We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Ranked #26 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great value, nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed here for a professional conference for one week. The rooms were huge with a large living room, a kitchenette (complete with plates, flatware, corkscrew...), and a large bedroom. Wireless internet was COMPLIMENTARY. They served a hot buffet breakfast daily and a hot dinner Sun-Thurs complete with margaritas, beer, and wine all of which is included in the room rate. Coffee, tea, and popcorn was available in the room (free). There wasn't an onsite restaurant (nor roomservice) but there were many eateries within minutes walking distance. Parking is additional however. There was a little snack shop in the lobby open 24 hours. My room overlooked the river, nice view, no balcony. To access the riverwalk, you need to exit to the street and walk down public steps (which are literally 20 feet from the side door) hence there is no direct access. This was not an inconvenience at all. The hotel is on a quiet end of the walk but all of the action is 5 minutes away. There was also a small fitness room, a pool (comically small), and a laundry ($1 to wash). The business center was nice and open 24 hours to print boarding passes etc. The staff was very helpful and efficient. Overall an excellent stay with good value. If I had to nitpick, it would be that the decor could be updated a bit but I barely noticed because I was having so much fun!

Room Tip: ask for river view room on floor 8 or lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmyLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanantoniogm, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay. I must say your review was very detailed and accurate. We do have a lot to offer in terms of amenities with the free breakfast buffet and the evening "Welcome Home" reception. I am glad you were able to enjoy both of these. Thank you for choosing Homewood Suites Riverwalk and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    328
    106
    47
    31
See reviews for
364
220
32
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Overall good location convenient for city centre. Breakfast although complementary was adequate with hot and cold dishes. Lack of bar was probably only downside but small shop did stock drinks as well as other convenience goods.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Every person we came in contact with was OVERLY nice. We were there during Fiesta and had a great time. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: We liked that all of these rooms are suites. there is a definate room and a sitting room to these r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 512Jen512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanantoniogm, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thanks you so much for your review. As the General Manager of the hotel, it really does make us feel special when our guests take the time to let us know we are doing things right. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

It is a nice and quiet hotel (except weekends) on walking distance to Alamo Center and Riverwalk. Bedroom is quite small, but the bed is comfortable. I like the size of the shower cabin, but is lacking a sink in bathroom (only toilet and shower cabin; you have a sink in bedroom). It is not cheap, but having the possibility to walk to all downtown attractions, makes this hotel a good choice for people that want to visit San Antonio.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busy_Dubai_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

My stay here for a business meeting was perfect. The hotel has an outstanding location on the Riverwalk and is very reasonably priced for the area. The suite was spacious. The people were friendly.
There aren't a lot of frills or extra amenities and the service is good, not great. Just a good solid hotel. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Smoking and non-smoking rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I booked this hotel for myself and my parents who are travelling from overseas.
On arrival 3.00pm, our rooms were not ready....so I asked to be called when they were...... as we have a baby that needed a sleep
at 6.00pm, still no call, so we returned to finsd that our rooms were still not ready, but would be in a few minutes..then we were told they were smoking rooms..something I did not book.
after speaking with the manager, he complained of being sick, and some plumbing problem, he advised that we would have to take those rooms as there were none other in the downtown area (being spring break).....
I walked next door to the westin who had rooms available and matched the rate !!!

I requested a follow up phone call, which i still have not got!!!
Hotels like this really spoil peoples vacation- so don't let them spoil yours!!!!

Room Tip: next door at the westin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelforsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanantoniogm, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am the General Manager of the hotel. While you did not deal with me personally, I was made aware of your situation. I apologize we did not have any non-smoking suites available when you booked your stay 6 days prior to your arrival. Your reservations were for the busiest weekend of spring break. Perhaps that is why there were no non-smoking suites available at the time your reservations were made. In fact, you booked the last two suites we had available for those dates. I was glad to see my staff cancelled your resevations on the day of your arrival, overlooking our 24 hour cancellation period. I believe this exhibits our dedication to customer service. If I can be of any further assistance with this matter, please feel free to reach out to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Very comfortable suite, great free breakfast, located on the River Walk within walking distance from the Alamo. Keep in mind you will have to pay for valet parking. We were sorry to miss the free week day suppers since we were only there on Sunday night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwkeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanantoniogm, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and are working very hard to ensure your satisfaction. I wish you would have been with us Monday-Thursday to enjoy our Welcome Home Reception. It is very nice to be able to unwind after a long day while sitting at a table enjoying the view of the river walk. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#18 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Address: 432 West Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#27 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#45 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy being in the heart of scenic and historic San Antonio, Texas at our Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Antonio-Riverwalk/Downtown hotel. Situated on the famous Riverwalk, our all-suite hotel is convenient to historical sites, shopping and dining. Connect with home and the office with free high-speed internet access. Start your day with a hot full breakfast served daily. At the end of a long day, unwind with our evening dinner and drinks (beer, wine, margaritas) served Monday to Thursday. Both meals are included with your stay. Or, prepare your own meal in the fully equipped kitchen, featuring a refrigerator, microwave, two-burner stove top, dishwasher and utensils. Lounge in one of our one or two bedroom suites with a separate bedroom and living area featuring a sofabed and TVs with premium cable channels. Host a meeting or event for up to 90 people and use the services available in our business center. Relax in our rooftop pool or whirlpool, or work out on the latest fitness equipment. Shop at nearby Rivercenter Mall and El Mercado. Learn about Texas history at the Alamo and Governor’s Palace. Dine on local and international foods. Plan family activities at Sea World, Splashtown and the San Antonio Zoo. Business travelers will enjoy our proximity to the H. B. Gonzales Convention Center. Our multi-lingual staff will help you find the best options in San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Riverwalk / Downtown Hotel San Antonio
Homewood Suites San Antonio
Homewood San Antonio
San Antonio Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing