We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome service while you are there...but, when you leave forget it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Ranked #61 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Liberty Hill
1 review
“Awesome service while you are there...but, when you leave forget it!”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The service prior to our staying at Hotel Indigo and while we were there was awesome...but, I left a hat in the room and my husband called when I realized I had left it. The manager assured him that they would send it out after confirming they would charge us for shipping. It has been one week and no hat, two telephone calls with promises of a manger to call us back and we have not received a call back. I am a travel agent and would love to refer clients to this hotel because of all of the amenities but with this type of after travel treatment I am very hesitant. If I were to treat a client this way I know I would not have repeat business....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oma2DJCCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamoindigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Thank you so much for staying at Hotel Indigo, at the Alamo on your last trip to San Antonio. My name is Holly Evans, General Manager. I was unaware of any issues with a missing hat that was left behind. I would love to speak with you personally about this so I can either help locate your hat or help replace the hat if it has not been located by you. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so we can resolve the issue and return or replace any missing items. Thank you so much for posting a comment on Trip Advisor. Your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    221
    68
    37
    29
See reviews for
147
213
38
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Got a great rate on this newer hotel with breakfast. The hotel is very clean. Breakfast was tasty. Staff are quite helpful. The location is a few blocks from the riverwalk and right across from the Alamo.
So good location all around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hocgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed at the Indigo Hotel in San Antonio for a night in early October as part of a cross-country road trip. Booked through Hotwire, so the price was great.

The hotel is housed in a historic old office building built in 1909, and faithfully restored to many of the original details: orginial hallway water fountains, orignial elevator facade, etc. The hotel was certainly striving to be urban-chic, and the concept of renovating an old office building (while maintaining many of the original historical details) is a very interesting and lofty idea.

Check in was smooth. We elected to use Valet Parking ($25 which some might consider steep, but we felt was worth the peace of mind versus parking in an open lot in a downtown area all night). We got up to our room which was decorated nicely and we really appreciated the historical details again, but we quickly noticed a few spots where the execution fell short.

The tile and even the sink in the bathroom were both cracked, which was surprising considering the hotel has just recently opened. As mentioned in other reviews, the AC is absolutely quite loud. It could be a problem if you are a light sleeper!

We saw a couple of small beetles crawling on the floor and as we investigated behind the bed, we found literally dozens of dead cricket bodies strewn across the floor. While we certainly understand that its Texas and crickets are an issue that many times can't be avoided, the fact there were so many dead ones behind the bed led me to wonder about the overall cleanliness of the room and how thorough of a job housekeeping does. It wasn't like it was hard to see all these dead crickets - we didn't even have to move the bed or anything. This was certainly the biggest negative of the room.

However - it is essential that I point out how wonderfully and quickly the front desk staff handled our complaint. We were given a different room and the housekeeping went up to ensure there were no dead bugs in our new room. The manager also gave us coupons for free breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The staff was nothing but friendly and accomodating and so I feel they handled the situation very well.

We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant there as well as drinks. The bartender was outstanding and gave us all kinds of information about the Alamo and the building itself, as well as made some outstanding drinks!

In short - the hotel has a very lofty concept and aspires mightily to reach a plateau of urban sophistication. With just a little more attention to the finest details - I think this will be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigFish78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamoindigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at Hotel Indigo. Your comments are greatly appreciated. I have passed along the comments to all appropriate departments for further review. We always want to correct any issues a guest may have in our hotel. The only way we know to improve on our amenities and service is to hear from our guests. So, thank you for the constructive feedback as well as the kinds words on the staff. We truly do want every guest to have a memorable experience and we strive hard to ensure all guests know how much their patronage is appreciated. We hope to have you stay with us again on future trips to San Antonio.

Holly Evans, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. It was originally built in 1909 as the first skyscraper in San Antonio. It has been very nicely renovated with modern furnishings, refinished wood floors, yet still maintains the original tile lobby. My room had a large windows with a view of the Alamo.

The hotel is within an easy walking distance of the Riverwalk, Convention Center, and many restaurants

The staff was very nice. I had an excellent stay, except for one thing--- they forgot to give me my wake-up call on the last morning.

I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheadmba14221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Awful! A nightmare! Never again.
Room very small.Just enough room for the queensize bed. No inroom movies.
Pillows very uncomftable. Valet Park $25! And to self park is inconvenient and not safe.
Booked through hotwire and this is my first biggest disappointment. boo

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotta-have-f4ith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2010

This is a new hotel with a view of the Alamo. it's within walking distance of downtown, river walk, the mall, a trolley that can take you further around San Antonio, and more. The service was superb throughout the hotel. Alex greeted us at the front desk with charm, Michael served us drinks at the hotel bar with stories and extensive knowledge of the area, and the cleaning staff was prompt and thorough. The beds are luxurious, rooms have a flat screen TV with many channels, and each room is unique due to the remodeling of an older hotel. It's a unique mix of history and modern style. I would recommend this hotel to anyone: for business or pleasure, families, couples, or solo travelers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganGirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Do not use the valet parking.....they wrecked our truck and they lied about it....!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawky27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamoindigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
I would really like the guest to contact me directly to let me know of the situation with the Valet parking and the claim of a wrecked vehicle. I would like more information as I am unaware of any damage to a vehicle parked with us. I would like to see what we can do to rectify the situation with the guest as our main goal is to have happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
1,770 reviews
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Address: 105 N. Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
91 Room boutique hotel in a 1909 historic bldg. Hotel sits across the the street from the Alamo and 1/2 block from the Riverwalk. Close enough to walk to any and everything you will want to do in downtown San Antonio. Also home to the 1909 Bar & Bistro serving breakfast and dinner daily. Happy Hour specials every night. Let us be your home away from home on your next trip to beautiful San Antonio! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing