We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Ranked #134 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in hotel. I really liked that many of the attractions were within walking distance. The rooms were comfortable and clean and reasonably priced. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. The staff was very helpful and answered all questions promptly and courteously. Our check-in and check-out went smoothly.The hotel has a lot of history, as it was once a jail, I enjoyed reading the history. I would stay there again if in the San Antonio area. I give a special shout out to one of the staff members - name Roberto - he called himself my husband's "twin", he used the Spanish equivalent of twin. My husband name is Robert. Roberto was especially kind and considerate. Gracias, Roberto!

The Murrays

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni I, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy our history and attractions. Roberto enjoys being helpful to our guests. I will let him know you commented on the service he provided. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 403 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Minutes to the Riverwalk and Alamo plus sleeping in 'jail' were just of the few bonuses when we slept a night here. Room was smaller than normal - to be expected in a downtown area but very comfy, clean and friendly staff with good breakfast .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caligranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianHIXRW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Jennifer at the front desk was extremely friendly & helpful! The room was larger than expected, the parking across the street was great (never at any time did I feel it was unsafe based on some of the reviews I read - the lot is right across the narrow street from the hotel!) and the breakfast area was clean and roomy. Congratulations to the hotel staff during one of our nights of stay (May 8th) a school group from Houston spent the night and the staff handled everything like true pros - YOU try feeding breakfast to over 60 kids in the morning!!! (Children & Teachers extremely courteous!!) We liked the fact that we could walk 3 blocks to the El Mercado & Mi Tierra Restaurant, the Double Decker bus stopped right on the corner by Penners and you were only 2 to 4 blocks to parts of the Riverwalk! FOR THE PRICE I DON'T SEE HOW YOU CAN BE DISAPPOINTED!! We like a quiet location to sleep at night and this place was perfect!!!!! The little pool & hot tub out back was a great way to wind down after dinner!

Room Tip: Top floor always our first choice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni I, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk. I am pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our location by visiting all the downtown attractions. Jennifer is an asset to the hotel and to her team. We hope to see you again soon at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a great little hotel - used to be the Bexar County Jail. Very cool history for history buffs. The windows are original (from the 1800's) and a sign on them says to please not touch or try to open due to their age. Some old photos throughout the hotel tell the history of the building The hotel and the rooms are small but the rooms are clean and the staff is wonderful. Convenient parking, too (for a fee). You can walk to everything downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - and away from the only elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni I, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. So glad to hear you enjoyed our building's history. We love playing around with the Jail theme. We hope to see you in the near future at the Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our family of four stayed here May 10-11, 2013. Parking was confusing at first, but we pulled in next to the handicapped spot in front of the hotel while we checked in. The parking lot is right across the tiny street in front of the lobby (if you stand in the front door and look straight ahead, you will see the little parking lot). Our parking was included with our (unbeatable) rate, and a very friendly and helpful security guard patrolled the parking lot all night.
Our room was clean, and despite its smallish size, we did not feel cramped. There was a fairly large closet with a huge mirrored door, and the historic windows had blackout curtains. The air conditioning unit did smell a bit musty while it was on, but it wasn't too bad. I ended up turning it off, and our room stayed around 72 degrees all night. I would like to see a couple of hooks by the door inside the room. There is a lot of space right there, and the hooks would help utilize that area better. We were on the second floor, which was part of the original building.
The bathroom was attractive and clean, with no mildew or peeling wallpaper in sight. Be it the cloth shower curtain or user error, we ended up with some water on the floor and asked for an extra bathmat. We had enough of the other towels to last us both nights, and we did not require housekeeping.
Breakfast was great. We had omelets and biscuits and sausage gravy the first morning and scrambled eggs and bacon the following morning. There is also a fun little machine in the corner that rolls out two fresh pancakes on a conveyor belt with the push of a button. Of course, there was a plentiful assortment of cereal, instant oatmeal, bagels, bread, danishes, cinnamon rolls, muffins, yogurt, milk, juices, tea and coffee. We ate our breakfast the first morning by the pool, which the front desk attendant graciously opened up early for us.
The pool is small, but oh-so-warm! Just the thing to help one relax at the end of a long day's walk. It's actually quite pretty, with the couple of trees, potted plants, rock garden, privacy wall, and the hanging planters on the fence. There are plenty of comfortable chairs and loungers around the pool, and there is even a little cooler stand for some ice and cold beverages, should you choose to bring some. No glass containers allowed. Towels are provided poolside in a little stand.
The staff graciously helped us with our every request, smiling all the while. They left the front desk twice to help us during our stay, and each person on the staff seemed friendly... from the security guard to the front desk to the breakfast ladies to housekeeping. We would gladly stay here again.
This hotel is NOT on the water! To the people who didn't do their research before checking in here: you should not give this hotel a bad review based on your lack of preparation.
This hotel is VERY CLOSE to the water. My four-year-old had no trouble walking the short couple of blocks and down the stairs to the Riverwalk. This place is such a great value, and in a very quiet little spot. We never heard any outside or inside disturbances during our stay. Based on previous reviews, we requested a room away from the elevators.
There is some history with this building, having originally been a two-story jail. My seven-year-old was fascinated by the story of the place, which is summarized on a sheet inside the room and on complimentary postcards at the front desk. There is a frame with old pictures of the jailhouse life downstairs in the breakfast area. We did not see or feel anything that would lead one to believe this place is haunted. We just enjoyed our stay as guests!

Room Tip: Request a room far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni I, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk. I am glad to hear you were able to relax and enjoy our amenities like the Express Start breakfast and pool area. I will pass the comments about the staff along to them. Glad to hear you were able to see our famous Riverwalk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were on our anniversary road trip and San Antonio was one of our stops. My husband found this hotel online while looking for hotels within walking distance to the Riverwalk. This definitely is a comfortable walk to the Riverwalk and the Market square. The room we had was clean and spacious but did have a little musty smell to it. The pool area was extremly small but that was okay for us because we did not use it. The breakfast was very good with a nice variety to pick from. The cinammon rolls are to die for! The down side of this hotel was the parking. There is a parking lot across the street which will cost $16.00 a night (unless you are a priority club member) but just the unloading of your luggage at check in can be a little challenging. At first I was not sure of the safety of walking from the hotel to the places of interest but after the first night my concerns were over. Would definitely stay here again (if you like nostalgia you will like this hotel seeing as it was once a county jail) you can not beat the location to everything plus the hop on hop off bus stops across the street from here which is a thumbs up after a long day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weloveretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni I, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your road trip. Glad to hear you were able to enjoy all our attractions like The Riverwalk and the Market Square. We hope to see you again at the hotel soon for another adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is a good value for its location just a few blocks away from the Riverwalk and a half hour walk to the Alamo. It has a certain charm as it is in a historic building - the old Bexar County jail. The breakfast choices were typical for a HIE. The items were fresh, well-stocked, and the hot items were hot. The dining area was nice and clean. It was fine for our one-night trip as we didn't spend any time there other than sleeping. It just wasn't a place we wanted to hang out. Our room was pretty small and the bathroom was tiny - no way for two people to share the mirror.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni I, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments about the hotel. Your opinion is very important to us. We hope to see you again soon at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Address: 120 Camaron St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $99 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio Hotel Near a Variety of Attractions The historic atmosphere, excellent accommodations and friendly staff make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Antonio, Texas near the Alamo, River Walk area, and Trolley perfect for both business and leisure travelers.Our hotel in San Antonio, TX is conveniently located within walking distance from the Alamo and the world-famous San Antonio River Walk. Visitors may enjoy shopping at La Villita Historic Arts Village, Rivercenter Mall and Market Square, the largest Mexican marketplace outside Mexico. Ride the local trolley to the many attractions within a mile of our hotel, such as the Tower of the America and IMAX theater.Business travelers benefit from the great location of this historic hotel in San Antonio, TX. We are situated near Valera Energy Corporation, Coca Cola and Pepsi bottling companies, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and the Alamodome are a mile from our San Antonio, Texas hotel, which features free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center.From the complimentary hot breakfast bar to the flow-regulated Kohler showerheads, our accommodations go beyond cheap hotels in San Antonio. Relax in the pool and whirlpool, work out in the fitness center and rest comfortably every night in a triple-sheeted bed with four pillows. You'll receive excellent service and amenities while lodging in our San Antonio, Texas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing