We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel ,Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #8 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel, spacious room and bathroom.
Ray ,the asst manager. was wonderful to us and helped us with the shuttle the hotel has to the Riverwalk ,permitting us to call for a ride instead of waiting evey hour as we had a 20 month old with us (and when a 20 month old is tired and cranky they want to go back to the hotel ASAP) He went out of his way and we appreciated it alot!
Georgia who does the breakfasts took a personal interest in the guests and made us feel special.Our little one ate her scrambled eggs and she never eats eggs,they were that good.
Great waffles and other items for breakfast as well.
I recommend this hotel knowing it is a good 20 min walk to the Riverfront area and about 10 to the Alamo which is about as close as most of the hotels are.There is a shuttle that runs every hour not only to the Riverfront but to nearby areas as well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

My husband and I travel frequently and have stayed at many Choice Hotel properties, as well as Wyndham, Hilton, Marriott and more. This hotel experience was the overall best we have had. The facility was as beautiful and clean as the website pictures, but it was the people who made our stay truly memorable. We stayed three nights before leaving to spend time with family in Burleson and when we came back on Thanksgiving day to spend the night before flying home the next day, it felt like a homecoming already. The mgr's receptions the prior week were great, even including Brie, fruit and wine, but on Thanksgiving evening, Ray and Georgia put on a spread. There was turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes, gravy, corn on the cob, cranberry sauce, rolls and pumpkin pie. Georgia even treated us with a delicious homemade sweet potato casserole because I mentioned one the week before. The owners, Mr. and Mrs C, mingled with guests on some evenings. They and the entire staff made us feel like family. The pool, jacuzzi and patio area were quite nice. The breakfast is good. The location is not right on the river, but is within easy walking distance of the Alamo and Riverwalk, and a free hourly hotel shuttle is available for those locations.

Room Tip: Rooms have microwaves, refrigerator and coffeemaker. Fifth floor rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOBandBECKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Comfort suite was the host hotel for our annual training meeting this month. This meeting had to be put together on a very short notice. Mrs Martinez and her staff treated us like royalty. The owner was there to greet us along with Della Martinez and staff and hosted a wine and cheese party for us, this was on a Friday night that they don't usually have it. This hotel is 4 years old but looks brand new. The rooms are huge and spotless. Even thought the hotel is right next to the highway there is very little if any road noise. The free breakfast is easily worth $15 per person and was very good. The meeting room was perfect, great AV set up, breaks. This hotel seems like it is away from the riverwalk area just a bit, but you are 5 minutes. They are glad ro take tou by shuttle and a cab back is about $10. GREAT place to stay. I will tell everyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Stay on the East end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed here for UIL State Marching Band finals. It was very clean, breakfast was good. The hotel was a little difficult to get to, not too bad though. On the website it stated .1 mile to the Alamo and the Alamodome, it was further than that but not too far away. I wouldnt want to walk it, the part of town didnt seem like somewhere I would want to be walking around in without a large group of people. The parking was very limited, maybe 8 spaces for a hotel this size?? You had to pay $10 a day to park under a bridge ( it was very well lit with pretty colored lights though ) in front of the hotel.Also one of our beds was taller than the other, our daughter had problems getting on the taller one ( which by the way was very very uncomfortable, I guess maybe it needed a new mattress, the shorter bed was more comfortable ) The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The inside of the hotel was very nice. Overall we would stay here again if needed. It may not be our first choice but it certainly wouldnt be our last either.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cresia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Great Location Great Staff Great accomodations Rooms are very clean and very nice furniture.
Great Matress that my wife loved most. Happy hours were most generous and appeciated.

Most comfortable and a great place to stay in San Antonio. I have been a frequent traveller since 1979 and I come accross very few places as nice as this hotel. Please keep the highest standard as possible as it pays back. Thanks for a comfortable and lovely stay.

Jeff Jaffary
Medco Instruments, Inc.
7732 West 96th Place
Hickory Hills, IL: 60457

Room Tip: Simply a great hotel and yet very economical. Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We booked a 3 night stay at the Comfort Suites because it got great reviews on Trip Advisor and we had a wonderful stay. Our King Suite was clean, quiet, comfortable and roomy. Their hot breakfast in the morning was delicious and relaxing to enjoy the meal in their eating area with a fire place, TV, and lots of comfortable chairs. If we visit San Antonio in the future, we will be staying there again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellelovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for my daughter's graduation from training at Ft Sam Houston. This hotel was very nice. The furnishings were nice, the room was very clean and spacious, and the staff was just amazing! I had no problems connecting to the wifi in my room, and it was an easy walk to the the River Walk, Alamo etc. The breakfast each morning was the best, free breakfast I've had while staying at a hotel. I loved the fact that there was frozen foods (microwaveable entrees, hot pockets, etc), ice cream and other snacks available for purchase at the front desk.

The only reason I did not give a rating of 5 is the pool area was kind of small and did not get afternoon sun. Also, my room faced the freeway and, with the a/c off, I could hear some noise. Beyond that, this was a fabulous find and I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattleite61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#16 of 358 in San Antonio
2,120 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,209 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak, I-37 at the E.Houston Street Exit for Alamo and the Alamodome, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $132 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel-Special Offer! Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. 89 suites and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigeratorheated pool, hot tub, Walking distance to 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Complimentary Cake and Champagen for Lackland Airforce graduates, Base Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates) . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing