We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with a few quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hotel San Antonio North
Ranked #72 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
310 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Good with a few quirks”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This Homewood Suites is like the typical. The upside of cookie-cutter properties is that you know what to expect. The downside is tedium. If you've ever stayed at a Homewood Suites then you already know what to expect. Here is how this one is different and a few observations.

It is right off 1604 (divided highway). There are a couple of places to eat nearby (walking distance) but not many. However, one exit down the highway are a series of strip centers (Target, Lowe's, grocery stores, fast food etc). I found the signage a little lacking. I could see the hotel - but there are a number of businesses with different entrances and the hotel's sign was hard to locate initially.

The room has no doors except for the bathroom door - which is unusually large. It's as though the design was for an accessible room but then they changed their minds. The problem is that the door blocks the closet and sink area. If you are alone it's not a proble. If you have a couple of folks trying to get ready in the morning it would be a bigger annoyance.

The bathroom is shower only (no tub). That was fine for me, and the website may actually tell you that and I just missed it, but if I were travelling with kids and needed a tub that would have been a surprise for me.

I thought the breakfast was a little unusual in that there were no eggs. There was bacon one day and suusage the next, there were carb options (bread, oatmeal, pancakes etc) but no eggs. I was there for 2 days and it was the same both days - I thought that was strange.

The room is quite large. The kitchen is stocked with plates and utensils etc so it is quite functional. The bed and linens are good quality. The bath towels could stand to be updated - reminded me of the gym towels issued at the YMCA.

Overall it was quite fnctional - not luxurious - but functional with a few quirks.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    112
    48
    28
    18
See reviews for
224
61
20
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

What a great place to stay! Nice, clean, spacious rooms and very pleasant staff. The two complimentary meals are adequate and tea and coffee are available day and night. Great location right next door to the best church in the world - BONUS!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truetexangurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed for two nights and found this hotel very welcoming and convenient for our trip. Suite rooms with separate bedroom and living area was a big plus. Free breakfast was good and offered many choices for everyone. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denilong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My daughter left her ring on he floor in the bathroom with her pajamas. When we came back, it was gone. I reported it to the night shift, but when I checked back in the morning, the next shift knew nothing about the report. He said he would check with housekeeping. He acted bothered by the request when I came back after breakfast and told me housekeeping did not open until 10 AM - as if I should know when they get there. He told my husband when we left that they would contact us - never did. This was a very special ring for my daughter, and she was pretty upset. We will not be staying with Homewood Suites again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cedarparkmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed for 1 night during a business trip to San Antonio. The hotel is very similar to what one would expect with a Residence Inn with rooms that resemble a studio apartment with a sleeping area, bathroom, living area, kitchen, and a small eating area. Also included was a free breakfast that included scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, waffle machines, etc.

My room was spacious and very comfortable for my short stay. I can only assume I would have continued to remain comfortable for an extended stay as the room really had everything you could ask for. This hotel was selected due to its proximity to our company's office in San Antonio, however, due to the flow of traffic on the loop, we actually had to drive through some of the side streets behind the hotel in order to get to our office to the east. Not a big deal but a little bit of an inconvenience. Still, I wouldn't hesitate from staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We have had wonderful reviews and comments from our many guests that we book at the Homewood Suites. Our International guests enjoy the friendliness of the staff and the generous breakfast and evening dinner. The rooms are spacious so guests do not feel cooped up in a mega room property that was skimping on floor space.

This is the number one requested property from our many guests that visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is my preferred hotel when I am in San Antonio, which is very often. The amenities, staff, location and food are Awesome!!!! It's great checking into a hotel where the staff know me by name and know exactly my room preference without even having to call prior to my arrival. It's a very clean and accommodating hotel, too. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a hotel that is going to give you A BANG FOR YOUR BUCK!!!!!! Oh yeah and the heated pool, basketball court and gas grills were A BONUS for our family!!!!!

Room Tip: We prefer the first floor because it's closer to the lobby and parking lot but everyone prefers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VI-doll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far North Central
Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak
Far North Central
Comfort Suites San Antonio North Stone Oak
Far North Central
Best Western Plus Hill Country Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio Northwest
Far North Central
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio North Stone Oak
Far North Central
Staybridge Suites Stone Oak
Staybridge Suites Stone Oak
#170 of 356 in San Antonio
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Hotel San Antonio North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Hotel San Antonio North

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Hotel San Antonio North
Address: 125 N Loop 1604 W, San Antonio, TX 78232-1083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far North Central , Stone Oak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Hotel San Antonio North 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 15 minutes from San Antonio International Airport in the Stone Oak Business District, the Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio North offers convenient highway access to theme parks and attractions. Our all-suite, five-story hotel is adjacent to Cornerstone Church. Enjoy an extended stay in a spacious suite with amenities to make families and solo travelers feel at home. Make your favorite meal in your fully equipped kitchen or have a barbeque near the pool. Provide us with your grocery list so we can do the shopping to stock your refrigerator. Join us in the lobby for daily complimentary full hot breakfast. Monday through Thursday, enjoy evening dinner and drinks, also included with your stay. Enjoy amenities such as cable television and complimentary high-speed internet access. Feel at home in a spacious studio or one bedroom suite or two featuring a separate living room area with sofa bed. Use our business center for work tasks or to check email. Meet other guests on the basketball court for a quick game. Exercise in the fitness center or outdoor pool. Our Homewood Suites by Hilton® hotel is 10 miles from Sea World San Antonio and 7 miles from Six Flags® Fiesta Texas. Take a 15 minute drive to downtown San Antonio, where you can stroll the San Antonio River Walk and explore the Alamo. Browse the diverse stores at The Rim, The Shops at La Cantera shopping districts and along the San Antonio Riverwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Hotel San Antonio North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton San Antonio North Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing