We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #14 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights. Not quite near the Alamo or Riverwalk but def. in walking distance. The only downside was the view from the room. The hotel is right off the highway but there was really no highway noise in the room which was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay! We are glad that you had wonderful stay at our hotel and that you were easily able to walk to all of the famous attractions in downtown San Antonio from the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk. It is also great that you were not disturbed by any traffic noise near our hotel, as we built the hotel in a way to ensure this was not an issue for any of our guests. We hope that you do return to San Antonio soon and that you continue to stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    238
    76
    27
    14
See reviews for
405
330
32
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cowanesque, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very good price, even with the extra parking pay but only small walk to riverwalk/Alamo. Staff was very friendly and room very nice. Breakfast was awesome and put out very nice spread...loby area/kitchen was wonderful. Was here on business and will make this a normal stop over.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantbagpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are very delighted to hear that you, as a business traveler, found our hotel to be an exceptional value and a wonderful hotel to stay at in order to enjoy all that downtown San Antonio has to offer! It is also fantastic that you thought our breakfast was ‘awesome’ with a vast spread of hot and cold options for all our guests. Breakfast is one of the centerpieces for our hotel, as we put every effort into providing a variety of options that differ every day and is offered completely free to all of our guests – saving everyone money that could otherwise be spent on margaritas on the River Walk! We truly hope that you do continue to make the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk a normal stop for you, and we will continue to exceed your service expectations! Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed four nights at this hotel last week and were treated very well. All the staff was helpful and courteous, and Georgia Rios really made us feel welcome! Loved the Tues-Thurs wine and cheese parties!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback! It is wonderful that you were able to spend four nights at our hotel and that you enjoyed every one of them! Our Manager’s Wine & Cheese Reception on Tuesday – Thursday from 5-7pm is a great opportunity to guests to mingle as the enjoy complimentary beer, wine, cheese, and snacks prior to venturing out for a night on the River Walk! We are glad you loved these receptions. We hope that you do return to San Antonio soon and that you continue to stay at the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I’m quite puzzled by the rest of the reviews, I don’t quite get it, looks as if I was in a different hotel
Location is not bad, but not the best, there’s a lot of noise from the highway and service very friendly but inefficient if you really need something other than directions and greetings.

Rooms are good size, clean and comfortable BUT next to the highway and it’s very NOISY at night, for me it was the noisiest hotel I’ve been to (traffic wise), whether the building is made of concrete or not you have the highway in front of you and, at least my room, was flooded with traffic noise at night (I don’t know if all the rooms are like this). I know there’s not much they can’t do about that other than not building a hotel next to a highway .. or give these rooms a a very discounted price

Location: a short walk not far from The Alamo and the start of all the touristic area (having said that there are over a dozen hotels in the area that are closer to the main attractions in the area ).

Service: We booked a crib, on arrival (we didn’t went to the room straight away) we asked if the crib was ready the lady at reception said ‘ I believe it is but if not I’ll make sure it’s ready by when you come back” few hours later when we went to the room there was no crib, I asked again for it and they told me I had to pick it up my self from reception (where is the great service??)…
Other than that everybody was friendly and willing to help with directions

Breakfast: standard very basic buffet in PLASTIC plates/cups/cutlery. I can’t understand that anybody says it’s good (may be compared to McDonalds?)

So if you don't need a crib (or any room service), don't care about food and traffic noise doesn't bother you this hotel is a good option to visit San Antonio

Tip for parking: there is a public parking next to this hotel for $2.5 (for day use as it expires at the night) and overnight for $10 next to the Rivercenter Mall (prices as of Easter 2014) although it looks to me they change the price depending on the occasion.

Room Tip: Far from highway, it's very noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found our location to be very convenient to all the major attractions in downtown San Antonio – we are only three blocks from the famous Alamo and River Walk! We do apologize for any traffic noise that you may have heard in your room, but we made every effort to prevent this, and this is actually not an issue in most of the rooms. We hope that you reached out to our guest service staff during your stay in order to let them better accommodate you with a room a little further away from the freeway if the noise was a significant issue for you. Moreover, we do apologize for the service issue related to your requested crib and we have made sure this will not happen in the future – once again we do apologize for this. We hope that you do decide to give our hotel another chance during your future stay in San Antonio, and I am sure you will be surprised by how we exceed your expectations! Thank you again for your candid feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The staff is very nice and the location is good. The room was spacious. They serve an okay breakfast. What keeps me from saying it was excellent is the price which I think is too high, the very slow internet and the housekeeping which was uneven. There are so many hotels in San Antonio that I would probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rehavia6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
We appreciate you providing us with feedback from your stay. We are very delighted to hear that our staff was able to provide you with exceptional service – they do their very best every day to accommodate each and every guest! It is also great that you found our location convenient – only a short walk to the famous Alamo and River Walk! We do apologize for your uneven service with the housekeeping, but I hope that you reached out to our guest service staff in order to rectify any service issues you may have experienced during your stay. We hope that you do continue to stay with us during your future travels to San Antonio, and I am sure you will be pleasantly surprised! Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is clean, has friendly staff, is attentive, safe and welcoming. Free Wine, beer, snacks and cheese happy hour three says a week along with hot breakfast daily. You can't beat it. We have stayed at quite a few of the high end hotels in the past (Ritz, Fairmont) and have to say this hotel matches them in customer care. Loved it and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant but we rated it based on breakfast bar and evening wine and cheese events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are ecstatic to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk. It is very pleasing that you were able to thoroughly enjoy not only our free full hot breakfast buffet every morning but also our Manager’s Wine & Cheese Reception (Tues-Thurs 5-7pm). We understand how important food and beverage is to our guests, so we do our best to provide them with an unparalleled complimentary food and beverage experience. We also sincerely appreciate you positive comments about the cleanliness of the hotel and the high level of customer service delivered by our staff. We hope that you continue to stay with us during your future visits to downtown San Antonio, TX. Thank you again for your very positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was very close to giving this hotel 5 stars but decided to give it 4. I think this hotel is an excellent value for the money and we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was excellent and we also enjoyed the manager's reception for all 3 nights of our stay. There are a couple reasons for the 4 star rating. First, you could hear the nearby highway, especially in the early morning. Second, they did run out of some food with the manager's reception. Finally, the shuttle that leaves on the hour always ran late in the morning. Despite those things, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rwtimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with you feedback. We appreciate you finding our hotel to be an exceptional value for a downtown San Antonio hotel. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy the complimentary Manager’s Wine & Cheese Reception that takes place every Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm. We do apologize for the inconvenience with the shuttle; however, we do like to give the guests who signed up for it a little time to show up at the shuttle before we leave. We are actually in the middle of our Fiesta Season which is from April 10-27th and there is an exciting event currently going on called “Tejano Explosion” located in Cattleman’s Square which has superb Tejano music entertainers as well as authentic Mexican foods, so there is more than just our reception to enjoy. We hope you can make it back soon to enjoy some of Fiesta before it ends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
2,995 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,643 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Property: Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm during our complimentary Manager's Reception. NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station was just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. Riverwalk minutes away from our 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base(Packages on our hotel site), Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates), family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the San Antonio Zoo (SPECIAL ZOO PACKAGE ON HOTEL SITE), Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this unique hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing