We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of Mission San Jose

Mission San Jose
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.10*
and up
The Real San Antonio Small Group Guided Tour
Ranked #3 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1720, this Spanish frontier mission, the largest of the five San Antonio missions, is best known for its rose window. On Sundays, this Texas and U.S. National historic site offers a mariachi mass.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The church is still being used for Sunday mass! The mission is historic and educational, but what has lasted in my mind from this trip is the church and its history. How the building survived so many bullets and battles is a mystery to me.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,773
    617
    81
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting place to tour”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Loved walking around the Mission. A lot of history here. Kids lived it too. The cathedral was beautiful and the diorama told a great story.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Queen of the Missions”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was another stop on our mission trail tour. Also free to visit, this mission is the largest of the missions in San Antonio. It was a wonderfully educational experience to see the size and scale of how this mission truly was a community. The walls that protected it also housed it's citizens. This was my favorite of all the missions we visited (perhaps with exception of the Alamo for it's historical significance). If you cannot make all of the missions on the self guided tour, I recommend stopping at this one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinSchuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Not as interesting as I had expected. Cultural center was much better with a better variety of exhibits and information

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Texas history”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

There are many missions in San Antonio. This one, while not as famous as the Alamo, is still very entertaining. Great film worth the time. A bit of a drive but not bad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Al E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission San Jose also viewed

 

Been to Mission San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing