We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, service, room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Ranked #26 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location, service, room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

It's great to have a suite when you travel & Homewood does it right. Extremely comfortable room, great hot breakfast (great specialty eggs every morn), and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Five minute walk from most everything. Two blocks from the best area of Riverwalk, 2 blocks from Cathedral, 2 blocks from LaVillita. Even Mercado a pretty easy walk. We thought it was perfect for our stay, especially for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Comments such as your help to make us a better hotel. Lastly, thank you for your business and we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    338
    107
    49
    31
See reviews for
372
223
33
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here on a 5 day business trip. The hotel was clean and comfortable, and it is nice to have the extra kitchenette and living area when you are gone so long. Breakfast is available every day, and there is dinner on weeknights if you don't feel like going out. The dining area is pleasant and overlooks as less developed part of the Riverwalk. I ate dinner one night and it was actually quite good! But if you do want to go out it's only 1 1/2 blocks to the Riverwalk, where there are tons of restaurants. The location is convenient to the convention center, the Alamo, and the mall. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I was on the street side and it was a bit noisy at night; river side would be better (and probably m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlindq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience while staying with us recently. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a good option if you are looking to stay on the Riverwalk and you don't want to spend a fortune. The rooms are large, clean and well equipped. The negative was that we only had one small window that looked out at a brick wall. The included breakfast was fine. It is located directly on the Riverwalk which was nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemb3899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great location and great value at this riverwalk hotel. The rooms were clean and staff was attentive. You are at the end of the riverwalk at this location which makes for a nice quiet location away from the madness, yet within easy walk of all it has to offer. A less busy ticket booth for the river boat tours is also nearby. It's valet parking only and can take them at least 20 minutes to retrieve your car during busy times. This is mostly due to the garage being a block away. We were made aware of this when we checked in though. Breakfast was a madhouse as the hotel was full, but offered some decent continental breakfast offerings. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stay at Homewood Suites whenever possible on business travel, and the San Antonio Riverwalk location did not disappoint. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the quality of the food included for breakfast and the evening "reception" was very good. The rooms are a little older, but quiet and comfortable. I did visit the rooftop pool area to sit outside and work and it was very nice, wifi worked well here. The fitness facility was also very nice. One each of eliptical, treadmill and stationary bike. Bonus was the full set of free weights.

I stay at this chain because I like the separate living room area and the full kitchen. Do note, however, that in this area there are no easy to find groceries so if you are hoping to prepare your own food you'll have to search or ask if they purchase groceries (I did not ask). But honestly, it's San Antonio so the restaurant options are limitless and really shouldn't be passed by!

Value: very high when you consider included in your price is wi-fi, the fitness facility, evening reception (a meal and beverages), full hot breakfast and a bag of popcorn in your room!

Location: right along Riverwalk, in a quieter section in terms of comparing it to some of the Riverwalk that has a lot of activity with restaurants. Right on Market Street which made walking to my conference just a quick 5 block walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great location! It is more of an extended stay property, but regular guests will enjoy it too. Staff was great, rooms very comfortable. This would be great for families, all rooms have kitchenettes and dining tables.
Solid breakfast, nice happy hour program with free beer and lite food.
Terrific location, can easily walk to dining, shopping and convention center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBabz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Homewood Suites the second week in December. The property is on the River Walk downtown. Most of the action takes place a couple of blocks away. Just walk down the stairs next to the hotel and take the beautiful stone path down the river. Our room was clean, the staff were very helpful and professional and having a small kitchen for snacks and drinks was a plus. Morning breakfast was always good. The hotel serves complimentary beer, wine and margaritas in the evening. We weren't crazy about the evening meal but all the wonderful "extras" make up for it. There are so many places within walking distance and getting to other attractions, as other reviewers mentioned, were easy. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is very important to us that each and every guest leave our property feeling completely satisfied with their stay and it certainly sounds like you were completely satisfied. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Address: 432 West Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#45 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy being in the heart of scenic and historic San Antonio, Texas at our Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Antonio-Riverwalk/Downtown hotel. Situated on the famous Riverwalk, our all-suite hotel is convenient to historical sites, shopping and dining. Connect with home and the office with free high-speed internet access. Start your day with a hot full breakfast served daily. At the end of a long day, unwind with our evening dinner and drinks (beer, wine, margaritas) served Monday to Thursday. Both meals are included with your stay. Or, prepare your own meal in the fully equipped kitchen, featuring a refrigerator, microwave, two-burner stove top, dishwasher and utensils. Lounge in one of our one or two bedroom suites with a separate bedroom and living area featuring a sofabed and TVs with premium cable channels. Host a meeting or event for up to 90 people and use the services available in our business center. Relax in our rooftop pool or whirlpool, or work out on the latest fitness equipment. Shop at nearby Rivercenter Mall and El Mercado. Learn about Texas history at the Alamo and Governor’s Palace. Dine on local and international foods. Plan family activities at Sea World, Splashtown and the San Antonio Zoo. Business travelers will enjoy our proximity to the H. B. Gonzales Convention Center. Our multi-lingual staff will help you find the best options in San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Riverwalk / Downtown Hotel San Antonio
Homewood Suites San Antonio
Homewood San Antonio
San Antonio Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing