We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Value, Close to Riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Ranked #128 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Value, Close to Riverwalk”
Reviewed June 7, 2010

This hotel was great for the budget minded traveler. Was clean and well kept and the breakfast was good. Only about a 3 block walk to the riverwalk. Only complaint was that the pool was small.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwaters0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
This just made my day!...what a wonderful review from such a valued customer!
You are right, our hotel is so conveniently located close to everything downtown.
And, our staff works hard, to make each guest leave with a "memorable" stay of
San Antonio and the Holiday Inn Exprss.
We appreciate hearing your feedback. We cannot wait to see you, the next time
you plan to visit San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    127
    65
    36
    21
See reviews for
120
102
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
289 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

this hotel is relatively close to all he attractions in the centre of San Antonio- definitely within easy walking distance. The reason i have scored it so low is due to the terrible noise made by the plumbing- pipes banging & pumping all night. It was so bad on my last night that at 12.30amn I asked to change rooms as i could not get to sleep because of the racket- even with ear plugs in, The maintenance guy the receptionist sent up to listen to the noise said it did happen from time to time & because the building is protected ( it is the old prison) they cannot fix the noise. Dont stay in room 206 & im sure you will be fine here!

the breakfast is tasty & plenty of hot coffee available all day, the staff are very friendly & helpful & refunded me half of my last nights stay as compensation for the noise

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry this issue caused your stay
to be disappointing.
We are pleased to learn the staff was friendly & the breakfast was
tasty.
Please let us know, the next time you travel to San Antonio. We will ensure you are
taken care of, with exceptional service & placed in a guest room that is not disturbed by noise.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I stayed here for 3 weeks for business and had a great experience. The location is good for the cost although I did not feel at all safe in the area around the hotel after dark. The hotel itself was great. A historic building with lots of character. The staff were great, very accommodating and had lots of tips for restaurants and bars. I have travelled extensively for work and stayed in many hotels and this one nears the top of my list.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskerabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
We appreciate the feedback.
We strive hard to deliver a "memorable experience" to our guests.
We will share your comments with the Staff!
Please call us to make your reservartions, the next time you plan to visit San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We went to San Antonio to visit friends. We booked four nights, but due to the "Christmas Blizzard of 2009" in the middle states we ended up staying nine nights. The staff actually felt like friends by the time we left. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The closeness of the trollies and buses made it so easy to get around town. Getting a free senior citizen transportation pass meant that we rode the bus and trolly free all weekend and half price the rest of the time. The hot breakfast was very good and was a great savings. There is a Dominos Pizza right around the corner and several Mexican restaurants near by. Plenty to see and do within walking distance. I would never stay anywhere else if in San Antonio again. Love this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akaEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Thank you for the review & feedback.
We appreciate hearing your words & thoughts.
Please call us the next time you plan to visit San Antonio.
We would love to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We had a 4-night very pleasant experience at this hotel It is close to public transportation, so a car is not needed to to see the city. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We appreciate the feedback.
We strive hard to leave our guests with a "memorable experience" from San Antonio & the
Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

I was here Nov.29-Dec.5 rm. 212 for an educational conference. I did most of my survey of the building the night of Nov. 29. Contrary to a report, this building has 5 floors- not 3.
The room is surprisingly large. About 22 x 15 feet. The room was clean and was equipped with a table and a chair that was surprisingly comfortable to lean back onto. I had 2 queen beds. The beds were firm. Each bed had 4 pillows- 2 labeled firm and 2 labeled soft although I did not notice any difference between them.
There is a 20-25 inch TV with cable TV. Free wireless and wired internet which worked quite well. Watched a video on my netbook with few video pauses- not enough to irritate me. You can even print from the room and pick it up downstairs.
The locker or dresser did not have a door. They did not have DO NOT DISTURB sign that you can hang on the outside door.
There was a larger than the usual fridge, a microwave, coffeemaker, ice bucket, ironing board, hair dryer and a flatiron. One proble is the location of the coffee maker. It was on top of a cabinet making pouring the water in a little difficult unless you were taller than 6 feet. The combined A/C and heater worked well in my room. It was unusually warm when I arrived Nov. 29, so I turned on the A/C. The following week was quite cold and so I used the heater and it worked quite well. Note that the vents can be angled down at or away from the beds.
The bathroom was large, clean and stocked with plush towels stocked with shampoo, conditioner, and 2 bars of soap. They did not have a small lotion that I find in other economy hotels. The showerhead is quite large and as I was playing with it, I found that you can turn the large outer ring to change the spray pattern. The door opens diagonally to the room and if you turn the tv to the door, you can (no offense to anyone) be sitting in the potty and still be watching your favorite show. I know I did so since I was alone.
Pool- The hotel had a pool but do not be misled. It was a tiny one. About the size found in the backyard of most homes. It was closed so I was not able to go and get a more accurate measurement of it.
Breakfast- was surprisingly good. They had either scrambled eggs or egg and cheese. This was paired with either bacon or sausage patties. There was the usual fare of cinnamon rolls, bread, biscuit, coffee, tea, chocolate drink, boxed cereals, orange juice,tea,milk, gravy and cold hard boiled eggs (by the tray) found in a small ref. together with yogurt. It does get a little boring though to eat it for 7 mornings. The breakfast area would be a bit small if the hotel would be fully booked. Breakfast was at 6:30 a.m. (7 for Sat. and Sunday) but the eggs and meat came out usually much later-like 645 or 650. Guess they were still cooking it?
Staff= there is a small front desk manned by helpful people. I did not have the opportunity to interact much with the staff but from the small interaction that I did have, they were all helpful and very friendly. The front desk seemed to be staffed 24 hours. The lady I saw at 11p.m. was the same one I saw the next day at 6 a.m.
Facilities= there is a small business room with 2 computers and a printer. I was able to print my airplane boarding passes free of charge. During my stay, I did not see anybody using the computers.
There are 2 stairwells. One in the front and one at the rear of the building. There is a small stand at the ground floor front stairwell filled with brochures about San Antonio and its sights.
There is only one elevator located to the rear of the building.
Near the front stairs are located the following facilities
2nd floor- ice vending machine and a small machine vending simple medications like Tylenol. Beside it was a small exercise/fitness room with 3 machines. You need your room keycard to enter this room
3rd floor and 5th floor rear stairwell- soda vending machines
4th floor- ice vending machine
5th floor- laundry room. This room has only 1 high efficiency washer and dryer. Please check the washer for your clothes volume. I do not know the sizing of washers but it seems to have a small capacity. The price is $1.25 for both washer and dryer. There is a soap and fabric softener dispenser for $1.00 each. The dryer has a digital readout of the time left. It finished washing my clothes in 3o minutes. The dryer is a bit of a problem. Being electric, it did not feel as hot as my dryer back home. $1.25 runs for 1 hour (yes, I timed it!). My clothes were still damp after a cycle and I just ran another full cycle just to be sure my clothes were dry.
Location= if you make a rough square of downtown San Antonio, this hotel is found within but a little to the edge of the square. However, downtown San Antonio is not that big. I walked to most of the sights.
There is also a VIA trolley system that can get you to most of San Antonio. If you exit the hotel and turn right, you will reach Houston Street. Right at this corner is a stop for the Red line trolley. Around here is also a Domino’s pizza open till I think 1 a.m. If you decide to walk, making a right on Houston will get you to a Subway a few blocks down and further on a Walgreen pharmacy and an entrance to the Riverwalk. There is also a convenience store but I did not check it out. Continue onward and you end up at the Alamo.
The only downside I could say was that the walls were a bit thin. Guest speaking loudly at the hallway could be heard. The area location, however was quiet. There was a nearby interstate about 5 blocks away and I could not even, hear the traffic.
I chose this hotel cuz it was inexpensive and had a fridge, microwave, and a self serve laundry. I would come back to it again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigwawao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
We appreciate your review & feedback.
Thank you very much!
Please call us the next time you plan to visit San Antonio,
We would love to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weimar, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Fantastic position in the centre of San Antonio, right on the river walk and very near one of the spots where River Cruises begin. Easy to get to, lots of parking, rooms comfortable but small. However, desk staff were very rude when there was a problem with keys. When asked questions, other staff seemed either not to know, or care, basic answers to services at their hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Wow! what a great review.
We appreciate your feedback & use it to improve our service & product.
Please contact us first, the next time you plan to visit San Antonio.
We would love to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#119 of 355 in San Antonio
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Address: 120 Camaron St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio Hotel Near a Variety of Attractions The historic atmosphere, excellent accommodations and friendly staff make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Antonio, Texas near the Alamo, River Walk area, and Trolley perfect for both business and leisure travelers.Our hotel in San Antonio, TX is conveniently located within walking distance from the Alamo and the world-famous San Antonio River Walk. Visitors may enjoy shopping at La Villita Historic Arts Village, Rivercenter Mall and Market Square, the largest Mexican marketplace outside Mexico. Ride the local trolley to the many attractions within a mile of our hotel, such as the Tower of the America and IMAX theater.Business travelers benefit from the great location of this historic hotel in San Antonio, TX. We are situated near Valera Energy Corporation, Coca Cola and Pepsi bottling companies, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and the Alamodome are a mile from our San Antonio, Texas hotel, which features free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center.From the complimentary hot breakfast bar to the flow-regulated Kohler showerheads, our accommodations go beyond cheap hotels in San Antonio. Relax in the pool and whirlpool, work out in the fitness center and rest comfortably every night in a triple-sheeted bed with four pillows. You'll receive excellent service and amenities while lodging in our San Antonio, Texas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing