We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni San Antonio Hotel
Ranked #17 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

From the moment we walked in the door of this hotel, we were greeted and treated as if we were extra special. The service in this great hotel is first rate. Really the Omni people could give lessons. The Omni and thestaff at this hotel made our stay there almost as good as home. My children thought it was actually better than home because of the wonderful breakfast buffet. The Omni is centrally located. We were never more than fifteen minutes from Sea World, The Riverwalk, and shopping. This hotel is top notch and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasRoadtripmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    420
    149
    60
    43
See reviews for
520
283
50
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

I stayed here every time I went to San Antonio for business. I originally picked the hotel due to its proximity to the company site I work in, but turns out that this hotel is in a convenient location itself - close to numerous restaurants, HEB (supermarket) etc. Rooms are spacious, in great shape and clean every time. Wireless internet does not work in all the rooms. I had twice the experience that I had to switch rooms because of this. Service, however, was an issue. Every time I needed something, for example, missing amenities and complimentary water (complimentary due to my elite status with Omni), it took more than an hour and multiple phone calls for them to fulfill the request. And usually after an hour, they brought the wrong item so I had to wait for another hour to just get a bottle of water.

Room service, on the other hand, was great and never missed the mark. The pools are decent too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

Excellent hotel, don't forget your bathing suit and workout clothes.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alreadytakenHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

My mother and I stayed at the Omni Hotel in San Antonio from 10/24/09 to 10/27/09. Prior to getting there I had called and was advised that the hotel offered a free shuttle to and from the airport, as well to local sight seeing areas in town. Upon arriving at the airport, I did as was told. Once you get to the baggage claim, I was going to see a desk with someone that will give me the number for the Omni shuttle. I had been told that the shuttle comes out at the hour and the hotel is 15 minutes away. I called the hotel at around 640pm and was told that the shuttle would get there at 715pm. We are told to wait where all the other shuttles for Hotels and car rentals also park. It was now 730pm and no shuttle, by this time, all the other shuttles get to know you and ask who you are waiting for. I called the Omni twice. There was also another person waiting for the shuttle. The driver finally shows up, very nice, tells us that they had sent someone else and that person was waiting by another exit. Hello? You are the driver and have no idea as to where to wait. Well, he picked us up and everything ran smoothly afterwards. When we arrived, the front desk had everything set up for us. The room was quaint and everything as I had requested. On the 26th it was pouring in San Antonio, the manager let us borrow umbrellas, as we ventured out. We tried Bolos for a buffet breakfast and it was delicious. Everything was fresh. , the hotel has a small gift shop, but it was perfect for all your needs. The employees that we ran into were very friendly with the exception of a girl at the front desk, that must have been having a bad day. Our stay was very nice and if we return to San Antonio, we well defenitely stay at the Omni again.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blancanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

Was a blast! Easy access to Sea World and The Alamo. Hotel was beautiful and very accommodating.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DKLayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Our family of four, 2 adults and two boys ages 8 and 12, stayed at the Omni from June 29th through July 6th, and were very pleased with our stay. We have stayed at different hotels in San Antonio, including the Marriott on I10/410, and the Omni has been the best choice so far.

We arrived at the hotel 2 hours prior to regular check-in, where we were greeted very warmly by the receptionist who told us that our early arrival wasn't a problem, and that we could occupy our room immediately without any additional cost. When we entered our room it was apparent that this was not the premier room we had booked but a regular room. The staff addressed this mistake right away, and not even 5 minutes later we were in our premier room.

Our room was divided into two separate spaces: a living area with a sofa sleeper, television and desk, and a sleeping area furnished with a king sized bed, armoire, television, nightstands, and closet. The windows in the bedroom are huge, reaching from floor to ceiling, and allowing for plenty of light and nice views. The king sized bed was very, very comfortable and included the extra pillows we had requested before our arrival. The sofa sleeper could have been a tad bigger, but was sufficient for our kids. Our request to bring us additional covers for our kids was taken care off, promptly. The televisions aren't the fancy new flat screen television, but are rather dated. This aspect, however, didn't bother us much since we didn't come to San Antonio to watch television. The room was clean, and despite it's somewhat dated feel still had a lot of charm. The bathroom was on the smaller side, but had a nice supply of toiletries, towels and 2 bathrobes. We had also requested a refrigerator which was delivered the same afternoon.

The ambience of the hotel itself is very warm and welcoming. Fresh flowers and beautiful plants are found throughout the hotel. Some previous posters commented that the elevators were slow, but we thought they worked just fine. For our kids, the highlight was the very big outside pool. Plenty of towels and lounge chairs are provided, and again plenty of lush plants. However, one item I missed were umbrellas to protect from the scorching Texas sun. We didn't use the inside pool, however while not a large as the outside pool it could come in very handy on a cool winter day. The gym was so-so. Good amount of free weights and fairly modern weight machines. However, the treadmills are outdated and could use replacement since the belts are buckling, and I almost tripped. The towels and free water with lemon slices were a nice touch, though.

We meet our friends in the bar area a few times, and were pleased with the ambiance. Plenty of seating, over-sized, comfy sofas and chairs. The drinks were okay, and coming from NYC, the prices were normal for us. One evening we ordered room service which was fast and dare I say, really good. We didn't have breakfast in the restaurant, though I checked out the breakfast buffet, and thought it was overpriced for what they offered.

Prior to our arrival we signed up with the Omni Program which offers free WiFi, and it saved us a bundle of money. In addition, our children got a welcome backpack, and we received complimentary coffee, juice and/or chocolate milk, and newspapers every morning.

Even though the hotel is next to I10 we barely heard any noise. The location of the Omni worked for us since we know our way around San Antonio, and we actually liked the fact that it is away from the Riverwalk which tends to get crowded and loud in the evenings. The free parking is certainly a benefit if one considers the outrageous parking fees of some of the downtown hotels. This including the free WiFi saved us a bundle of money. It takes about 15 minutes to the Riverwalk by car, and Six Flags is also very close by.

There are some restaurants and an HEB supermarket in close proximity. We recommend Chester's Hamburgers which is on the other side of I10, and is a must for us when we visit San Antonio. A little bit further up the access road is Sea Island which serves some decent, inexpensive seafood. We weren't too thrilled with Texas Land & Cattle since the hostess, bartender, and manager were rude, and we left. If you go to Six Flags we highly recommend the original Rudy's BBQ in Boerne AFTER you enjoyed the rides at the amusement park . For the beer lovers amongst you a trip to "Hills and Dales" is a must. It's a true icehouse, and their vast array of beers from all over the world is incredible.

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Omni, and we hope that we're going to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShinerBock2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband & I traveled to San Antonio in August of this year to attend the Region 8 Roundup which was being held at the Omni Hotel. The hotel staff went out of their way to do everything to make this a wonderful trip in spite of the heat outside. The livery was always available to take us shopping at the local malls. Very prompt pickup when we were ready to go back to the hotel. We can't say enough nice things about the staff. The food in the restaurant was good and plenty of good - good value or your money

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mothergose56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,464 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Antonio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Antonio Hotel

Property: Omni San Antonio Hotel
Address: 9821 Colonnade Boulevard, San Antonio, TX 78230-2257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#35 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Antonio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni San Antonio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing