We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good San Antonio hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #13 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good San Antonio hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed here on an overnight stopover. Great location to see the Alamo, Riverwalk, etc. Good sized room, friendly service, free parking and a good breakfast. Easy to find from the interstate and only about 10 minutes by car to the AT&T Center.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcwalker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    233
    75
    27
    11
See reviews for
395
317
32
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here two nights while visiting the Riverwalk. One of nicest Comfort Inns we've stayed in. We were pleased with everything! Staff was helpful, breakfast was one of the best we've had, room extra nice. We enjoyed walking to the Riverwalk each morning and not needing a car while here. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyfully8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Wished I could have stayed longer! The staff were incredible and so welcoming - just can't say enought good things about them. They could teach other hotels the gift of hospitality!
Our room was beautiful and clean - (however, I do wish hotels would stop using the powder creamers for the coffee service!).
The breakfast area was incredibly clean and very relaxing.
Parking was easy - and we could have walked to most of the places - but chose to drive instead.
The Riverwalk and the Alamo are best at night!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room away from the freeway! We were a bit too close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reagangirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We found this offer on groupon and booked it because we needed a cheap place to stay for a night. We arrived and the location immediately exceeded expectations. The location is great and the staff was so friendly! The room was amazing, clean, and we had a view of the city skyline on the river walk. The hostess manager, Georgia Rios, was incredible in making my boyfriend and I feel welcome at the complimentary wine and cheese reception the hotel hosts. I'm am more than satisfied with my stay and plan on coming back very soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for giving us your feedback! It is fantastic to hear that your expectations were immediately exceeded upon arrival! We spared no expense to create the Spanish/Tuscan décor at our hotel inside and out. We are also delighted that you found our location very convenient in downtown San Antonio and that you were easily able to walk to many of the famous downtown attractions including the Alamo and River Walk. Lastly, we are very pleased that our staff was beyond accommodating. We look forward to your next stay at our hotel! Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Suites for 5 days and was so pleased with everything about this place. To begin with every one that worked there was so helpful and very pleasant. They all seemed to enjoy working there, The breakfast was awesome with something different every day. Even the owner of the motel came out and met with us to make sure that our stay there had met all of our needs. We were withing walking distance of everything on the riverwalk. We will stay there again when we came back to San Antonio. The place was so pretty and modern . We can only say good things about this place. !!!!! So much more than we had expected..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for providing us with very positive comments about your recent stay at the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk! We are ecstatic to hear that you found our staff very helpful and pleasant, as they do their very best each and every day to satisfy our guests. It is always wonderful to hear that a guest’s experience was above and beyond what was expected – we strive for this. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our free full breakfast buffet every day. We do our best to ensure there are always plenty of breakfast options for our guests both hot and cold, and we like to vary the hot items each day so that guests enjoy plenty of variety during their stay. We hope that you come back to San Antonio soon and continue to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Upon arrival, as well as during our stay, the staff was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was fabulous.
Being in walking distance to all the attractions we wanted to see, made this hotel the perfect place for us to stay. We enjoyed it so much, that we extended our stay another night.

If we ever find ourselves in San Antonio again, I know exactly were I will go for a good nights rest.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itzalark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are extremely pleased to hear that you found our staff to be very courteous and helpful – they are the heart of our hotel and we are very proud of them! It is also a delight that you thoroughly enjoyed our free full hot breakfast buffet every morning. We hope you had a chance to try one of our flavored Texas-shaped waffles! Even though we are only three blocks from the Alamo and River Walk, it is fantastic to hear that you were able to conveniently walk to all of the attractions in downtown with no trouble – many of our guests enjoy the short walk as it provides them with an opportunity to take in more culture from San Antonio when passing the boutique shops and delicious restaurants and food vendors. We sincerely appreciate your business and your candid kind words about our hotel and staff. We can’t wait for you to return to our hotel next time you are in downtown San Antonio so that we may exceed your expectations again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We split our time in San Anton between the Comfort Suites and a B&B in the King William District (also reviewed).
The good: I thought both the exterior and indoor areas of this hotel were attractive. Our room & bathroom were quite large and clean. Though the hotel seemed busy/booked, we were on the top floor and never heard anyone around us or in the hallway. When pulled, the draperies kept the room very dark during the night/early morning. The hotel is within definite walking distance to The Alamo and Riverwalk (we walked everywhere & never moved our car from the lot). The hotel provides a free shuttle to downtown/Riverwalk. There's an outdoor patio where you can eat breakfast or drink complimentary evening cocktails. The patio is walled for privacy - unfortunately, the wall can't block out the traffic noise from the freeway.
Which leads to the bad....
The freeway and an exit ramp are literally right outside the hotel's parking lot, so the traffic noise is disruptive to trying to enjoy the outdoor space. The traffic might also be an issue to people wanting to walk downtown, as you have to cross the exit ramp, though it wasn't an issue for us. Actually, the traffic noise in the room was surprisingly minimal, given the close proximity of the freeway. Our shower water pressure was pretty bad (low). The Wi-Fi was non-existent in our room; it was fine if I went down to the lobby - and sometimes (weirdly!) I was able to log onto Wi-fi from the hotel next door, but that was very hit or miss and frustrating.
Though our room & bathroom at the Comfort Suites was much bigger and though we paid $35/night more at the B&B, we preferred the B&B. However, that's a matter of taste and circumstance - we weren't travelling with kids, etc.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi on top floor was non-existent; it was fine in the lobby. Maybe it's better on lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! It is great to hear that you were very satisfied with the décor of whole hotel as well as the quality and cleanliness of your room! It is true that we are located at the corner of Interstate-37 and E. Houston St., and so we put in the extra expense of constructing our hotel out of solid concrete as well as using Pella double-paned windows in all the rooms in order to muffle the sound of the freeway – and we are very pleased that you noticed this and had no problems with noise in your room. We do apologize for any internet issues that you experienced; however, this is not the norm considering we have the fastest wireless internet speed available to a commercial business by Time Warner Cable. If you do decide to stay with us in the future (and we hope you do!), you should be pleasantly surprised with the speed of your internet connection anywhere in our hotel. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, and we hope to you see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#17 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,382 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Property: Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm during our complimentary Manager's Reception. NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station was just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. Riverwalk minutes away from our 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base(Packages on our hotel site), Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates), family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the San Antonio Zoo (SPECIAL ZOO PACKAGE ON HOTEL SITE), Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this unique hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing