We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle Class Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Ranked #131 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is purely middle class fantastic! We stayed for 7 days. Our room was large and clean with bars on the window (from old jail days) and overlooked an old livery that is now law offices. It had a foyer area with a chair and a coffee/tea bar area that had a sink, dishwashing soap, paper towels and a basket with disposable plates, plastic cutlery and microwavable containers and opened into a large bedroom with a comfy bed that had both firm and soft pillows!.The bathroom was large and clean, as well, and stocked with toiletries. There are mirrors on the closet door, in the bathroom and when you enter the room.
The breakfast can only be described as a well stocked home kitchen complete with grandma cooking up eggs, sausage, biscuits, bacon in whatever way she chooses that day. There is also a cool pancake machine in the corner.
As if that weren't enough, the location is superb. You can take a right when exiting and right on Houston and walk to the Alamo (about 5 blocks) or go left to Commerce and left to be immediately by the Spanish Governor's mansion and one block further to the main plaza with the San Fernando Cathedral. The staff will arrange tours, although we walked everywhere and I will say that the town is totally walkable if physically fit. The hotel has super easy access to buses and trolleys.
There is a business center to print boarding passes and go online, that is also where they keep brochures on different attractions.
I want to talk about the pool. Yes, it is small but with the temps in the 60's and low 70's we used the spa twice after long site seeing days. The whole pool was heated and spa-like. We turned the jets on and it was so nice. When it's hot out, they do not heat it, we asked. The towels are stacked outside in a cupboard-like deal and you can leave your used pool towels out there as well.
So, why did I describe this as middle class fantastic? Because, we work hard, and were only looking for clean, reasonably priced, and in a decent location. Never did we expect to get all the little extras along with a wonderful, helpful staff. It was fantastic!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank learnedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianHIXRW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 398 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn Express! The location was convenient. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted downtown (to our rental car facility, the Alamo, the River Walk, the convention center and many other great places and restaurants. The hotel is also very close to the highway, so it was easy to get out of the city to visit our family and go to different wineries in the Hill Country. The staff at the hotel was also wonderful. They were always friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make sure we had a great stay! This hotel is a historical building, so the architecture is really neat. Also, we found it very convenient having a fridge and microwave in our room. I definitely recommend this Holiday Inn Express for folks traveling to San Antonio. If you have kids and are looking to do a lot of swimming in a pool, this might not be the place you want because the pool is more of a cool down and relax kind of spot than a pool for swimming a lot. It was perfect for our needs. Who wants to stay in the hotel all day anyway when there is so much to see and do in San Antonio!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystal Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianHIXRW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Despite what some reviews say, was within safe walking distance of Riverwalk and trolley stop is on corner if don't want to walk to Alamo, etc. Hotel is not haunted as some have indicated and was very clean. Nice to be in a Holiday Inn Express that has character. Since Priority Member were able to park in small lot on side of building rather than across the street at no charge. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rutha2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Rutha2s,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I always stay at the holiday inn hotel wherever I go. This time I stay at this hotel and walked to the River-walk which is not too far. The location is good,the hotel looks old, but it was clean. The problem was I got wireless Internet just for a couple of hrs after that no more access. The neighbors in the other room they were too loud they were fighting at 2 am very loud. I tried to contact the desk staff but they never answered the phone. I won't stay in this hotel if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laamapola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni I, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

First I would like to apologize for the intermitten internet service over the weekend. The service went out due to a piece of equipment that will be replaced on Monday. We were able to bypass that piece of equipment but not totally restore the service to 100%. Your comments are very important to us. I have passed along the comments about the noise from the room next door to the appropriate staff member. I thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed two nights for the incredibly low rate of $109.00 per night. My room was very nice and quiet. I had a coffee pot, a microwave and a mini-frig in my room, which I really liked. It also had free high-speed Wifi connection which worked very, very well. I used the fitness center and found it to have everything I wanted: a treadmill, an elliptical and a reclining bicycle. It was equipped with fresh towels and a water cooler and other small amentities, plus a good sized cable TV. I didn't get a chance to use the pool but I did check it out. I do water exercise so pools are very handy when I travel. The pool is small, you won't be doing laps, in it but if you want to refresh yourself on a hot day or get some water exercise in, it is just fine. The hot breakfast in the morning was GREAT! It was free and it included scrambled eggs, bacon, hot biscuits, sausage gravy, and pancakes. The most hilarious thing that I saw was the "pancake machine." You pressed one button and then two pancakes came out. They were tasty pancakes. Also they had high quality coffee on tap in the lobby 24/7 which I appreciate because I drink coffee non-stop. Another great feature is that it is right by the local Trolley route. The City of San A ntonio funds a trolley route that takes people from hotels to convention centers and the entertainment/restaurant district. I used that instead of a cab and saved a good deal of money. The staff were very helpful and professional. I will definitely stay in this hotel next time I am in San Antonio. What a bargain for a great, comfortable stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for all your comments. I will pass them along to staff members. I hope to see you again soon at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We always stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North (120 Camaron Street) when we go to San Antonio. We have season tickets for the Broadway shows at the Majestic Theatre and this hotel is within SAFE walking distance of the River Walk, Market Square, and the Majestic Theatre. If you are a Priority Member, you get free parking, so be sure to sign up for Priority membership. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

This is a historical location--the old jail and the staff wears uniforms that say "Guard," showing their sense of humor.

You can walk to Mi Tierra or La Margarita restaurants or walk down to the River Walk for an amazing assortment of restaurants. You can also take the trolley to further locations such as the Alamo, unless you are looking for a longer walk.

Room Tip: Just be sure to ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CampanaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for the comments about our staff. We all enjoy what we do and enjoy having fun with our history. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

So this hotel used to be a jail, ok, and the front of it facing the street still has the old bars in the windows, other than that you don't get any sense of it being a former jail. The inside is completely modernized and the rooms had all the normal items you could anticipate finding. The top floor room where we stayed had very tall ceilings and no smell of mold or anything. The only bad thing would be that the shower has a limit on the level of hot water that you could turn the handle too and it seemed to always be right at the middle of hot/cold. The other issue with the shower was that since it had the option to remove the handle from the attachment, it moved around and required constant readjustment. AC was cold and the noise was acceptable. Outside noise was not anything outside of what you would expect to find downtown in a big city. It is about 4 blocks to the river walk access but that nothing and you get to site see along the way too. Parking is interesting as you park across the street in a lot and unless you join or are a member of Priority Club rewards program it will cost you $10 per night. The staff can sign you up right at the front desk however and wave that fee. Breakfast is great, it has all the normal things you would want to eat, there are not a lot of tables however so it might be a trip back to your room to eat it, depending on the time you visit the lobby.

Room Tip: Top floor will give you the best possible views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matrix8981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulianHIXRW, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
A. Julian M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Address: 120 Camaron St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $103 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio Hotel Near a Variety of Attractions The historic atmosphere, excellent accommodations and friendly staff make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Antonio, Texas near the Alamo, River Walk area, and Trolley perfect for both business and leisure travelers.Our hotel in San Antonio, TX is conveniently located within walking distance from the Alamo and the world-famous San Antonio River Walk. Visitors may enjoy shopping at La Villita Historic Arts Village, Rivercenter Mall and Market Square, the largest Mexican marketplace outside Mexico. Ride the local trolley to the many attractions within a mile of our hotel, such as the Tower of the America and IMAX theater.Business travelers benefit from the great location of this historic hotel in San Antonio, TX. We are situated near Valera Energy Corporation, Coca Cola and Pepsi bottling companies, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and the Alamodome are a mile from our San Antonio, Texas hotel, which features free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center.From the complimentary hot breakfast bar to the flow-regulated Kohler showerheads, our accommodations go beyond cheap hotels in San Antonio. Relax in the pool and whirlpool, work out in the fitness center and rest comfortably every night in a triple-sheeted bed with four pillows. You'll receive excellent service and amenities while lodging in our San Antonio, Texas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing