We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #11 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very good price, even with the extra parking pay but only small walk to riverwalk/Alamo. Staff was very friendly and room very nice. Breakfast was awesome and put out very nice spread...loby area/kitchen was wonderful. Was here on business and will make this a normal stop over.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantbagpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are very delighted to hear that you, as a business traveler, found our hotel to be an exceptional value and a wonderful hotel to stay at in order to enjoy all that downtown San Antonio has to offer! It is also fantastic that you thought our breakfast was ‘awesome’ with a vast spread of hot and cold options for all our guests. Breakfast is one of the centerpieces for our hotel, as we put every effort into providing a variety of options that differ every day and is offered completely free to all of our guests – saving everyone money that could otherwise be spent on margaritas on the River Walk! We truly hope that you do continue to make the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk a normal stop for you, and we will continue to exceed your service expectations! Thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed four nights at this hotel last week and were treated very well. All the staff was helpful and courteous, and Georgia Rios really made us feel welcome! Loved the Tues-Thurs wine and cheese parties!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for your candid feedback! It is wonderful that you were able to spend four nights at our hotel and that you enjoyed every one of them! Our Manager’s Wine & Cheese Reception on Tuesday – Thursday from 5-7pm is a great opportunity to guests to mingle as the enjoy complimentary beer, wine, cheese, and snacks prior to venturing out for a night on the River Walk! We are glad you loved these receptions. We hope that you do return to San Antonio soon and that you continue to stay at the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I’m quite puzzled by the rest of the reviews, I don’t quite get it, looks as if I was in a different hotel
Location is not bad, but not the best, there’s a lot of noise from the highway and service very friendly but inefficient if you really need something other than directions and greetings.

Rooms are good size, clean and comfortable BUT next to the highway and it’s very NOISY at night, for me it was the noisiest hotel I’ve been to (traffic wise), whether the building is made of concrete or not you have the highway in front of you and, at least my room, was flooded with traffic noise at night (I don’t know if all the rooms are like this). I know there’s not much they can’t do about that other than not building a hotel next to a highway .. or give these rooms a a very discounted price

Location: a short walk not far from The Alamo and the start of all the touristic area (having said that there are over a dozen hotels in the area that are closer to the main attractions in the area ).

Service: We booked a crib, on arrival (we didn’t went to the room straight away) we asked if the crib was ready the lady at reception said ‘ I believe it is but if not I’ll make sure it’s ready by when you come back” few hours later when we went to the room there was no crib, I asked again for it and they told me I had to pick it up my self from reception (where is the great service??)…
Other than that everybody was friendly and willing to help with directions

Breakfast: standard very basic buffet in PLASTIC plates/cups/cutlery. I can’t understand that anybody says it’s good (may be compared to McDonalds?)

So if you don't need a crib (or any room service), don't care about food and traffic noise doesn't bother you this hotel is a good option to visit San Antonio

Tip for parking: there is a public parking next to this hotel for $2.5 (for day use as it expires at the night) and overnight for $10 next to the Rivercenter Mall (prices as of Easter 2014) although it looks to me they change the price depending on the occasion.

Room Tip: Far from highway, it's very noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found our location to be very convenient to all the major attractions in downtown San Antonio – we are only three blocks from the famous Alamo and River Walk! We do apologize for any traffic noise that you may have heard in your room, but we made every effort to prevent this, and this is actually not an issue in most of the rooms. We hope that you reached out to our guest service staff during your stay in order to let them better accommodate you with a room a little further away from the freeway if the noise was a significant issue for you. Moreover, we do apologize for the service issue related to your requested crib and we have made sure this will not happen in the future – once again we do apologize for this. We hope that you do decide to give our hotel another chance during your future stay in San Antonio, and I am sure you will be surprised by how we exceed your expectations! Thank you again for your candid feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The staff is very nice and the location is good. The room was spacious. They serve an okay breakfast. What keeps me from saying it was excellent is the price which I think is too high, the very slow internet and the housekeeping which was uneven. There are so many hotels in San Antonio that I would probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rehavia6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

We appreciate you providing us with feedback from your stay. We are very delighted to hear that our staff was able to provide you with exceptional service – they do their very best every day to accommodate each and every guest! It is also great that you found our location convenient – only a short walk to the famous Alamo and River Walk! We do apologize for your uneven service with the housekeeping, but I hope that you reached out to our guest service staff in order to rectify any service issues you may have experienced during your stay. We hope that you do continue to stay with us during your future travels to San Antonio, and I am sure you will be pleasantly surprised! Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is clean, has friendly staff, is attentive, safe and welcoming. Free Wine, beer, snacks and cheese happy hour three says a week along with hot breakfast daily. You can't beat it. We have stayed at quite a few of the high end hotels in the past (Ritz, Fairmont) and have to say this hotel matches them in customer care. Loved it and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant but we rated it based on breakfast bar and evening wine and cheese events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are ecstatic to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk. It is very pleasing that you were able to thoroughly enjoy not only our free full hot breakfast buffet every morning but also our Manager’s Wine & Cheese Reception (Tues-Thurs 5-7pm). We understand how important food and beverage is to our guests, so we do our best to provide them with an unparalleled complimentary food and beverage experience. We also sincerely appreciate you positive comments about the cleanliness of the hotel and the high level of customer service delivered by our staff. We hope that you continue to stay with us during your future visits to downtown San Antonio, TX. Thank you again for your very positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was very close to giving this hotel 5 stars but decided to give it 4. I think this hotel is an excellent value for the money and we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was excellent and we also enjoyed the manager's reception for all 3 nights of our stay. There are a couple reasons for the 4 star rating. First, you could hear the nearby highway, especially in the early morning. Second, they did run out of some food with the manager's reception. Finally, the shuttle that leaves on the hour always ran late in the morning. Despite those things, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank rwtimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with you feedback. We appreciate you finding our hotel to be an exceptional value for a downtown San Antonio hotel. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy the complimentary Manager’s Wine & Cheese Reception that takes place every Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm. We do apologize for the inconvenience with the shuttle; however, we do like to give the guests who signed up for it a little time to show up at the shuttle before we leave. We are actually in the middle of our Fiesta Season which is from April 10-27th and there is an exciting event currently going on called “Tejano Explosion” located in Cattleman’s Square which has superb Tejano music entertainers as well as authentic Mexican foods, so there is more than just our reception to enjoy. We hope you can make it back soon to enjoy some of Fiesta before it ends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel is very comfortable in all aspects. The rooms are very spacious, Georgia Rios, the hostess is personable and giving, the front desk staff was attentive to all needs. This was our first visit to San Antonio. We were in town for our son's BMT graduation held at Lackland Air Force Base. The base was approximately a 20 minute drive. The location of this hotel was an easy walk to the Alamo and Riverwalk. Some other family members stayed at other hotels and stated that our hotel (the Comfort Suites) was much better than their choice. Thank you for the wonderful place to stay and making our 1st visit to San Antonio such an excellent time. We would stay with Georgia and the Comfort Suites every time.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor has the laundry room and an opening to look down to the lobby. I feel any room in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToddNJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Suites_Owner, Manager at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We sincerely thank you for giving us your feedback from your recent stay at the Comfort Suites Alamo/River Walk. We are flattered by your compliments and we will certainly let our staff hear about your delightful experience at our hotel. We are always more than happy to accommodate the families of individuals graduating from BMT at the nearby bases. Don’t hesitate to come back this summer to enjoy the warm weather on the River Walk and some of the fantastic nearby theme parks – Six Flags Fiesta Texas and SeaWorld San Antonio. We are glad you had a great time and we hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,117 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
2,008 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,149 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $113 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. 89 suites and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigeratorheated pool, hot tub, Walking distance to 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates) SeaWorld and Trinity University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing