had to seek the advice from a Chemist when we arrived in Houston who confirmed it was bed bugs and gave him the appropriate medicines.I did not have a problem as we had seperate beds.He wrote to the hotel to tell them about them and suggested they changed the bedding but received no reply.

Room Tip: Make sure the beds have been aired !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robertson;Mrs.a... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

the information given on the website is incorrect - this facility does not allow pets. i did not stay here as a result. the staff was nice enough but it is frustrating to get the wrong information.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charli13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Last minute trip and arrived late. Nearby hotels already booked (and pricey). Made a call to HIE on Spencer and they delivered in a big way! The little things made the best impression - such as bottled water and a newspaper at no extra charge. I so appreciated being treated as a welcome friend and not as a victim of highway robbery!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scintilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
North Central
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Vance Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio
Address: 102 Spencer Ln, San Antonio, TX 78201-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Medical Center/Crossroads, the cultural gateway to the Southwest and a popular tourist destination. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is conveniently located only 5.5 miles west of the Alamo and the River Walk in downtown San Antonio and 3 miles east of the South Texas Medical Center. The premier location of San Antonio s newest hotel is perfectly accessible to all area attractions and businesses: TexSan Heart Hospital, CTRC-Cancer Therapy & Research Center, Christas Santa Rosa Health Care, UT Health Center, Verizon, Toyota, Bank of America, and Wachovia are just a few of the companies that call San Antonio home. The city has a strong military presence as well it is home to Fort Sam Houston, Lackland Air Force Base, Randolph Air Force Base, and Brooks City-Base. The hotel is centrally located in San Antonio just minutes from Six Flags Fiesta Texas, SeaWorld San Antonio, Splashtown Water Park, the Historic Missions, Breckenridge Park, the Alamodome, AT&T Center where the successful San Antonio Spurs play basketball, and the Marion Koogler McNay Art Museum. Guests of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio stay connected with our complimentary high-speed wired & wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, relax in our outdoor pool and spa, or work out in our well-equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing