We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful botique and historic hotel, great location, pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Ranked #69 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful botique and historic hotel, great location, pleasant staff”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed here for a conference at the convention center which is only a few blocks away (please do note that even a 5 block walk in the San Antonio summer wearing a suit can be painful - not the hotel's fault though).

The location is wonderful. I could see the Alamo out of my window and was able to use my downtime between meetings and the conference to see both The Alamo and The Riverwalk. The hotel is in a historic building which has been beautifully preserved.

I rarely have such a memorable experience that a certain staff member remains in my mind for months but Mike, the bar man, is just brilliant. His ginger pear martini made with corn vodka from Minnesota is amazing and he is extremely friendly. The rest of the staff is similarly caring and helpful.

Furthermore, the rates are extremely reasonable. I would stay here again on business or for pleasure in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EduTravelerMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    222
    68
    37
    29
See reviews for
147
213
38
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Perfect location, just steps from the Alamo and a few blocks from the Riverwalk. Hotel Staff was great - very accommodating and helpful. The rooms are very cozy. We had two rooms across the hall from each other on the top most floor of the building. One of our rooms had a spectacular view of the Alamo, streets and Tower of Americas. It appears the corner rooms facing the Alamo might have the best view. Our biggest disappointment was the A/C/Heat unit noise. Every time it switched on during a cut off, it was extremely loud. So loud that we preferred to shut the system down instead of keeping warm. I don't know if this is an issue only with the top floor, but it was something we experienced in both rooms. Since we only spent one night, we did not bring it up with the Hotel staff - but I'm sure we wouldn't have been able to sleep another night like that. Aside from that problem, we thoroughly enjoyed the little time we spent in the historic building. And another word about their service - their staff is very friendly and warm. We also enjoyed a good breakfast at their 1909 bistro.

Room Tip: Corner rooms facing the Alamo are brighter and have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rush_c84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Six of my friends and I stayed at this hotel for the weekend. We booked in advace and used a Groupon. The Price was right, the staff was amazing, and the overall look of the hotel was pristine. The rooms were spotless and provided everything needed for a weekend stay. What made the stay most memorable was the excellent attitude of the staff and their overall willingness to assist with whatever we needed. When needing a hotel in the future, this one will be at the top of my list.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connroe, TX
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This boutique hotel is simply outstanding. The hardwood floors, the modern fixtures, and the unique decorating blend the old with the new in a charming manner. The hotel is very convenient to the Alamo and the River Walk. The staff was friendly and accommodating and every aspect of the stay was superb. We could see the front of the Alamo from our room windows.
Better signage might help the general public know and recognize this outstanding hotel. Or, maybe that's why it is well kept secret.

Room Tip: Got a great Groupon deal which included free valet parking and $20/day vouchers in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
236 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Smooth valet parking, very efficient/helpful/fast front desk staff, clean and comfortable rooms. The room we had was adequate size, not large. Very good cable TV channel selection. Checkout so smooth. Well located adjacent to the Alamo and one block walk to the river. We chalked up most of the criticisms we read from many other reviewers to the travelers not being familiar with boutique hotels, although some of the critiques may have been valid. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room -- good views from most rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HavePlaneWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This boutique hotel in a historic building across from the Alamo was lovely, comfortable and unique, with an excellent restaurant and service. Our waiter, Patrick, was attentive and very helpful and informative about the menu. Fantastic location. Since we were staying in the area past check-out, they stored our bags until we were ready to leave (3 pm is the deadline). We discovered the hotel with Groupon, so got a great deal, but would go again without it. Free valet parking was also a big plus.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The location was perfect, and the personnel were friendly and helpful. We dropped in at the bistro at 10:30 PM after they were finishing up a party of 32. They welcomed us like old friends. Patrick was especially helpful in securing a late night snack for us. We'll surely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo

Property: Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Address: 105 N Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
91 Room boutique hotel in a 1909 historic bldg. Hotel sits across the the street from the Alamo and 1/2 block from the Riverwalk. Close enough to walk to any and everything you will want to do in downtown San Antonio. Also home to the 1909 Bar & Bistro serving breakfast and dinner daily. Happy Hour specials every night. Let us be your home away from home on your next trip to beautiful San Antonio! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing