We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend you stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Ranked #11 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This Comfort Inn was excellent. The location is within walking distance to downtown Riverwalk/Alamo area, or you can take their complimentary shuttle. The shuttle drivers are very nice and accomodating. The shuttle will bring you downtown every hour, and pick you up at no cost. They offered a Managers Special during the week nights which was excellent food with wine and beer, also at no additional charge. Their breakfast was excellent with a lot of choices. The services you received with the price charged to stay was fantastic. My only criticism for the 6 days we stayed, was that we specifically requested housekeeping to change the sheets on day 4 and that was not done. They have a wonderful dining area to relax with your traveling companions.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2011

Hotel was clean. Suites were spacious and useful. Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Georgia Rios, the hostess for breakfast and evening snacks. Shuttle bus can be booked for drop-offs and pick-ups in town. It leaves on the hour.

Room Tip: To get lowest rate, call hotel. Ask for LSAV rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdm75035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Everyone was very helpful, going out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. The complimentary breakfast was superb. The manager's reception during the week was a great suprise. Georgia Rios did an excellent job with the presentation and scrumpious food - all at no extra cost!
The shuttle service to the different sites around town was great . We did not have to pay or search for parking and they were very helpful in giving us ideas about where to go and what to do. The 9:oo am to 2:00 pm shuttle driver was the best!
The room was very nice and roomy and we had no complaints. Price was very reasonable. The hotel was very clean and everyone was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 92ABurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is my second trip to San Antonio and my second stay at this same Hotel. This facility, is the greatest and I will not change or look around for another hotel. Wonderful guest service clean rooms and great breakfast all included in a low fare, comparing with other hotels around the area. I give this hotel an excellent rating in all the aspect. I forgot to mention the guest reception with cheese and wine free for all guest is awesome. I want to thanks the Manager Mr. Reynaldo Velazquez for the welcome that made me feel like a VIP. Thanks again Mr. Velazquez. I will see you again the next time I stop at San Antonio.

Room Tip: Call weeks ahead of time to book for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlasanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My mother and I went to Riverwalk to meet up with two of her sisters and visit another family member who resides in San Antonio. We all stayed at the Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk. We were pleasantly surprised by the welcoming wine reception on the first evening of our stay. That really hit the spot after traveling all day. Victor made our visit fun and special by taking group pictures of us (then being part of them) and laughing with us as he drove us via Comfort Suites shuttle to Riverwalk and back. This is not a 4 star hotel but I would say it's a high 3 star. The down side is there is not much within close walking distance. One could walk to Riverwalk in 10 minutes or so, but it's not great for elderly who can not make the trek. It would have been nice if they had a bar/bistro on site that you could order hot food and drinks from at any time during the day/evening. Their breakfast bar was outstanding. Georgia Rios worked very hard to keep everything filled with fresh food, juice and hot coffee. Overall I'd say the customer service was fantastic and the overall cleanliness was great! The price worked well within our budget. I would stay here again. http://www.comfortinn.com/hotel-san_antonio-texas-TX883?sid=xuHo4i.M345rgLFSM.6

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrederickMdFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My wife and I walked from this hotel to the Alamo and the Riverwalk, easy walking distance. We also used the hotel's free shuttle and the driver was very friendly and helpful. After we learned our way around we didn't mind walking even after dark. Everything was clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. The only negative for me was the additional fee for parking.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trump215l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

This is a nice hotel and we will probably stay here again if we return to San Antonio. The staff is unusually friendly, well trained and helpful. The free breakfast is very good with a selection of hot and cold foods. I like the free Wall Street Journals and the manager's reception on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings. This hotel is about what we have come to expect from the newer Comfort Inn properties. But there are some nagging irritations:

1. Despite the name this hotel is not within convenient walking distance of the Alamo or the Riverwalk. Yes, it is technically possible to walk there, but on a hot summer day no one but a dedicated exercise walker would chose to do so.

2. Again, despite the name, there are no suites here. A suite is a set (plural) of rooms interconnected for some common purpose. The term suite has now been corrupted by the marketing geniuses to mean any modest sized hotel room with a small couch and the vestige of a wall separating the sitting area from the sleeping area. In practice the small wall only takes up valuable space in an already crowded room. Its only true function is to justify a higher room rate.

3. Paid parking. The hotel charges $10.00 a day for parking outdoors under a near by freeway overpass. I preferred to park my car on a city street for better security but still had to pay the $10.

4. Freeway noise. Interstate 10 is right outside our window. The noise is not too bad with the air conditioner running, except for the ceiling vents. They seem to channel in the freeway noise so that when you are sitting on the john it seems like you have your own private freeway somewhere up in the ceiling.

5. A coffee table with sharp edges. I am collecting a set of scabs on my shins from bumping into hotel coffee tables in the dark. They apparently all come pre-sharpened from the same supplier.

6. A dark room. All hotels seem intent on saving energy by installing low wattage compact florescent bulbs. Combine that with dark carpeting and dark furniture and you get a depressingly dark room.

Room Tip: Avoid the freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ancient_Mountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
2,032 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,201 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk

Address: 505 Live Oak, San Antonio, TX 78202-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $113 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverwalk & ALAMO 3 Blks. VOTED "BEST Value Downtown"!Even more with the Special Offer above includes Free Parking.This Mediterranean, boutique 3 STAR hotel gives the Traveler or Family seeking a unique experience the highest value downtown because every room sleeps up to a family of 6 and includes FREE breakfast buffet & FREE high-speed wireless internet throughout the hotel. Plus!FREE wine, beer, and hors d'oeuvres Tues-Thurs from 5-7pm NEW Tesla Charging stations and standard charging station just installed! Comfort Suites Alamo Riverwalk is perfect for everyone, families, Monthly rates for Military, leisure, Corporate Suites, convention discounts. 89 suites and all of the rooms come with a sleeper sofa, microwave, refrigeratorheated pool, hot tub, Walking distance to 100 restaurants, a mall, art galleries, museums, festivals, parks and more! Perfect place for events like graduates from Lackland Airforce Base Ft Sam Medical Courses(monthly rates) SeaWorld and Trinity University ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Comfort Suites San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing