We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Ranked #61 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Almost Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Valet was outstanding. Check in was super fast. As always Cruz had it all together and knew what to offer. Tim in the Bistro was wonderful. He even gave our little one Fiesta bangles and lights.

Housekeeping was extremely slow. It took two days to get a box of tissues and only after having to go downstairs to get it. Sadly, the floors were dirty.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aivars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    220
    68
    37
    28
See reviews for
147
213
37
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We did not stay at the Hotel, but discovered the resteraunt as we passed by and observed the Texas Waffle sign outside. We were welcomed in by Tim, and met Cruze. They both made us feel at home. In addition to their Texas Waffle, my wife enjoyed an excellent breakfast sandwich. We were given a tour of the Hotel, and the history of this impressive building, It makes one appreciate the work that went into saving the historical value of the Gibbs Building. To realize what looked like a old water fountain to anyone appreciating the fact that it was original to the building, and that the office over door windows were realliy preserved. We not only had excellent service for that breakfast, but met again as we passed on our daily routes to the attractions. Tim offered some excellent local insider information to other attractions. Much more information than we had recieved from the Hotel we were staying at.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggys_Mfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX area
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had no idea what to expect when we booked at this hotel. The exterior is not impressive, but we were pleasantly surprised to find a very nice room, nice decor with very comfortable bed and pillows. The old office building converted to a hotel added to the charm of the place. I loved that they left the old mail drop in the hallways. The hallways reminded me of office buildings I worked in years ago in New York. The 24/7 valet service was a nice plus, but we didn't need it often as everything is within walking distance of this hotel. We will stay there again when we are in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor overlooking Alamo St. We didn't hear any noise from either the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnieB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

The service was impeccable...everyone that we talked to was so very accommodating! The beds are comfortable and the room was clean but the ac kicked on and off a bit loud for me...and the lobby is small. Smell of the bistro was all over from when you walked in to in the elevator...there is a lot of history to this building and you can tell that everyone we came into contact with seemed to take great pride in our stay!

Room Tip: Loved the 8th floor! Bring ear plugs if your a light sleeper due to the ac and be sure to eat at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamoindigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
CJazzy,

We are truly glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. I will share your comments with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middleburgh
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The rooms are variable in size and furnishings because it is an old building that was renovated(nice and unique is a good description). The first night there we found that the pillows were to big and my wife did not sleep well in the bed. At breakfast the manager not only made sure we had the food and drink just the way we wanted it,but also inquired about our stay in the hotel.When he heard of our disappointment with the pillows he first said go to the front desk and have them changed. When my wife complained about the bed he went to the front desk to check on another room, then came back and informed us that after breakfast we should go there and be moved to another room.The second one was larger, had a comfortable bed and a view of the Alamo! I probably should admit my 300# plus size was likely to blame for the problem with the first bed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank driver113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royse City, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I have stayed here three (3) times on business and I love staying here! The staff here is great and always wear a smile. Rooms are nice and unique. Beds and pillows are always comfy. I am not sure if the breakfast quesadilla is on the menu, but if they have it, you have to try it. I will definitely keep coming back! Note: they do charge for valet but it's worth it for the piece of mind. Love this little boutique hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnorred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamoindigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear morred,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay's with us. If we can make your future stays any more enjoyable let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

The descriptions of the rooms I read and saw in no way reflected the small size of our room. I had called to confirm everything, as we were traveling to San Antonio for my birthday. When the reservations agent learned of my birthday, he said he would put in for an up grade. I think they misspelled it and wrote "down grade." An undersized queen size bed barely fit. We could not order room service, and no menu was provided for a very good reason - there was only one small desk chair and no room for any type of tray. Even the flat screen was placed on top of the dresser, because there was no wall space. Luckily, a friend who joined us, was placed in a regular room which was spacious. I don't know if I'm allowed to say the room number, but it had "09" at the end (in fact, a part of the room number was missing from the space beside the door). When I called Guest Services, I was informed that they were not at the hotel and had no idea what this room did not have to offer. San Antonio is a lovely city where we spend a weekend each year for my birthday. The only reason my rating above is a "2" resides iin the fact that the room was quiet and we have always enjoyed being near the Alamo.

Room Tip: Do not accept 709 as your room at any cost....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebd8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamoindigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear ebd8888,

I am truly sorry that your stay was not up to standards. If you would like to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to call me at the hotel. I want to make sure every guest here has the best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Address: 105 N. Alamo, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
91 Room boutique hotel in a 1909 historic bldg. Hotel sits across the the street from the Alamo and 1/2 block from the Riverwalk. Close enough to walk to any and everything you will want to do in downtown San Antonio. Also home to the 1909 Bar & Bistro serving breakfast and dinner daily. Happy Hour specials every night. Let us be your home away from home on your next trip to beautiful San Antonio! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing