We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$113
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
$113
Get rewarded with One Key
Trip.com
$108
Fully refundable before Thu, Jun 6
Breakfast included
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
JDC1963
Indianapolis, IN

Average at best.....

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 29, 2018
Room was clean, staff was friendly/efficient.
A few annoying things:
1. Even though they had rooms available for early check-in, they wanted to charge $25 extra to check in early.....
2. They charged $20 (plus tax) for parking, but I can't find any mention of that on their website, etc..... hidden outrageous fee.
3. Although location is called "riverwalk alamo", it is about a 15 minute walk from both.
4. Although room was nice, price was very high for the value it offered.....
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherry C, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk, responded to this review
Responded Jan 2, 2019
We truly appreciate your business and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk is a woman owned and operated hotel, and we want all our guests to experience true Texas hospitality and quality accommodations while exploring the sights and sounds of the downtown San Antonio area. Although we are not ON the Riverwalk, it is only 4 blocks to the River Center Mall and the Riverwalk, and 3 blocks to the Alamo. Being a few blocks away from the heart of downtown gives us the opportunity to provide our guest with excellent accommodations and outstanding service at a great value in downtown San Antonio. The goal of every member of our staff is to deliver the best customer service and assist in every way to provide every guest with a wonderful experience while visiting our beautiful city. We have no control when guests book on sites that do not list the parking fees to guests, as our web site with Choice Hotels clearly states our parking fee so that our guests know when making a reservation that there is an additional $20 fee for parking.

We hope that you enjoyed your time in San Antonio and captured many treasured memories during your visit. Happy New Year!

Donna
Guest Services
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$105
  • Expedia.com
    $96
  • Agoda.com
    $88
  • Hotels.com
    $96
0.4 miles from Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
Westin.com
$249
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $249
  • Algotels
    $211
  • Hotels.com
    $249
0.6 miles from Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$110
  • Priceline
    $122
  • ZenHotels.com
    $108
  • Official Site
    $112
0.3 miles from Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
$119
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $119
  • Agoda.com
    $86
  • Skyscanner.com
    $99
0.8 miles from Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$184
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $182
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
    $182
0.6 miles from Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$218
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $218
  • ZenHotels.com
    $208
  • Expedia.com
    $218
0.4 miles from Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$119
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $119
  • Expedia.com
    $119
  • Priceline
    $119
0.7 miles from Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
$219
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Agoda.com
    $185
  • Priceline
    $219
11.8 miles from Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
$399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $399
  • ZenHotels.com
    $331
  • Algotels
17.3 miles from Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$439
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $439
  • Skyscanner.com
    $365
  • Expedia.com
    $439
12.3 miles from Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Antonio
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveler rating
912
295
93
43
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
912
295
93
43
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews georgia rios food and beverage manager choice hotels waffles river walk homeless people riverwalk area free breakfast shuttle alamo overpass downtown texas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2018

Very nice, clean, large room. Morning breakfast buffet had a nice selection and good coffee. The M-T happy hour was very much appreciated by me & my travel friends. The Food Manager, Georgia Rios & the front desk staff were extremely accommodating; I'd stay there again.

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank Gladys Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherry C, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2018

Our owner, Sherry Chaudhry, enjoys providing extra amenities such as our complimentary Manager’s Wine & Cheese Reception every Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm that includes beer, wine, appetizers, and snacks, giving her the opportunity to meet and visit with our guests. As a woman owned and operated small business in a large, highly competitive downtown market, she is passionate about total guest satisfaction and endeavors to provide our guests with exceptional service and the little "extras" that sets Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk apart from and above the competition.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, and hope you captured many treasured memories of San Antonio during your visit. We look forward to your return.

Happy New Year
Donna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2018 via mobile

I have to say that this was probably top 5 customer service I’ve experienced from a hotel and I travel quite often. Joseph and Nicole at the front desk exceeded my expectations starting with the way I was greeted while walking through the front doors. I would highly recommend this place because of how I was treated by Joseph and Nicole at the front desk. Great stay!!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Bsimms45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherry C, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk. We truly appreciate the kind words about the hospitality you were shown by Joseph and Nicole. Most people will find that all our staff members take great pride in serving our customers. We try to treat every guest like a member of our family. We know there are unlimited choices of hotels but we are different, as you can't always get that "Texas Hospitality" that we pride ourselves in. As a woman owned and operated small boutique hotel, we want to make sure that all our guests have an exceptional experience, and will consider Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk their “home away from home.” Safe journeys in all your travels and we hope you return soon to enjoy the festivities, food, and fun of our great city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018

We enjoyed our stay here. The location is close enough to Riverwalk and the other attractions to walk. The facilities were clean and well maintained. The breakfast was good with eggs, potatoes, sausage, and waffles. Fruit, yogert, and other offerings as well. There is a $20/day parking fee but the lot is secured overnight so it is worth it. Surprised at how quiet the room was being so close to the interstate.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Beau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherry C, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed our generous complimentary breakfast buffet. We truly do everything possible to provide the best value in downtown San Antonio. We sincerely appreciate your business. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in San Antonio and captured many treasured memories during your visit. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018 via mobile

The hotel was nice and I would stay again. My only complaints would be it’s a 15 minute walk from the riverwalk and there weren’t many gluten free breakfast options. However, the hotel was nice, clean, and comfortable. As long as the folks in your party are able to walk the 15 minutes to Riverwalk, this is a good choice.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank adriennelew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherry C, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2018

We truly appreciate your positive ratings and review, and thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. San Antonio has so much to offer all our visitors, from those just around the corner, as well as from far off places. The romance, flavors, sounds and treasures of the city await all those who come to get away from home for a day, a week or a month, and experience the HEART of Texas. Being a few blocks away from the heart of downtown gives us the opportunity to provide our guest with excellent accommodations and outstanding service at a great value in downtown San Antonio. Thanks again for sharing your experience. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2018 via mobile

Love, Love, Love, this hotel. They have an awesome staff and an incredible manager named Marcus. Everyone is so sweet and attentive as well as extremely accommodating. Def a must stay if you have kids as they have a pool/hot tub AND a putting green to keep everyone entertained. The lobby is gorgeous and they even have a small market in there as well. Breakfast is definitely better than anything I've had staying at a hotel and the rooms are fantastic. I had a cityview w a spectacular view n a bed to die for. It was so soft and the pillows we're awesome.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Phly Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherry C, Owner at Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2018

We very much appreciate your Phenomenal review and ratings regarding your recent stay with us at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk. We are delighted that we were able to accommodate you with a wonderful experience. We sincerely appreciate your business and we hope that you enjoyed your stay in San Antonio, capturing many treasured memories during your visit. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews