We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with an Alamo View!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Ranked #81 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Room with an Alamo View!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo-Alamo from December 7th to December 9th. We had a corner suite with view of the Alamo. This room was awesome as we had large windows on each side of the room facing towards The Alamo. The actual building used to be a bank and has been restored to a hotel. There are original wood floors though out the rooms. Room only had a stand up shower but for us was preferable. There was a sitting area with a TV when you first walked into the room with a seperate door to the actual bedroom. This was perfect for us as my husband wakes up before I do and was able to move into the sitting area and watch TV without waking me.
The actual hotel is right in the mix of things. You can cross the street to the Alamo or head over to the riverwalk which is about a five minute leisurely walk.There are tons of bars, restaurants, entertainment and shopping all within walking distance. This hotel is a great bang for your buck as you are close to so many things AND and has an affordable hotel rate! If you have not been to San Antonio during the Christmas holidays you are missing out.as the city is beautifully decorated with lights. It makes for a nice romantic getaway or a good family trip to bring the kids along!

Room Tip: Normally Im not a fan of upgrading my room but in this case I feel like the room set up and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley_gaspard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    225
    69
    37
    30
See reviews for
148
215
39
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a very good getaway for my husband and I. Great location to go and do all the fun stuff that downtown San Antonio has to offer. The Alamo is right across the street and river walk is less than 5 minutes away. We were greeted warmly by Gerri at the front desk and our room was upgraded to a huge suite overlooking the Alamo. The view is gorgeous!! We found this hotel charming and loved the experience. The a/c is a bit loud but it worked well so I can't complain. It is a bit challenging to get luggage carts through the doorways and onto elevators, but the building is old and i think the character of the hotel makes up for that. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and Chellie from the restaurant/bar was very helpful about recommending places for us to visit during our stay. We would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Summer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A friend recommended this hotel because it was close to the things we wanted to do and within our price range ($100/night). It's an old downtown hotel that has been renovated into a lovely boutique hotel. The rooms are delightfully decorated in greens and oranges, with very comfortable beds. The pillows were a bit too large and unwieldy, but we managed. Personal touches like Aveda products in the bathroom, large, fluffy towels, large flat-panel TV, great views, which included part of the Alamo and the lights of downtown, all made our night very nice. The Alamo is across the street and the entrance to the River Walk 1/2 block away. The front desk folks were efficient and very helpful. I think the $25 overnight valet fee is a bit steep, but you are downtown in a very busy city. Our only real disappointment was breakfast. It was recommended by the front desk but we were served cold scrambled eggs, waffle, potatoes and toast. We finished our breakfast and didn't complain because the waitstaff seemed stressed and quite busy. We did mention it to the front desk so they could pass it along to management. She would have refunded our money had we not paid for breakfast in the restaurant, so she tried to help. In spite of that one issue, it's a lovely hotel, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and i went to San Antonio for a week. We were surprised to have to pay $25 daily for parking. 1st room we got was too small. Jordan at the front desk changed our room without a problem and signed us up for the rewards club to save us $15 daily from parking fee. I can honestly say the stay had ups and downs. the room was VERY nice. but the next morning we had them clean the room and strip the beds because we were both itchy got some bites and found a few fleas in the room. After that no problems with the room. The staff were EXCELLENT!!!! They took very good care of us and were very helpful. we loved the room and it was clean, quiet and historic. The problems: there was a parade on the Alamo plaza Saturday. We were not informed by the hotel of the parade. Even though it was put on by the city. i was less than pleased with 1.5 hours in a traffic jam. the staff pleaded ignorance. I felt management should be on top of events happening in the city. There were notices on the cities web site. the next day we were awoke by sounds in the street. It was a city marathon going right in front of the hotel. We were not told about it. The staff however, made sure all the vehicles were available to visitors. when i spoke with the management about the events she argued with me stating there was no parade. when staff informed her that there was in fact a parade Saturday She said" no one told us"
So to sum it up great staff poor management. 2 more things, We got a snack from room service it was very good. Also They have nice fluffy towels but they are scratchy like they don't use fabric softener or at least good fabric softener

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This lovely hotel has been converted from a multi-occupation commercial building. The modernsation has been done really sensitively, preserving the beauty of the original art deco building and many of the original features, whilst creating a modern hotel with all the facilities you could wish for. Excellent staff, from reception through to servers in the restaurant and all the wonderful staff who keep the rooms spotless, with an ample supply of soft towels and enogh toiletries to meet the most demanding requirements.

Great location - we could see the Alamo from our room, and the quiet location on a semi-pedestrianised street guaranteed a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orielh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This Hotel Indigo does not meet the expectations of the brand InterContinental Hotels is promoting. Lobby needs an update, even though a renovation was "supposedly" completed recently. Am a Platinum Priority Club Member, & if my accommodations were any comparison, I would not want to get a room that non-Priority Club Members might receive. Tiny room with a stool & 3 foot square shower with sloppy tile work. Sink inside the sleeping room --- not a problem. Furniture in fairly good condition, but housekeeping DEFINITELY needs a wakeup call at this property. Don't know how dirty an area rug has to get before they decide to clean it, but the one in our room was long, long past due.Liked the wooden floors until we realized how dirty they were. Spilled a glass of water & took a rag to wipe it up, which was black when we finished.
Hotel is in an old converted office building, which is attractive, but the air conditioner in our room must have been in the original building. Sounded like a plane taking off each time it kicked on all through the night. It worked OK, if you could sleep through the noise. The bar/restaurant attached to the lobby seems to be a not-very-well-thought-out operation. Certainly not very inviting. Probably do better to just close it & open a coffee/refreshment area. Hotel Indigos are "supposed" to offer a somewhat up-scale boutique-style experience, but this property misses the mark by a mile. We would not return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I liked this hotel, but I hated my experience. The Hotel Indigo is a neat place if you're into historic and a little bit quirky accommodations, but be careful what room you get. I stayed at the hotel on a business trip with others from my company. Everyone's room varied in size and layout. Some were oddly sized, but I was lucky to have a big corner room at the end of the third-floor hall with a view of the Alamo and lots of space by old hotel standards. However, this particular room was on the third floor facing Houston Street. While the room is probably one of their nicest, it is in the WORST location of the hotel. I was awakened in the middle of every night between 1 am and 4 am during my five-night stay (Sat-Wed) by either drunk revelers, trash removal or sidewalk power washing.Yes, they actually power washed the sidewalks at 3 a.m. And they literally dump huge dumpsters full of glass and other trash right in front of the hotel in the middle of the night, and you can hear them continue down the street for another 10-15 minutes. My colleagues were on the Alamo street side and were spared most of this noise. (Note: I tried to get a different room, but they were booked up.) This obviously isn't entirely the hotel's fault, but they need to be aware of the impact on guests and be upfront about the downside of facing Houston. Overall, I liked the room and charm of this funky, old hotel, but I would encourage you to choose your room carefully.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the lower levels of the hotel facing Houston Street. While you'll have view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wienenjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 357 in San Antonio
1,912 reviews
Menger Hotel
#25 of 357 in San Antonio
2,406 reviews
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Address: 105 N Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
91 Room boutique hotel in a 1909 historic bldg. Hotel sits across the the street from the Alamo and 1/2 block from the Riverwalk. Close enough to walk to any and everything you will want to do in downtown San Antonio. Also home to the 1909 Bar & Bistro serving breakfast and dinner daily. Happy Hour specials every night. Let us be your home away from home on your next trip to beautiful San Antonio! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing