We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Mission San Jose
from $25.00
More Info
from $30.00
More Info
Reviews (3,068)
Filter reviews
2,883 results
Traveler rating
2,125
667
83
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,125
667
83
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose window visitor center mariachi mass park ranger living quarters active church guided tour native americans gift shop beautiful church great history lots of history worth the trip texas history piece of history great place to visit walk around
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,883 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

As a history nerd, this was one of my favorite things we saw in San Antonio! The stone buildings, structures, and church are amazing to see. It was stroller friendly too and my two year old loved running through everything. Definitely recommend stopping by here!! We came early, as soon as they opened, and almost had the place to ourselves.

Thank danielleboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

The tour by the park ranger along with the museum provided a complete history of the missions in San Antonio (not just Mission San Jose). We spent over 2 hours at this mission.

Thank sket101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Highly recommend doing the mission trail while in San Antonio. Can take Bus route 40 and see them all.

Thank JonandLaura1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

The inside of this church is really gorgeous. The entire complex is fascinating. The grounds are really nice and interesting history.

Thank C2CTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Even on a cold day, this tour was worth the time. An excellent volunteer guide explained things that would not have been obviouse without her knowledgable and well-organizaed presentations

Thank Putnam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We booked a 3 hour tour with DeTour tours to see the 4 missions that were built in addition to the Alamo. I prefer guided tours for something like this, as I get information about the missions as opposed to just looking at a building. I was glad we booked a driven tour as we covered a lot of ground, and it was more comfortable. The mission trail can be done either with public transit, or by renting bikes, but I was glad we went with the driven tour.

Thank davidrC4704KO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

We took the ranger tour, which was very informative and then stayed for the Mariachi Mass. This mission is more intact than the Alamo so that one can more easily visualize what life was like at that time. The church is beautiful, and the mass a unique experience to have in San Antonio, lots of music with a band and a choir - all volunteers from that parish. There is a collection during the mass and it lasted about an hour.

Thank samanthandtravismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Mission San Jose is within a short and easy driving distance from downtown San Antonio. It is known as the “Queen of the Missions” and is the largest of all the missions in San Antonio. It was restored to it’s original design in the 1930s. One needs to give at least an hour to visit this attraction. It is highly recommended to visit this particular attraction especially for those who are interested in history.

Thank 716sachink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We walked the grounds and the whole interior. Interesting. Makes one wonder the lives that were touched by this mission. Huge, compared to the other missions.

Thank RGL127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the largest of the missions and the one that has the best preserved fortifications, living quarters and community buildings. There is a park service visitors center on site with a gift store and a theater showing a movie on life in the missions. You get a sense of the importance of defense at this mission. The missions were built with strong fortifications to protect against attacking Apache. Inside the mission walls, friendly local Indians were religiously trained and educated and there was agriculture and commerce between settlements and cities in Mexico.

Thank BnCrXplorerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews