We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Ranked #69 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome historic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

In pursuit of the perfect "staycation" my wife and I decided to stay at the Indigo by the Alamo, this was a wise choice. The building is an old office building and has a lot of character and charm. There are old elevator doors that look amazing. The thing I really enjoyed was the old directory that had listings of actual folks who used to rent office space in the building. I learned a lot during this stay from taking tours in the area and from this building as well. This is a must stay for any history buff. The location is so close to a great deal of history.
The rooms are a little small but have all the modern ammenities that you would expect and a very comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly and accommodating so i would really recommed this hotel to amy traveler.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the 7th or 8th floor that has a view of the Alamo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoAlamo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Herbert C - The history within and around our hotel is never ending! We work hard to preserve all the historic features inside our building and will gladly point out other sites you are yet to discover in our amazing neighborhood!
Angela Alvarado -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    221
    68
    37
    29
See reviews for
147
213
38
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

A friend and I stayed here in June during a weekend trip. We were in our room for about an hour before leaving for dinner and sightseeing. When we got back to our room that night around 11pm we discovered that the shopping bags we had brought with us were missing. We called up to the front desk who told us we must have misplaced them and nothing could be done until the morning. After hanging up we found that our electronics and many personal items were missing from our bags. We went down to the front desk and called the police to file a report. During the time that we were waiting, the front desk receptionist was very rude and unhelpful regarding the situation and was almost accusatory towards us. She would not refund our money because my friend had booked the room through her credit card company and only offered us a room change. The police officer who took our report found that the door to our room didn't shut completely and that is likely how the people got in. We checked out that night without receiving a single apology from any members of the staff. The hotel staff was very unhelpful throughout the entire ordeal especially after checking the door key records to rule out any staff members and the manager stopped returning email correspondence.

That said, the hotel was nice enough but that is negated by the poor customer service that was displayed. I would think they would be more concerned about the ability for guests or other people to get into the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Libbyhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoAlamo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
As with this and any other issues you may encounter while traveling our hotel staff and management is always available to help you as much as possible. It is to the advantage of our guests that we have staff 24/7 to assist with all of your needs and situations no matter how unusual or complex these may be.
Angela Alvarado -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were in San Antonio visiting sights and was not expecting to stay. Last minute change in our schedule -we needed a room to stay overnight. We walked into several hotels in the area embassy,Hilton,holiday inn ex & marriot and we were turned away-they claimed they were fully booked (it was Friday night). We walked into hotel indigo and they were very nice , the lady reception looked for a vacancy and accommodated us. We got a room on the 6th floor with a king size bed, good enough for on overnite stay. The room is very clean and cozy. Bed was comfy ,we slept well. Bathroom is clean, plenty of clean towels. There was a coffee maker ,tea bags ,coffee n creamer , 2 mugs. Floor is wood, feels homey. This room is good enough for an overnite stay but if with more than 2 people this room will be too tight. Parking is valet for $25 more. Downside is no free breakfast like most hotels in the area. This is an office building converted to a hotel, very functional , no carpets(we have allergies),we enjoyed our stay. Very polite and helpful staff, keep it up guys!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoAlamo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear mjf53,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We enjoy our job and love our historic hotel. We have different room types and even suites to accommodate more people. Please come back with more time to enjoy our excellent location across from the Alamo and just steps away from the Rivercenter Mall, Riverwalk and all the restaurants and bars surrounding us. See you back soon!
Angela Alvarado -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel staff was very polite and friendly. We arrived at 4:30 and still had to wait 30 minutes for our room to be available so we received 3 free breakfast vouchers. My request for an upper floor room was granted, but not request for away from elevator because double queen rooms are located next to the elevators on every floor. Luckily the noise was not noticeable since the elevators are recessed with double doors from the original building elevator doors which act as a sound barrier. Very clean, neat room was slightly crowded with 2 large beds for three adult females. The sink is located in the bath that has a large shower with plenty of hot water. Although we arrived near the end of breakfast, there were still plenty of eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, pastries, fruit, and coffee/juice. Location was great...right across the street from the Alamo and within 1 block of the River Center Mall and the Riverwalk.

Room Tip: All rooms with double queen beds are located next to the elevators. Noise may be noticeable to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjf53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoAlamo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Mjf53 -Thank you so much for your review, very informative. Our historic building has so many cool features like the elevators you mention. We have kept the original 1909 elevator door which encase the new elevators thus creating a noise barrier in every floor. I hope you also noticed the original wood floors, marble and glass in every corridor and our historic lobby. Come see us again, there's always something interesting to discover at our hotel!
Angela Alvarado -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Like the title of my review says, this is a great location for a hotel. This was walking distance to the Alamo and the River Center. The staff was excellent! Now the down side. Like precious reviews yes the rooms are small, parking is $25 but you can find separate lots for less, no pool, no washer or dryers, beds were not as comfortable as other IHG hotels that I've experienced, the room itself was a bit dirty. Hardwood floor need cleaning as well as the base boards. I personally feel that no hotel should have flat paint on their walls because they tend to show wear easier as was the case for our room. I understand why they chose white paint to make the rooms look a little bigger but light colored satin or eggshell would do a way better job. So would I stay there again , probably because of its location. Would I recommend it, maybe it just depends on my next visit. I would hope that they could up date the paint in the rooms and clean them more thoroughly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoAlamo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Cherylelas- We definitely have a superb location steps away from the Alamo, Riverwalk and Rivercenter Mall! I'm so glad you enjoyed that. Also, our historic building which was originally an office building has different layouts and sizes to our rooms all coming together in an eclectic fusion. I hope you visit again soon and possibly try one of our suites!
Angela Alvarado -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here 4 night on business (at convention cnt) and loved this renovated old building. Hallways have mozaic tile floors, marble, and old growth oak paneling. Close walking to Convention center and riverwalk. This is a nice alternative to the standard common name hotels in the downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guitarbobsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoAlamo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guitarbobsd -So pleased to hear you enjoyed the historic character of our building and our location!! If that's you on the profile picture I hope you share a few guitar melodies with us at the 1909 Bar & Bistro next time you're in town. See you soon again!
Angela Alvarado -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for a wedding in San Antonio and this was a great location next to the Riverwalk and Alamo! The room was kind of small but we were only in it to sleep so who cares, also there was some older charm as the older elevators and some of the furnishings that added some character to what would normally be a boring chain hotel for what we paid! I don't see why there would be anything bad to say for the price, great location and the room was very clean and well decorated and the fact that it is in a historical building is just a plus!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayCola61984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoAlamo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear JayCola61984 -The historic charm and uniqueness of the Gibbs Building gives a special character to this Hotel Indigo. Additionally, we are the only hotel in the original grounds of the Alamo! We look forward to your next stay!!
Angela Alvarado -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Address: 105 N. Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
91 Room boutique hotel in a 1909 historic bldg. Hotel sits across the the street from the Alamo and 1/2 block from the Riverwalk. Close enough to walk to any and everything you will want to do in downtown San Antonio. Also home to the 1909 Bar & Bistro serving breakfast and dinner daily. Happy Hour specials every night. Let us be your home away from home on your next trip to beautiful San Antonio! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing