We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Mission San Jose
from $75.00
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
from $25.50
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
Reviews (3,338)
Filter reviews
3,338 results
Traveler rating
2,437
787
105
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,437
787
105
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose window visitor center mariachi mass living quarters park ranger active church guided tour native americans gift shop beautiful church great history texas history lots of history piece of history great place to visit walk around the river walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 3,338 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2019

Our bus driver recommended this as the first stop on the mission trail because of the excellent overview film and the park ranger tours (10:00 and 11:00am). The park ranger tour was excellent - the volunteer tour guide we had was really well-prepared and did a great job of describing life in the mission. It's free, which is even better! Expect to take an hour and a half or two hours here; you will spend much less time at the other missions.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank ckirklen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

We had a little time to explore one more thing in San Antonio so we made our way to Mission San Jose about an hour and 15 minutes before it closed. We watched the movie then wandered the grounds. We did not take a guided tour, but would have if there had been one at the time. We enjoyed touring at our own pace. It is a large area that does require some walking. We had just enough time to see it all. So glad we made the effort.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

We were fortunate to arrive just In time for the Ranger Guided Tour. These are given throughout the day. Our Ranger was excellent. We learned a lot about Texas history including the establishment of the missions along the river. Why there and about the people that lived there. Also local people that can trace their linage back to the missions. Very interesting. You also need to know that San Antonio provides a bus route that stops by each mission. Park at one and take the bus to the others. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Elsa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

This mission is a short bus-ride away from the busy-ness of the Alamo downtown area, and this site is more about the "mission" part of San Antonio history and less about the Mexican/Texas conflict like the Alamo is. This site was very lightly visited when we visited around noon in July, and my wife (who loves her historical sites) loved it. I think this is the best and certainly the biggest mission site in SA.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank BThompson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

The ranger who gave our tour was so informative and passionate. We learned so much about the lives of the people who lived in the mission. What an amazing history.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank BSFR4cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews