We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Ranked #32 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Homewood Suites on Market Street was perfect for my bachelorette party. Unlike other hotels in the area, they have a very large room that we booked (1-king, 2-queens, 2-bathrooms, 1-fold out couch). There was still plenty of space on the floor for an air up mattress if we needed one. The room was reasonably priced for the size. Beautiful views of the riverwalk from the 9th floor. However, the hotel boasts a rooftop pool, which is tiny and was full of children he two times that we went up there. The views from the roof were awesome, but I noticed many people showing up to the roof in their swim suites, and turing back around and leaving because the pool was so packed. Also, the valet parking is kinda high pricing for one night and SLOW. After checking out, my sister and I had to wait over an hour for them to bring us our car. Definately call ahead, before you head down to the lobby. The elevator was really slow, but really busy

Room Tip: Get a room at this hotel if you don't care about a pool or having to wait on valet parking to pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendalyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is well located and family friendly, but I was underwhelmed by most of the attributes.

The rooms look nice at first glance, but a closer look reveals fairly poor upkeep: the return air grill and filter was really nasty... the shower ceiling was cracked, flakey and moldy looking...the bathroom had a distinct urine smell etc.....things you'd expect perhaps at a $39.99 a night roadside motel.

The two elevators are pathetically undermatched for the demand. Expect long waits and getting to know fellow riders in these slow moving, over-crowded boxes waaaay better than you may like once you finally squeeze into one! With no service elevators dedicated to the cleaning crew; perhaps this is why so little cleaning gets done?

The included breakfast was okay--no more. We've had just as good at hotels with half the room rate as this one.

The valet service is relatively disorganized & chaotic. We were told it would be 20 minutes....turned into almost 40 minutes.... hardly a SERVICE worth paying the extra $25 for!

All in all this hotel was marginally okay. However, we will give another hotel a chance next time we stay in San Antonio---the competitors have good locations as well and may just have the quality and service one would expect at these rates.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cynoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I apologize we did not live up to your expectations regarding the service and amenities provided. We do have a preventative maintenance program in place to catch the items you mentioned in your suite. Unfortunately, in between maintenance, some items do occur. I will work with my maintenance team to be more diligent in correcting these situations.

During the summer months, our elevators and valet operation do get overloaded at times. This typically happens at check out time and right after breakfast when most guests are heading out to one of the amusement parks here in San Antonio. I apologize for this inconvenience but please know that this is not the norm for the hotel, especially in the non-summer months.

Lastly, please know we are committed to your 100% satisfaction. I do hope you mentioned your challenges to one of our staff members as they are all empowered to make things right. If you did not mention these issues, please reach out to me as I would love to discuss you situation and resolve things to your satisfaction. Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites and we do hope you will give us the opportunity to earn back you business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Front desk staff A plus, size of room a nice spacious suite. Great location steps from busy riverwalk but nice a relaxing inside hotel. only downside was the breakfast was way understaffed and I felt really bad for the girl working the breakfast bar they were out of almost everything.. we stayed 4 nights but went out for breakfast a few days. It really wasn't worth waiting. The day we went early and had food it was nice but.... this needs to be worked on.
thanks otherwise Homewood Suites nice vacation. Oh yeah forget about managers reception a circus..yikes

Room Tip: Great size, front desk staff and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed one night. Room was very large and spacious. Even though it was over 100 degrees outside, the room still stayed cool. Everything was very clean. Location is beautiful- right on the quiet end of the Riverwalk but very easy walk down to the more crowded area with bars and restaurants. The breakfast area is very nice with a good selection - it looks out on the Riverwalk. Evening cocktail reception is just draft beer and frozen margaritas out of a machine, but it is all free. The pool is very small and can be quite crowded if there are more than a few families. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It doesn't seem like many rooms have a good view of the Riverwalk so be sure to ask if this is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbtren05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed her for 3 nights on our trip to San Antonio. Could not have imagined how great it would be. The service was excellent. The room was clean. Also, the complimentary breakfast and dinner was great! The hotel was right on the back of the river and is centraly located to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1004. It's on the top floor. The room was huge and had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here several times before so when we were planning a family trip back to the San Antonio Riverwalk, we did not hesitate to book here. We arrived a little after 4 pm and our room was not ready. They were very apologetic and really tried to accommodate us as best they could by holding our luggage and gave us keys to the gym, business center and pool. The staff was always friendly and the breakfast was great (and free). Wi-fi also free. Will definitely stay again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Insgirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel looks older but is very clean, friendly and amazingly priced for the space and the homey comfortable feel it offers. We stayed on a weekend as my husband was part of a downtown wedding. We had a 2 room suite complete with a kitchenette with a nice size refrigerator for all adult beverages and pre and post wedding festivities! There was plenty of room for everyone.

The king size bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room very quiet! The living area was nice when my husband woke up earlier than me and wanted to watch TV but didn't want to wake me up.
My family has a saying if you can't be as comfortable where you are going then you are at home why would you go? I can honestly say I did feel as comfortable here as I do at home except here is better as they cooked you a free warm breakfast.
If you are looking for a clean, comfortable spacious well run property with friendly staff that's feels like a home away from home I think you would be pleased at this property. Happy travels!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowdog5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,237 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown

Address: 432 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#40 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $166 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy being in the heart of scenic and historic San Antonio, Texas at our Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Antonio-Riverwalk/Downtown hotel. Situated on the famous Riverwalk, our all-suite hotel is convenient to historical sites, shopping and dining. Connect with home and the office with free high-speed internet access. Start your day with a hot full breakfast served daily. At the end of a long day, unwind with our evening dinner and drinks (beer, wine, margaritas) served Monday to Thursday. Both meals are included with your stay. Or, prepare your own meal in the fully equipped kitchen, featuring a refrigerator, microwave, two-burner stove top, dishwasher and utensils. Lounge in one of our one or two bedroom suites with a separate bedroom and living area featuring a sofabed and TVs with premium cable channels. Host a meeting or event for up to 90 people and use the services available in our business center. Relax in our rooftop pool or whirlpool, or work out on the latest fitness equipment. Shop at nearby Rivercenter Mall and El Mercado. Learn about Texas history at the Alamo and Governor’s Palace. Dine on local and international foods. Plan family activities at Sea World, Splashtown and the San Antonio Zoo. Business travelers will enjoy our proximity to the H. B. Gonzales Convention Center. Our multi-lingual staff will help you find the best options in San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Riverwalk / Downtown Hotel San Antonio
Homewood Suites San Antonio
Homewood San Antonio
San Antonio Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing