We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met my needs; location was not my favorite.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #11 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was very nice and rooms were good size for a family of four. Breakfast was average and nothing significant stood out. The wifi was a little weak on the top floor. The hotel is located next to interstate highway so expect road noise. The Alamo and Riverwalk are several blocks away and parking is $15 at hotel. Didn't really get a safe feel due to location and some shady characters lurking near the outside perimeter of hotel. I recommend taking a cab at night instead of walking with family to and from hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripguide1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very helpful staff who gave us directions and maps. Our room was large and very clean. Had coffee maker, micro and fridge. Very comfortable sitting area and clean bathroom. Very good position to walk into the Alamo area and the River Walk. Breakfasts were good and variable. The only downside is you are very near to the I-37 and get road noise. Luckily we had the AC on at night and that covered most of the noise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAN53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you hear a word "suite", you probably would not expect much from it. I, in fact, did not expect at all. Though the service and level of comfort went over my expectations. The room was big for the money I paid and the bed was really comfortable. Because I traveled solo as a woman, security could be an issue. However, I did not have any issue with security either. Location was also perfect because the downtown was in a walking distance. As a result, I was able to fully experience San Antonio without paying for gas. In addition, the front desk people can help you to find out what is good in the town if you ask them. Overall, I really really enjoyed it and I already miss being in San Antonio. Should I have chance to go back, I will definitely stay here again. Good location, good service, secured, and way more affordable than hotels in the middle of downtown San Antonio such as Grand Hyatt.
Of course, it was $300 for two nights and for a student like me that is a lot of money, but it was definitely worthy paying that much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joannechaewon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is not on the Riverwalk; actually it is just across the interstate from the tourist area but you can walk under the interstate through the hotel parking lot and it is just a few blocks. It took us about 15 minutes to walk to the Alamodome. I read in other reviews that there was a hotel shuttle and I asked about it because it was raining when we arrived but was told there was not a shuttle available. The desk clerk said a cab ride to the Alamodome was about $5 but the rain let up and we walked. We returned without crossing back under the interstate to walk through the tourist area and I don't recommend it. The area was mostly deserted and we met a couple of shady characters. We were glad to get back to to the hotel. Our room was spacious and clean. Didn't care for the little square pillows. The small refrigerator worked well and the flat screen TV was nice. We had a room on the 2nd floor and it was quiet. The breakfast area was quite busy at 8:45 Sunday morning. The blueberry waffles were especially good. Did not care for the deli ham served instead of bacon or sausage. Parking is $15 and I requested that the room safe charge be removed because we did not need it. We used points to pay for our stay at this hotel and although it was nice, we will opt to stay at a hotel closer to the Riverwalk or Alamodome when we return to San Antonio.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel2Pho2graph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a trip with grandkids. Rooms clean, nicely furnished. A little smaller than I thought they would be, but were fine. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Bath nicely amenitied and very clean. A fuse blew due to the fact that we were running two hair dryers. Went to desk and reported and they had it fixed within 10 minutes. Staff very friendly and helpful - knowledgeable about San Antonio attractions. Breakfast buffet was great. Our grandkids were so excited when they saw they could make Texas shaped waffles! Pool is a little small, but enough for kids to enjoy.
For the money, this is a great deal. Price was very reasonable for such a tourist mecca as San Antonio.
I'd stay here again! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our view was of the street - not too appealing - if view is important to you, ask. Our room was nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was my second stay at Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk and I truly appreciate the value and quality of amenities. The suites are large and clean and the free in-room WiFi is a plus. Love the comfy beds and nice soft large bath towels. Check-in and out is fast and efficiency and the staff is courteous and friendly. The dining area is clean and spacious and offers delicious hot breakfast and a relaxing happy hour. You do have to pay daily for parking but that's not a deal breaker for me. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Riverwalk and Alamo. An additional plus for me is that there's easy access to the freeway! I'll be making several trips a year to San Antonio since my granddaughter and her new baby are living there now. I'm fairly sure Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk will become my home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at a number of Comfort Suites that are good but this hotel is the best. The King Suite was exceptionally large, the dining area was very comfortable, the food fresh and hot, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean and neat. The best value for a visit to the riverwalk.

Room Tip: It is near the highway so you should request a room on the opposite side. It's not that noisy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engineer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
2,040 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,144 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $111 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. 89 suites and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigeratorheated pool, hot tub, Walking distance to 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates) SeaWorld and Trinity University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing