We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to stay here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #11 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“You have to stay here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I love visiting San Antonio and I highly recommend if you go there that you ONLY stay at the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk. Not only is the hotel decor absolutely beautiful, but the staff is super friendly and helpful with information about local attractions. The rooms are clean, quiet, and cozy and the breakfast is delicious. My favorite is the Texas shaped waffles!! The big advantage is that this hotel is smaller than some of the "big chain" hotels so the personal attention and warm welcome you get from the staff makes a HUGE difference and the fact it is literally blocks from the Riverwalk makes it the perfect place to stay. The parking lot is safe and secure and you will feel right at home. I cannot wait to go back on my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    216
    69
    25
    9
See reviews for
367
296
32
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our family of four ( two nine year kids) stayed here for five days. The hotel was perfect! We stayed in a queen room that was big! We had two queen beds and a pullout couch, microwave, and a mini fridge. A mini fridge and microwave is perfect for snacks and leftovers! We never ate out for breakfast because the hotel had a perfect continental breakfast. The pool and hot tub made the kids happy we when came back to the room mid day to do laundry,etc. Our room was clean and the beds were comfy. The young gentleman at the front desk was extremely helpful. This hotel is a short walk from the Riverwalk. We enjoyed the short walk each day. The price was just right too!!.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labsntwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Hill
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Booked a last minute trip during a Spring Break weekend with less than a day's notice and didn't expect to find the #4 rated hotel in San Antonio available. Turned out to be a great short stay at a good price.

I can see why they're rated so high...very nice room, fairly close to the Alamo, etc., but the people were the difference. Everything that they did demonstrated focus on the extra step for their customers. We had no worries and they ensured that we had everything that we needed, especially info.

Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to tell them that you're traveling as a family...it seemed to get us a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LibertyHillDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Comfort Suites is the perfect distance from the downtown sites - close enough to walk to everything but far enough away to have easy parking and some peace & quiet. My husband and I decided to stay here for the great price, pool/jacuzzi, free breakfast, and easy parking. We walked to the Alamo and the Riverwalk (5 minutes or less) and enjoyed coming back to relax in the waterfall jacuzzi. The breakfast is great - eggs, cereal, waffles, coffee all day...and the staff was very efficient and kind. Will definitely stay here again when we go back to San Antonio.

Room Tip: We sprung for a room on the top floor - pretty good view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were EXTREMELY PLEASED with our stay. Our only disappointment was that the name gave the impression that it was on the River Walk near The Alamo, but it was a bit of a walk. Turns out the walk was WONDERFUL & it didn't kill us! The hotel van offered us a ride but we said we'd walk! Even after that we chose to walk the next day too! San Antonio is one of the MOST BEAUTIFUL cities at night. The breakfast was very good & very filling. Our two 9 yr old granddaughters had a BLAST! The pool & hot tub were PERFECT! We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petunia1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Would like to thank the employees at the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk hotel. Very nice and very helpful. A Very Special thanks goes to Ms. Georgia Rios she was so so nice to me and my family she really made us feel so welcome and she seem like she really love her job. She is a keeper you dont find to many good workers like her. Thank you so much. A very nice person.

Room Tip: Over all this is a very nice hotel. I didnt give the room a good rating because who ever clean the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbrarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I don't normally stop at 2-3 star hotels but based on previous positive comments on tripadvisor I didn't hesitate to book this hotel.
First impressions count and I have to say I was initially shocked when checking in. The welcome was at best very mediocre and with little or no information regarding the hotel offered, I was even more surprised when I realized I was being checked in by Melissa Sanchez the Manager.
However the rest of this review is good. standards are high, the Staff are highly motivated. It's a busy hotel I was here for Spring break and the place was mobbed. In spite of this there was always a great selection to chose from and it was well organized. Well done Mrs Rios in charge of this area.
Other good points free WIFI, clean spacious rooms- a little dark for my taste but acceptable.
Parking charge was a negative but it's not extortionate. Hotel close to all good spots and restaurants- never felt unsafe in this area.
There is however one member of Staff who deserves special attention and this is Aaron, consistently professional , always cheerful and pleasant with nothing ever too much for him. Well done Aaron you are a credit to your company.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank antontyrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,531 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#9 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,358 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
#8 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Property: Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Address: 505 Live Oak Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VOTED "BEST Value Downtown" because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus! FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres during our complimentary Manager's Reception Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm.Update! NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station was just installed!Located only 3 blocks from the historic Alamo, Riverwalk, & Convention Center, this Mediterranean, boutique-style Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk is perfect for everyone & everything - including families, Military, leisure, business, conventions, etc. This beautiful property has 89 suites with either 1 king bed or 2 queen beds, and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigerator. The beautiful property also boasts its' heated pool, hot tub, (brand new)fitness center, business center, & a putting green. Walking distance to everywhere downtown, 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Additionally, there is a FREE one-way limited shuttle service that takes guests from our hotel into downtown on Mon-Sat from 9am-9pm; moreover, we do not pick up guests from downtown. Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base, Ft Sam Medical Courses, family reunions, "Sisters of the Traveling Pants" and more. SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas are only 20-25 minutes away, Ft Sam is one exit north and Trinity University and InCarnate Word University are one exit away. City transportation is great with a one day bus pass you can ride the bus to the Zoo, Witte Museum and San Antonio Museum of Art and the Pearl Brewery. Stay in San Antonio at the Comfort Suites for that "Unique experience". Owner operated by The Chaudhry's who designed and built this hotel for your personal enjoyment. Bienvenidos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing